We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   AU Hwy, Brufut Heights | PO Box 3311, Serekunda, Gambia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Serekunda
A TripAdvisor Member
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want a good relaxing holiday with sun, sand and socialising then The Gambia is the place. We paid £650 with secret eacapes and for that price it was value for money. The resort is tired and in need of a lick of paint, but what it lacks in true 5 star luxury it more than makes up in character. The entire hotel team were friendly and fun where nothing was too much trouble. With money, take stirling and change it at the hotel. You will need a couple of pound to tip the coach driver or airport porters but they will gladly take stirling. The locals just want to chat, so don't be afraid if people approach you. The Gambia experience rep was superb and will happily sit & chat while having a coffee. If you smoke, cigarettes are £2 a packet in the hotel, and £10 for 200 in the airport going out. Local bars charge about 30p a beer. Bargain. Would we go back? Absolutely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Welcoming

It is good to see that you had such a great time at the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa and the team looked after you well,

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel for your next holiday!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    260
    142
    61
    48
See reviews for
87
429
25
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Please ignore the negative reviews of this hotel. This hotel is absolutely beautiful with an African feel to it. If your expecting 5 star quality on the same level as Dubai then no you won’t get that here but it is just as good as a 5 star hotel in London. I’m going to start from the beginning. The hotel is beautiful; when we first arrived we were in awe of how the big and beautiful the entrance was. The artwork was magnificent! When checking in the staff at the from desk was very helpful, however he did fail to mention that if you have booked through Gambia Experience with an all inclusive package the terms and conditions were slightly different when checking out. You still have to check out at 12pm but the all-inclusive package is still available for you to use compared to other staying guests. He tried to offer us to sign up with the Starwood loyalty package but we wasn’t interested, all we wanted to do was go to our rooms by this point. However the rooms manager came out and tried to also offer the same package we kindly refused but I think this manager took this personally.

We were kindly taken to our room with the buggy by the bell boy, our room was lovely and clean. I can understand why one would not accept this hotel being a 5 star and that’s because of the size of the room. However this was perfect for us. Being two young girls traveling for the first time to Africa we was a bit apprehensive, however, Gambia is completely safe compared to some of the streets in London. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly! The food was delicious and tasty, however, I do think they could have added more shellfish on the menu. On our first day we missed lunch but we thought we could have a snack but the chef had already packed up at 5pm although on our itinerary it said that snack would be available til 6pm. I think because it was still low season there weren’t many people at the hotel so there was less staff. I say this because sometimes it was difficult to get any service especially during breakfast to the point we had to help ourselves to our own tea and coffee and cutlery.

The Gambia is a hot country so make sure you pack lots of mosquito repellant and spray yourself night and day!! Because we always got bitten on our walk back from the spa to our room. We didn’t have any problem with mosquitos in our room but then that was because we never used the patio door. The pool was lovely and warm and so was the beach. The security guys at the beach were friendly and at times we left our valuable with them so we could have a soak in the sea. Although it states this hotel has a private beach no beaches in the Gambia is private so always be careful of your belongings.

This hotel is quite far from the Senegambia strip, however you can get a local taxi outside the hotel for 100-125 dalisis. Or you can use the tourist taxi for 300 dalisis. As two young girls we felt safe to use the local taxis and haggled with them. Always negotiate the price before hand.

Some negatives, throughout our week you could clearly see who were the management and who were the staff. Most of the management wore different shirt colours and were mostly white European and the staff/ cook/ cleaners etc… wore a traditional uniform and were black Gambian people. They always had a smile on their faces, which made the Hotel feel warm and happy however the managers walked around with a miserable face, which really set the tone for me. I’m on holiday I don’t want to see miserable faces around me I get enough of the in London on the tube! I also noticed that the mangers would walk around in the day and speak with white guests to see if they were happy with their stay. Our pilot and some other guests at the hotel also pointed this out. On our last day whilst waiting for our transfers the same miserable rooms manager came up to us and spoke to us and ask if we had a lovely time? We responded that we really did and looked forward to coming back to the Gambia. He the said that if we come back we should let him know so he would book a leave so he won’t see us, and then commented that he couldn’t wait to see the back of us. I don’t know if he was being sarcastic, funny, or plain stupid because I didn’t appreciate that comment. The other couples also picked up on his comments and also felt that he was being very rude towards us. So I would advise for you to watch out for him!

