We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top Twelve Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Top Twelve Hotel
Save
You added Top Twelve Hotel to your Saves list
Shimbrema, Lalibela +251, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Lalibela B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful new hotel in Lalibela situated on the top of the hill with amazing view of the valley. We stayed there for two nights and everything was perfect, staff was very very helpful. The shower worked, hot water all day. Breakfast could be better, but it was like in all other hotels we stayed.
We didn't try the food, but other guests said it was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    24
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
43
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Top Twelve Hotel. I made late changes in my itinerary when staying in the Lalibela area during the busy time of Timkat and had no know idea where to stay. My guide recommended Top Twelve--I'm so glad I took his advice. It was a very comfortable place to arrive at after an exhausting day seeing the sights of Lalibela. The room was lovely, with traditional, fine quality furniture and comfortable beds with beautiful bedspreads. Full bathroom, hot water, nice shower. Nice breakfast in morning and great coffee! But it's the view off the balcony that really knocks your socks off! Wonderful!! And a very kind, caring staff that will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Excellent value for the price.

Room Tip: Seems like all the rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our experience at this hotel started off a bit confusing. I had emailed about a booking but never received a response. Nevertheless, the staff was at the airport to pick us up that morning (and by the time I realized we weren't going to the intended hotel it was too late).

The hotel itself is nice and new with amazing views of the sunset. I forgot to arrange a tour guide before arriving and the staff was kind in trying to do so for me. The rooms were nice and spacious and the food at the restaurant was good (Italian mostly). The hotel also had some other events for guests (traditional coffee ceremony and BBQ) that we missed out on because we didn't know about them and also had limited time. Some of the amenities we are used to in US hotels weren't there (mostly I could have used an extra towel), but we were thrilled at what we got for $55 USD/night. There were fresh flowers in the room as a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved the hotel - nice, African-style, comfortable, big, clean rooms & bathroom (what is not a standard in Ethiopia unfortunately), good breakfasts & diners, very open & friendly staff. The hotel is just opened, everything is fresh and new. It's quite small, I think 12 rooms only. Do not offer free pick up from the airport,but you can get a minibus for reasonable price. The hotel is not in Lalibela center, it takes 10-15 min walk to get to the churches. But for sure the distance keeps you away from the dust & noise and allows a good rest after the day full of sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

One of the new hotels on a ridge on the west side of town overlooking a deep and truly gorgeous valley. The views from the hotel balconies are fantastic. The rooms are large and very nice.

The rooms are not overly expensive, though not cheap, at 55 USD for a double, and come with a basic breakfast.

Dinner needs to be ordered but was excellent.

Service is decent, but both the manager/owner and his staff still need to find their footing in how to deal with customers. But, they're trying and willing.
Though lovely, some attention to detail was lacking in the hotel's construction, which could mean parts of the hotel might look shabby quickly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was a beautiful retreat at the end of our long journey. While traveling through Ethiopia, we came across many different establishments. From borderline uninhabitable by anything other than local rodents to "just enough, this will have to do". So when we arrived in Lalibela, I didn't expect nor did I desire a luxurious hotel. While doing our regular roundup of what would be our place of rest, we came to this hotel. What we received for the money that we paid can simply be put as a steal. The owner and staff were superb. Everyone spoke English well, while the owner's command of the language was exceptional. This new hotel, with its great staff and hospitality offers unbelievable views from every balcony of every one of 12 rooms, ergo "Top Twelve Hotel". After a long period of just enjoying the magnificent views, we glanced inside our room only to see beautifully handcrafted furniture and decor. This surely was the only way such spectacular views could be complemented by such meticulously yet culturally inspiring interior. Those nights spent in Lalibela will be cherished for a very long time. I would like to just say that everyone traveling through Lalibela should at least stop by this wonderful place and take a look for themselves. If you decided not to stay (which I doubt very much) you will surely take out your camera to snap many pictures. The combination of great price, fantastic individualized service, fabulous rooms and spectacular views make this the place to kick of your dusty shoes and soak in the climate. Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having travelled the entire northern circuit, we ended in this great hotel, which has just opened its doors.
The 5 key reasons why i would recommend other travellers to stay here are:
1,2,3: the panoramic view from your balcony is simply breathtaking. Having travelled extensively in our lifes, we had never seen such an amazing view from out of our beds. The positioning is arguably better than the established Mountainview hotel.
4. Price- quality: you're paying materially less (c. half) than the next door Mountainview hotel, getting better/ same panoramic views, equal quality/ clean rooms and good service.
5. Kind staff: having just opened its doors, we discovered that the staff and owner are still working hard to really service their customers passionately. That really makes or breaks your experience in any hotel (just to note that we originally had made a confirmed reservation at the Mountainview hotel 3 weeks in advance. The very morning of arrival i even reconfirmed the booking with their reception, only to arrive at the hotel to hear that the room had been given to someone else and there was no more room available. Thats typical behavior for an established hotel, who doesnt really mind about its guests..)

All in all we'd really recommend the Top Twelve in Lalibela to all co-travellers!

A dutch couple

Room Tip: Twelve rooms, all w similar views i believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Twelve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Twelve Hotel

Address: Shimbrema, Lalibela +251, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lalibela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOP12 is a new hotel in Lalibela, with, as the name says it, 12 rooms, bathrooms en-suite and balconies, from where you have a breathtaking view all over the valley and the mountains, especially impressive for sunset. Rooms and bathrooms meet absolutely Western standards but still have the traditional Ethiopian style. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Twelve Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.