We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - very clean and neat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   439 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
18848
1 review
“Great place to stay - very clean and neat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Our family of 3 stayed at this motel 7/16 and 7/17/10. It is conveniently located at the edge of all of the action. The rates are very good and the entire site is very neat and clean. - We highly reccommend it. -- Travelers fron N.E. Pa.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    43
    21
    13
    7
See reviews for
73
71
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful in the Lake George region. We stayed in town - at the Econo Lodge. The staff was very accommodating, the continental breakfast was light but sufficient, and the lodging cost per night is very reasonable (showed our AAA memebership card for a discount). It was very hot (102- 104) while we stayed there and the AC was on the entire time. Very comfortable to return to a cool room and jump into the pool. Great people and a great time.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington,vt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I just love this hotel. This is our second visit, on both occasions we were treated as one would wish all hotels would treat their guests. The staff is very friendly the grounds are kept meticulous and the views are spectacular. You need not even drive day or night. Everything you could wish for is within walking distance or trolley.

I loved our room, it was spacious and well designed. The furnishings were pleasant and we felt very safe staying here. I adored the balcony views. We saw para-sailing right from our room. There were round tables set out for families to sit and enjoy.

I wish so much that we could have stayed longer. We'll definitely be returning.

Rose

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Econo Lodge this weekend . We were very happy with our stay. The room was nice and clean, the view was beautiful, it was walking distance to restaurants and the lake and the people who worked there were great to deal with! The continental breakfast was as you would expect for a continental breakfast - nice place to say hi to others who are staying and finding out things to do. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Va.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Outstanding custormer service, friendly and inviting. Room was clean and comfortable. Liked the personal touches of the building. The location was beautiful and convenient. Will highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

My husband and I grew up in the Adirondacks and visit there as often as possible. Our stay at the Econolode in Lake George was as Heart Warming as any hotel/motel we have ever stayed at. We were greeted with warm hospitality from the moment we arrived. The hotel was incredibley clean and the heat/air system was perfect. The rooms are "dated" as are most hotels in resort towns, including a stay at another privetly owned/opperated motel in Tahoe. You could not ask for a better value for the amendanitys included to the hotel staff and the shear beauty of the Adirondacks! We'll definatly be back for next years Balloon Fest!
P>S> We got to watch the Fireworks on Lake George sat night right from our balcony!
Lovin' Life
VickieD

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

My husband and I picked this hotel because it has WI-FI, an indoor pool and a continental breakfast included in the price. We paid TWICE as much as my mother did the same weekend (she stayed across the road but without the services I included above). The room was VERY dated and uncomfortable. The WI-FI only worked about 25% of the time, to get to the pool and the continential breakfast, you had to walk OUTSIDE in the cold rain the entire length of the hotel only to find the pool was very tiny and there was no place for people to sit to eat the breakfast. My husband left behind a very valuable item and we traveled home over 3 hours to discover this late in the evening. We then traveled another 6 1/2 hours (total) to retrieve the item, which the manager knew but never bothered to call u about. If she had called us, we could have turned around and not had to travel the entire way back! I do want to give the cleaning lady a pat on the back! She kept the rooms very clean and she did return the item we left behind to the front desk. For this, I am thankful. She did an exceptional job considering the hotel is so run down. I will never stay in this hotel again (nor will my mother and her friends that travel there annually). Do not waste your money there are many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 439 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.