We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5***** Hotel, a must stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandina River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serekunda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandina River Lodge
Save
You added Mandina River Lodge to your Saves list
Makasutu Culture Forest, Serekunda, Gambia   |  
Hotel amenities
kettering,northants
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5***** Hotel, a must stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is by far the most beautiful and peaceful place we have ever seen. Service was perfect from start to finish, the food was amazing, with a wide range of choice. The boat trip at sun down was a perfect touch to our stay. The lodges are very clean , beds (probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in!) This is a place every person who travels to the Gambia must see. Its far away from all the hussle and bustle so the perfect place to unwind, relax and be waited upon. Tea and coffee served to our room in the morning was a lovely way to end our stay. Recommend 110% and was worth every penny!
Will most certainly be returning next year! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    20
    6
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
111
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

After 10 days in the Kairaba Hotel in Kololi this rounded off our holiday very nicely. We stayed in a floating lodge which was really a form of deluxe camping with the outdoor bathroom facilities, but the room was very spacious and furnished to a very high standard. The setting was absolutely stunning and peaceful.

We were assigned our own guide who really made sure we got everything we wanted out of our stay, and there being only a maximum of 16 guests the service was really personal and of the highest standard, tea or coffeee being delivered to your room each morning, and breakfast and lunch cooked to order. The chef asked you each day for your choice of evening meal, and catered for any individual dietary needs, and Linda and Laurence were always around to ensure that everything ran smoothly.

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed at, and allowed us to get a bit closer to the real Gambia in a comfortable and secure setting, whilst still retaining most of our "creature comforts". We will definitely go back.

John & Marilyn Francis

Room Tip: We would recommend the floating lodges being right on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Mandina River Lodge is on the up, not just the magnificent new thatched roofs soaring into the blue Gambian sky, but everywhere has a real upbeat feeling to it.
On our return to this amazing place, Lawrence, Linda and all the staff gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us throughout our stay. We stayed in a floating lodge again, which was just as comfortable as before but the refurbishment made a big difference to the appearance and ambiance of the room and the lodge in general.
Sitting under the African stars, overlooking the water, and sipping pre-dinner drinks was magical. Birds in abundance and larger than life - particularly the Goliath Heron and Giant Kingfisher both sitting on the next lodge to us - full frame poses!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a very peaceful fun place to stay. Futuristically African design for eight lucky couples. 4 Floating lodges, 1 stilted lodge and 3 jungle lodges in a large garden and mangrove swamp. Refreshing swimmming pool surrounded with trees and bushes that attract white throated bee-eaters. A multitude of friendly staff help to make the stay very comfortable. We loved being picked up by our guide in a canoe from the decking of our floating lodge. So different! It was lovely to hear the oysters 'popping' on the river banks and the gentle movement of the river as the tide went in and out and our floating lodge moved up and down with it. Shame we were there for only 4 nights!

Room Tip: If you want a floating lodge go try and get no4 - Best views and furthest away from main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is superb. We stayed in a floating lodge for a week in Jan. The view was incredible, the silence deafening, and the beauty extraordinary.

Come here for peace, tranquillity, bird life, real Africa, professional service, excellent food, wonderful bird guides (Ours was AJ - very knowledgeable and really helpful and friendly). Individual tailor made service and support.

Don't come here for night life (except of the animal/bird kind!), discos, Fish and chips, kiss me quick hats, or western style faceless hotel service.

This hotel is unique and fabulous, remember you are in Africa in one of the poorest countries. How Linda and Lawrence manage the level of service provided is beyond me. If you want a fancy air con room and faceless service stay away!

Room Tip: We loved the floating lodge as the experience was wonderful but I don't think you could "fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We've just had a fabulous week in one of the jungle lodges. Lots of birds and baboons. No discos, no entertainment, no pressure - just the chance to relax completely in wonderful surroundings. Excellent food, very friendly staff and a fantastic swimming pool. Interesting walks and canoe trips to see birds.
Don't go if you want a hectic night life and to party.
Do go if you want to unwind and get away from TV, radio, papers...
Lots of improvements have been made since our first visit two years ago.

Room Tip: We've stayed twice and prefer the 3 jungle lodges ( more private but not on the river). Most peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December in the Stilted River Lodge and our time there was incredible! The Stilted Lodge is huge and really private with the sun terrace and day bed plus the view of the sunrise in the morning were amazing.

Our guide, the chef and the waiters etc were all great and with only about 10 tourists there it often felt at times that we were on our own.

The wildlife was great, we even became a little bit twitchy watching the birds which I never expected to be interested in. The tour of the jungle and seeing the baboons was great too and well worth doing, especially to get so close to so many baboons in the wild.

The trip to the local African market was an amazing experience too...a must do!

We moved after 3 nights to the Coco Ocean as part of our holiday and were sad to leave and tempted to go back when we got there as we preferred Mandina.

It is very quiet and isolated but after 3 days we were so relaxed. Much more than a week and it could get a bit dull I suppose.

Only negative would be the portion sizes for dinner etc. Not enough for my appetitie.

Overall though, amazing and definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Stilted Lodge if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandina River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandina River Lodge

Address: Makasutu Culture Forest, Serekunda, Gambia
Location: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Serekunda
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mandina River Hotel Serekunda
Mandina River Lodge Gambia/Serekunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandina River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.