We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pretty Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Downtown

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   439 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 89 hotels in Lake George
Fort Myers
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Pretty Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

On a recent trip to New England and Upstate New York we stayed at the Lake George Econo Lodge. It was clean and comfortable and the front desk folks were very nice and efficient. (My wife was not feeling well and they allowed us to check in an hour early.) The continental breakfast was more then adequate. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I was told that rooms on the south east side (left facing the office) were larger and possibly nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your Lake George stay. We always strive to allow our guests to check-in early if the room is ready. Hope to see you again on your travels to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    33
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
60
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Terrebonne, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The place has not been renovated for many decades but everything is perfectly clean, location is perfect and pool and hot tub where hot and in good condition. This was the best we can expect from an Econolodge.
We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Our hotel is exactly 20 years old. We do our best to exceed the Econo Lodge brand standards, and offer more amenities to our guests. Our continental breakfast far exceeds the required menu items. Also, every room has a flat screen TV, which is not a brand standard. In 2014, we will have all new bedding and window treatments. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Econo Lodge Lake George was perfect for our recent weekend trip. We wanted to getaway and enjoy the colors of fall. We did not, however, want to break the bank in the process. The hotel is located at the top of Canada Street and we could walk to most of the places we wanted to see. We especially enjoyed sitting on the third floor deck. From there we could see plenty of fall colors in the mountains.

The breakfast room offered a nice selection to start our day. Nothing like hot oatmeal on a cool Adirondack morning. They offer waffles and crumb cakes, too.

It should be noted that this hotel is smoke-free in all its rooms. There is a gazebo on the grounds for those who need to smoke. With all my allergies, it was nice to know our room was smoke-free from previous guests. Thank you, Econo Lodge for this consideration!

We would stay at this hotel again in the future, especially at this time of the year when the summer crowd has moved on and the colors are so pretty.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on being a 100% non-smokng hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our contintental breakfast as well. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were hesitant to stay at a Econo Lodge but read the reviews and decided to try it. We arrived after 2:00 and was given a room on the 2nd floor. Upon entering, the room was not made up yet. We go downstairs and realized that it was a room with 2 beds where we had reserved a king. We went back to the front desk and she said we reserved a double. Lucky, we had our confirmation and it showed a king. Since this has never happened, I wondered if they were trying to pull a fast one. Anyway, we got the king. The room was clean. The only problem we had was that the sheet and mattress cover was too small and it kept coming off and exposing the mattress. Lucky, I always carry safety pins which corrected the problem. But I shouldn't need to do this.
The breakfast wasn't bad.
Probably won't be back to this hotel next year

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. After checking with our front desk service team, it was determined that the first room bed size given was an honest mistake. We did correct the problem, and was able to give you the room type that your originally reserved. The mattress cover issue was passed along to housekeeping for review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburgh, ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Room was clean, but had a musty hotel smell. Large rooms. Very loud shower. We were given an adjoining room & could hear every word that the people next door said... Close to the village, but a bit of a walk. Hallway could use a new paint job. Parking lot is very small- good luck backing out if you have a van or SUV. Would stay again, but prefer somewhere closer to the village...

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoLodgeDowntown, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, and will use your feedback to make improvements to ensure we offer exceptional service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a great hotel clean very well kept inside and out brilliant value for money we could see the lake from our room. Plus breakfast included. Now the reason why only 4stars we had a honeymoon couple in the room above us and the sound proofing is lousy plus the plumbing is very noisy so when they had a shower and giggled a lot we had to laugh with them .

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

My family and I flew into Albany airport and we drove to lake George and we picked this hotel because of the great location. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It is located in the heart of lake George so we never had to use our rental car again. It was a little too cold to use the pool but it looked real clean and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel
Econo Lodge Downtown Hotel Lake George
Econolodge Lake George
Econo Lodge Lake George
Lake George Econo Lodge
Address: 439 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.