However this Hotel was beautiful, the Spa facilities was great and I definitely recommend their body scrubs and massages. All staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond bar one silly manager!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear VanishaM

We thank you for your recent post on the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa

It is great to see that you had such an enjoyable time at the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa , and that you also appreciated the architecture as well as the artwork of our local artist.

It will be a great pleasure to be able to welcome you back to the Sheraton Hotel Resort & Spa in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having read many reviews of this hotel we decided to give it a go. We went mid September 2013, got a deal on secret escapes and paid £700 for flights, transfers and all inclusive hotel for 7 nights.

First off we were worried that September is still in the rainy season - the weather was amazing. We had sun 3 out of 7 days but it was ideal as it was really hot, over 30 degrees throughout so a bit of shade was welcome. Only had rain 1 day for about 5 minutes which was like a warm shower. September is the time to go for sure, the water in the pool and the sea was lukewarm.

The hotel is beautiful. We are not posh people and have traveled, it was probably not a 5 star as one would expect in more developed countries but still pretty luxurious. The room was amazing and comfy with beautiful views.

The staff was really friendly when it came to chit chat and in general, but when it came to service it wasn't the best. Numerous times I have asked for ice with my drink but that was ignored every time. The waiting time for everything was 3-4 times longer than in European hotels. We asked for ice cream just to be told we had to wait another 7 minutes before we can get some as there is a time slot for free ice cream. There were a couple of guys that worked much harder than others and delivered perfect service but majority was really slow and not as helpful as I was expecting them to be.

When it comes to gambia itself, great place, like a paradise but we got hustled a lot, being 2 white girls. The key is to talk to everyone and once they know you they leave you alone.

The rep sold us some very expensive excursions on day 2, my suggestion is wait with those because you will find a local who can take you same places half price.

We never felt scared or intimidated even walking through the poor parts of the villages but someone from the locals always accompanied us whether we wanted or not.

Great experience we won't forget, try it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Menyuska1

It is fanatastic to read that you had a such a great time at the hotel, and that you enjoyed the rooms and the views. As you have mentioned the rainy season is not so bad. We are glad that we could be part of creating memories to be shared with friends and family

We hope to see you soon again at the Sheraton Gambia, Hotel, Resort & Spa

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Arrived at hotel to be greeted by Mbye with a very welcoming smile, who offered a refreshing drink and warm towel, much appreciated.
After completing the registration form taken to our room.
Room was spacious and well laid out.
Lighting could have been a bit brighter.
Air conditioning worked, but the control on the wall didn't so it was either on or off.
Safe available at no extra charge - good to have and advise all to be stored in here.
Restaurant all staff very friendly, welcoming and couldn't do enough to please. Shame about the supervisors, who did nothing and not approachable.
Food was okay, but choice was limited. Had too many A La Carte set meals.
No air conditioning in restaurant as so hot and uncomfortable, did ask for fans but nothing happened. Waiters were very concerned, but not managers! Told Reception has fans as staff but we paying guests cannot - something wrong here.
Grounds and beach wonderful.
Did lots of walking and very little hassle from locals. Police available as reassurance, if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear BracknellJuliet

Thank you for your post on the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa.

Your special mentioning of Mbye as well as the restaurant staff is highly appreciated. The staff are most certainly our greatest asset. Its good to see that you enjoyed the grounds and the beach as well.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend arrived at sheraton Gambia on 3rd September for 2 weeks. Check in was very smooth and were quickly in our room. We had a welcome drink of wonjo juice (highly recommended it was lovely) and the reception / check in staff were very welcoming and friendly.
Rooms - Baobab wing room 4004. We stayed right next to reception so was in easy reach of all areas of the resort. Rooms cleaned daily and maids were very friendly. Fresh bedding every few days and fresh towels daily. Our room had a fantastic sea view which was beautiful to wake up to.
Pool - we had an email before arrival informing us that the pool may be out of order for a couple of days as repair work was being done on it. Which didn't worry us as we knew there was the sea and the spa pool. However on arrival we were pleased to see the work had been completed and it was open. It's a beautiful pool and the views are spectacular. Free towels given daily and the pool was cleaned each day.
Restraunt - we saw previous reviews about the food and were worried it wouldn't be up to much. How wrong could we be. The food was cooked fresh daily, and the selection was great. Most of the base foods were the same but with different recipes each day. Pasta, rice, potatoes, fish, salads, chicken, beef, lamb, all delicious and plenty to choose from. Breakfast was my favourite time. All the restraunt staff were efficient, friendly, welcoming and always on hand to help.
Bar - excellent service, fantastic staff, good choice of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. The staff could not do enough for you in the bar. Big shout out to sanjally, Agness, Muhammad, and Babou. All friends for life. Who certainly made our holiday. They went over and above their job to make us happy and welcome.
Beach - beautiful, sea is so warm it's like getting in a bath. Locals come up to you but all they want to do us talk to you and tell you about The Gambia. Very friendly people. We went to sibi's bar on their and Abraham the owner was lovely. They work so hard to get their bars ready.
Tour company - Gambian Experience rep - a friend for life. I can't say enough nice things about him L.T (Lammin) is the best rep I have ever come across in my 32 years of holidaying. Wonderful man! And always available and on hand for anything.
Taxis - get a taxi from jimmy outside reception. He will make sure you get a good driver. We had ebram he was amazing. Came and got us straight away and was our driver for the whole 2 weeks and stayed with us wherever we went.
All in all this was a fantastic holiday with fantastic people in a fantastic country at a fantastic resort. We can't wait to return. One huge piece of advice, if you visit The Gambia don't sit in the hotel all week, there is so much to do and to get the most out of this beautiful country you need to get out there and visit local places, go on excursions, visit the monkey park and croc pool and find out about the true gambia. Believe me you won't be disappointed. Even the tropical storms couldn't dampen our days!!!! Thank you to everyone involved in making our holiday a very special one to remember!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Becva,

