We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just fine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1454 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was just fine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stopped here for a single night. We found the reception to be excellent and all the staff members we encountered were exceptionally friendly, smiling, and forthcoming. They are a real asset to this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean as well as quiet. The breakfast, despite being continental, had lots of choices including yogurts, breads, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, make-your-own waffles. The fruit was just some whole apples and oranges in bowls rather than slices, but that was still fine. Location is on a main road in the middle of outlet mall haven. You won't be on the lake here, but if you're interested in shopping this is definitely a good place to park yourself. Our visit coincided with a classic car show so there were lots of interesting cars in the parking lot!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    110
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
140
71
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at the Clarion during Labor Day weekend. Great place. Very quiet, which was a good addition for a good nights sleep. The room was clean and housekeeping did a great job keeping it that way for us. Furnishings were on the money. The breakfast in the morning was OK. Hey, it's no cost to guest. If it's free it's for me. The employees who took care of the breakfast did a great job. I tipped them because they deserved it. It's close to the outlets and some excellent restaurants in walking distance. To the employees of Clarion, Lake George, "THANK YOU".

Room Tip: Rooms are good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great stay. The room was clean, and the location was good. We asked a woman at the front desk to recommend a good place to view the fireworks. She ended up being the bookkeeper, and her recommendation was fantastic. (Thank You!!!). We had a great view on a small, relatively unknown beach with few people around. I also had a huge, heavy bag, and a guy at the front desk offered to carry it up the steps for me, which was very nice. I did read in other reviews that there was an unpleasant odor at the hotel. I did notice this, but it was tolerable and I am VERY sensitive to odors. Overall, I definitely think this hotel is a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked this hotel based upon the other peoples reviews on Tripadvisor and it seems fairly consistent. We have stayed at the Comfort Suites and I have to say that their rooms are much larger and I like the pool area better but overall it was nice. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. can you ask for more?? The breakfast area was nice and I think that they did have a good selection of food available.

Our only issue was the pool / hot tub. The water looked a little murky and we found clumps of hair ( as in numerous clumps of hair ) in both the pool and the hot tub. Yuk Yuk Yuk! I know that they cannot control guests who "shed" but the pool filter is clearly not picking ths stuff up.

The other issues was that we could not for the life of us find an elevator. We had to lug the luggage up and down the stairs which was not fun with kids.

Overall this was an ok hotel, it was on par ( if not above ) a 2.5 star hotel. The staff was also very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I honestly cannot recall ever having stayed at a better 2-1/2 star hotel. Unlike most of the other guests, I was in the area for a somewhat relentless business trip. I was looking for a comfortable bed, larger bathroom, and a nice pool/spa to exercise and relax in after work. I had originally booked another hotel and stayed there several days but was not satisfied. I am so glad that I moved to the Clarion Inn & Suites -- it delivered on all counts. The manager Laura and her staff including Jeff were very nice, professional, and accommodating. My only issue was that the pool in the evenings sometimes got really crowded with kids. But I chalk that up to the summer tourist season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I recently stayed at the Clarion Inn, and the rate included a continential breakfast that includes assortment of cereals, hard boiled eggs, and make your own waffles. Location is short drive to attractions and restaurants. Management was very friendly and helpful. There is no elevators to the second floor. Down side is the pool and hot tub is small,

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the first floor; since there is no elevator to second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Clarion in June for a girls weekend of shopping and relaxing. The hotel is located right in the middle of the Lake George Outlets and a quick drive to the town of Lake George. The rooms were very clean, roomy and we slept well in the comfortable beds. The rate included breakfast, which was average and not very impressive. The breakfast room wasn't very tidy and the selection was minimal. We chose to go out for breakfast one morning instead, which was fine. On a side note, we went to the Sagamore hotel in Bolton Landing, approx 15 mins away, for massages. The hotel was very nice, the massages were excellent and the setting was beautiful. We had lunch at the restaurant by the water, which was very good. Definitely recommend visiting the hotel, walk the grounds, have a bite, etc. It's worth the visit. But don't stay there - the hotel rates are outrageous though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 1454 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lake George
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites
Clarion Lake George
Days Inn Lake George
Lake George Clarion
Clarion Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.