We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalibela Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lalibela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lalibela Lodge
Save
You added Lalibela Lodge to your Saves list
P.O.BOX 130, Lalibela, Ethiopia   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am always happy to support a local entrepreneur and Habtamu is to be commended for his lodge. The room, with comfortable bed, and bath was spacious with a great view out over the town. The staff is eager to please. Our guide came through the lodge and was very knowledgable and attentive for the two days. My only suggestion would be to have complimentary bottles of water for the room and two glasses or cups. Overall a great way to spend a special birthday!

Room Tip: Any one is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    19
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
26
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with friends (5 people from Kraków, Poland) in January 2013. Very nice place to be recommended to all seeking decent accommodation to visit Lalibela gems. Great views, comfortable rooms nicely furnished, spacious bathrooms. Can't tell about prices as it was part of package tour by Ethiopian touroperator Simienmountains but it seems reasonably priced (at least our trip was such). Very kind service understanding your needs which is not obvious in other places in Ethiopia - helpful, smiling, speaking English. We had very good breakfast and dinner - all served quickly and tasted well. All the best and just keep this level!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dordrecht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this lodge. Beautifully located, with a marvellous vieuw, comfortable and nicely furnished room, private balcony. Dinner was good, not excellent.
The owner is a very friendly and helpfull person. Via him we had an excellent and very friendly guide who showed us the churches and the surrounding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December for 1 night and were so impressed by the location, the cleanliness, the service, and the fact that this is a locally owned business created by a man reaching for his dreams! We had breakfast and dinner at the Lodge and it was very good - no complaints at all. I honestly can't add much more than what is already written except to say that you really won't be disappointed. During our entire 9 day stay in Ethiopia, this ranks as one of the best places we experienced on our adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This new hotel is absolutely terrific. Spacious rooms have south facing balconies with great views over to the market place and churches. Habtamu the owner- manager and all his staff are really charming and eager to please. There's a beautifully situated simple dining room at present serving breakfast, with other meals on request. Transfers to and from the airport are included in the quoted rates, which makes this very good value for money indeed. Very happy we stayed here rather than the larger, more expensive and more impersonal Mountain View next door.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The rooms are on two levels- we were on the upper level where all the rooms are large, light and air...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First thing that will strike you with this small hotel is the view, from both the rooms and the restaurant, across a valley towards the rest of this spread-out small town; very quiet and peaceful. Just about walking distance from the fabulous rock-hewn churches (to which, like the Taj Mahal, no photos can really do justice), but a few taxis also available. The rooms are very clean, freshly repainted, hot water p-- and excellent value. The owner/manager Habtamu is a fund of knowledge and helpfulness, being himself a former guide and leading light in the local tours association. Also, an amazingly placed and creatively designed modern restaurant, perfect for a sunset meal, is a short walk away - fortunately since its not so easy to get back after dark.

Room Tip: All rooms appear the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were really lucky by choosing this place. The rooms are spacious, clean, very very pleasant with superb view. The owner is very experienced and very helpful. All his tips turned out to be very true. We had only 1 day to spend in Lalibel and it was essential that we don't waste time. The owner was VERY helpful on that. Additional side benefit is the fact that the lodge in not far from Bin Ababa, the best restaurant in Ethiopia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lalibela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lalibela Lodge

Address: P.O.BOX 130, Lalibela, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Lalibela
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lalibela
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, locally owned and managed bungalows furnished to the highest standard in a stunning location at very competitive rates. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalibela Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.