Thank you so much for your recent posting on the Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa.

It is great to know that you had a fantastic time at the hotel. We also appreciate that you took the time to make mention of those who helped to create the fond memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Gambia Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel design is very nice and quite unique! I loved the bar and pool area. The ocean is rough so you cannot really swim in it but can definitely enjoy long beach walks during low tide. The room we stayed in was comfortable. The breakfast was tasteless so there is need for improvement in this department.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Payalshah,

We thank you for your recent review of the hotel.
Your feedback is appreciated.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend - on - sea
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed in this great hotel,we were looked after like family ,our needs were met at every level, the room had a stunning sea view, the room was kept spotless and the bathroom was a luxury in itself,the Manager had put a special touch to our stay with a bottle of wine and story books of Gambia and a hand written note welcoming us for the Sheraton / Gambia experience.THe room was fully air conditioned ,the toiletries were replaced when required fresh clean towels and lovely clean linen. Food at the hotel was buffet style eat whatever you wanted it plentiful and varied, with many choices of fresh salads , and fresh fruits available ,staff were more than helpful if anything was required nothing was too much trouble plenty to drink either cold drinks or tea and coffee,we found that the Saturday night was very special as it had more of a restaurant 3 course meal which was cooked to specification and cooked deliciously.EVery member of staff were friendly helpful and treated us like family.i would recommend if going to GAmbia this is a fantastic choice.THe spa was luxurious and my daughter and. Both of us had a AFrican healing massage and I had a relaxing facial and my daughter a foot spa, we thoroughly enjoyed this and we also enjoyed the spa pool daily.whilst we were there the rains opened up and fast winds, we met up with the manager and was out and about checking the hotel and making sure everyone was safe and alright, There is so much for me to write about this hotel which is all positive and I would recommend this hotel stay to anyone considering going to Gambia. I Would also recommend some of the trips that we went on ..the hotel staff and organised hotel reps will give you the best trips idea for anything that you wish to experience you will.
My 18 year daughter enjoyed her stay as I did also,and the trips that we went on , we met some fantastic people both staff and holiday makers alike, and were Thankful we had been looked after so well.





I would. Say jus enjoy your trip or experience as

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton G, Manager at Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Linda K

Thank you very much for sharing your response and view on Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa.
It’s fantastic to read that you did enjoyed the relaxing environment, our food and beverage offer and can recommend our service quality to future travellers.
The entire team of Sheraton Gambia say thank you for that.
We all do look forward to welcome your soonest again.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: AU Hwy, Brufut Heights | PO Box 3311, Serekunda, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Serekunda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, enjoy the tropical leisure, sand, sea and and the tranquillity of our spa. The unique, spectacular architecture, with its blocks of 186 guest rooms perched on two cliffs overlooking the Atlantic coastline, provides a serene environment. Tropical palm and baobab trees dotted along the immaculate landscape allow gentle Atlantic sea breezes to flow. Cozy guest rooms with private balconies offer unmasked sea views right from the comfort of your bed and the attractive all-inclusive concept surrounds your treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Serekunda
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort And Spa
Sheraton Serekunda
Serekunda Sheraton
Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa Serekunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Gambia Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.