We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makasutu Culture Forest

Makasutu Culture Forest
PO Box 2309, Serekunda, Gambia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Serekunda
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Alpha, our guide, was really knowledgeable and pointed out so many things which we would have missed. Lunch was delicious.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Eco-Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well worth the money. Beautiful surroundings, excellently-led tour with knowledgeable guides and great photo opportunities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILTLSHIRE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were disappointed with the amount of rubbish strewn around when there seemed to be plenty of people sitting around doing very little, needs a bit of TLC

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Loved the baboons!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very much enjoyed our trip - so much cheaper by organising yourself and hiring a taxi! Your green taxi driver will wait all day for you while you enjoy your visit.
When we arrived, we paid for a day which involved: a nature walk with our own guide; a river trip in a dugout canoe amongst the mangroves (really stunning!!); a large buffet lunch, with entertainment (dancing, singing and drumming); we met a witch doctor who lives in the bush and was selling traditional medicines; got to taste palm wine straight from the tree (interesting taste!) and a look around the craft stalls. Thoroughly enjoyed it! Well worth the £14 each. One of the highlights was the baboons! They were all over the place, particularly during our buffet lunch. Be prepared for a baboon to jump on your table and snatch a piece of chicken! The manager and staff are pretty good a herding them away, albeit by a noisy retaliation of annoyed male baboons flashing their enormous canines!
Our guide was knowledgeable, food was tasty; entertainment was enjoyable and the surroundings were beautiful. We bought loads of wooden artifacts in the craft market which we have since used for 'Gambian style' dinner parties! Pack light!
Great day out!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My daughter and I visited in January having read all the good reviews. Maybe we just picked a bad day, but the boat trip proved very disappointing, only lasting 10 minutes due to the low tide,although we had been there for 3 hours before and could have been taken on the boat when the tide was favourable. Also the guide was poor, knowing nothing of the wildlife other than that we might see baboons and pointing out termite mounds. We did see baboons as we had lunch and this proved to be the highlight.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makasutu Culture Forest also viewed

 
Serekunda, Banjul Division
Kotu, Banjul Division
 

Been to Makasutu Culture Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makasutu Culture Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.