We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1454 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in room 115. This room is directly across from door "b", which is conveniently located steps from the parking lot. The only negative about that is the noise at night when people return. The room was a Suite, 1 queen and 1 king with a living room with couch, bathroom with a shower and a tub. I was pleased with the extra space. The televisions are mounted way too high the walls though.

Breakfast was acceptable, nothing special but it serves it's purpose.

The pool was average as was the hottub.

Th front desk and breakfast employees were all very friendly.

The only negative I have is the noise. Kids constantly running up and down the halls. This seemed to stop after the pool closed at 10pm. Our second floor neighbors could also be heard dancing around in their clogs or whatever they were doing until around 10pm. To avoid this I would ask for a second floor room at the end opposite the pool (left side). Beware there are no elevators though. Shutting the doors to the living room and putting the air condition fan on (instead of auto) helped drown out some of the noise.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    108
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
138
69
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been staying at the Clarion for the last few visits and although it's not walking distance to the town of Lake George, it is central to the outlet mall. We've stayed in summer and fall and both were quiet and peaceful stays. We've had the 1 & 2 bedroom suites both downstairs & upstairs. The rooms are huge compared to other local suite hotels which we've stayed at as well. Also, I look for cleanliness & run a cleansing wipe on all surfaces and floors...spotless!! Even the floor! There's no elevator but it's only one flight of stairs and the large room more than makes up for the climb. The pool area adequate and spa clean, including a walk out deck! Staff the nicest around and breakfast loaded with all kinds of choices (no meat but we're fine with that). Also, breakfast is a full 3 hours! We'll definitely be returning again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work and was very pleased with it. It is conveniently close to the outlet stores and a short drive from Lake George and Saratoga. Also within driving distance of historical sites like the Saratoga battlefield, and the border with Vermont.

I was impressed with the front desk staff, who were very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant in from of the hotel was absolutely killer. (Ubu + pulled pork sandwich makes me one happy lady.)

My room was very comfortable and always clean, and I had a nice little balcony with a good view. I found the beds very comfortable, and there were plenty of soft comfy pillows to build a nice little nest for watching netflix at the end of a long day.

Location was great, service was great, room was fab, but the continental breakfast was pretty average. If I ever get back through this area, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were in the Lake George area for 1 night and booked the Clarion based on the price and cancellation policy. The hotel is tucked behind the outlet strip centers. It looks like an old motel that Clarion renovated (and the hallways smell like it). While the rooms are large and have a separate den with a large bathroom, the furnishings are institutional looking. The free continental breakfast is less than average for an upscale Comfort Inn hotel (especially given the room rate), and the breakfast room looks like a conference room from the 1970's. The staff was friendly, but it didn't make up for the less than average room/surroundings/breakfast. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY420AB, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I appreciate your feedback in regards to your stay. While everyone's perception may be different on our property, I certainly do not like to hear that any guest was disappointed. We strive to maintain not only corporate standards but our own personal standards as well. These standards have let us maintain our Gold status for four years running.
I wish you and your family all the best and hope you decide to visit the Lake George region once again.

Sincerely,
Amanda Berrigan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

From the moment we walked in the lobby the staff was so accommodating. They could tell I was tired from driving and told me about a restaurant within walking distance.
It was my 5 year old granddaughter's first time in a motel room. She unlocked the door to our room and was so excited about everything. The room was very clean. We had a patio off our room. That was a nice surprise. We changed our clothes into our swimsuits to go to the pool and hot tub. There was no one there but what a beautiful area. Right off the pool area was a porch area lined with beautiful flowers and recliners. When we went to check out the staff gave my granddaughter the room key to keep as a souvenir.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY420AB, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We can't express how happy we are to hear that your grandchild had such an enjoyable experience! We love having families stay with us and we certainly look forward to a return visit. We wish you a fun and safe summer!

Sincerely,
The staff at the Clarion Inn & Suites of Lake George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Wow nice surprise when we arrived at this hotel, the Manager we had made a room upgrade, at first I did not realize, as we were the Virginia motorcycle 10 hours later we arrived at Lake George.
after a good soak in the jacuzzi, we visited the outlets that are nearby 130 seconds on foot.
Basically we enjoyed our visit to this hotel, I highly recommend the personal are very friendly, with a big smile without extras.
Lake George are a very beautiful area visited

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were supposed to be traveling to Vermont for the weekend, but the rain had better plans for us. We stopped at this hotel after running into bad weather in the area and planned on staying for only one night. We checked in with no problems. At check in, we spoke to the evening guest services gentlemen on duty (one of them Jared) and were treated like family. We decided at that time to extend our stay and spend the long weekend there instead of traveling on to Vermont. We weren't disappointed! The rooms were very nice, and very clean. The location of the hotel was ideal. Close to shopping, restaurants, activities, and sightseeing. We would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY420AB, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback! All of the desk agents here take pride in accommodating our guests. The fact that you chose to change your plans to stay with us lets me know we are doing our job right!

We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Sincerely,
Amanda Berrigan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1454 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake George
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Lake George
Days Inn Lake George
Lake George Clarion
Clarion Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.