We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Weekend, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marine Village Resort to your Saves list
Marine Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   370 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Americade Specials
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Westbury, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Weekend, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marine Village from 8/23-8/26 after dropping off our college bound son in Albany. Check in was quick. We parked the car and did not use it all weekend. The beach was the best beach in the LG village. We did not eat at the Morgan but did have breakfast at The Bank.

There were couples and families staying there. Everyone was having a good time. It is a perfect place for families to stay. The weather was sunny and warm. We stayed in a king lakeview room #24 which was small. There are chairs and a table outside where we sat each night and drank coffee every morning looking out onto the lake. The workers work very hard at keeping the grounds clean. The mattress could have been a bit newer but I have back issues so I need a firm mattress that does not sink. We had a clean refrigerator and a microwave in the room. The bathroom was clean. The maids replaced our towels everyday so there were always fresh towels available. The bedroom wall paper was worn out making it look a bit dingy. The room was quiet at night. I slept with the window open because it was cool at night and had no noise issues.

There are signs around the property stating the rules yet no one enforces them.There are no lifeguards at the beach or pool so parents need to keep an eye on their kids. This is true especially at the top of the parking lot where the ice machine and soda machine are located. Cars come down the driveway which is down hill into the parking lot too fast. There is a bush in front on the soda machine blocking the drivers vision of the soda machine. It is a potentially dangerous situation. A pedestrian sign and a 5 mile an hour speed limit should be enforced.

I would recommend staying there and would come back and stay there again. I loved the lake and the easy walk to everything. Supermarket and liquor Store are across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    61
    28
    9
    15
See reviews for
113
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This Motel has an amazing location! Omg we didn't realize until we got there how great it really was!

We booked the family package. On the site it stated we would get 4 tickets to great escape. Breakfast each day and a voucher to the pizza place across the street!

The staff was amazing! We had a baby and they were always helpful and understanding from extra towels and pillows to extra syrup! Thank You All!!!

The Pool was always clean! The one down side here was it was a bit small when the kids were in it. Yet any motel or hotel pool is small when a vacation spot is in its prime season. There is a patio off the pool area with tables for families to enjoy BBQing!

The lake is so clean. The private beach was a big plus. I'm a big beach goer and my only complaint here would be how hard the sand is. I'm personally used to cushy sand under my toes.

They have paddle boat rentals and a little row boat for rent. considering I got the family fun package I think it should have been free instead of a 20 rental fee.

The hotel food was really good! It was just worded different then what we got. It was a food voucher towards breakfast. We ordered 2egg sandwiches, pancakes, and French toast with milk or juice and we still had to put 20 dollars toward breakfast a day. If it said breakfast it should have been Breakfast not vouchers toward breakfast esp. since it was a very limited menu!

The atmosphere at the Motel was amazing. So peaceful! At night it was Quiet and relaxing.

Overall it was a great family trip the staff and location of the Marina Village Resort definitely contributed towards this!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. So glad to see you have enjoyed your experience here with us. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I went to Lake George for the first time and luckily ended up staying at the MVR. The rooms were really clean, the refridgerator had ample space, they provided grills and even a toaster. Even though our room was directly on the lake, we had a view of the lake from our porch. We never had to get into our car - the town of Lake George is right on the doorstep. The beach is beautiful, the pool lovely. They even provided evening activities - Italian night, a barbecue night, 'make your own sundae' night .... We went kayaking, but they also have padel boats and canoes. The service was awesome. We would recommend this venue to anyone - especially with young children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We (18 year old son and myself) stayed at Marine Village Resort Aug 4-9th. The staff is efficient and friendly. Our room was a "standard" as far a location and condition. We had room number was 21 or 22 the last room in that building near the street. The rooms closer to the lake or the pool are priced higher and some have kitchens. This was fine as I liked the lack of foot traffic passing my room. This room is close to the street so you see and hear the everyone walking into town but they are up above as the motel in below street level. Once inside with ac on or windows closed the noise is far less. The motel is kept clean and the ac works well the room was sufficient. The break area for the cleaning staff is right next to this room which could be lanscaped and a nicer fence would look a lot better as this is what that room has to look at when sitting at the outside table and chairs. The cleaning staff are super friendly and try to do the best they can with so many rooms to care for. The location of the resort is great for families as it is on Canada street so the car is not really needed as everthing is within walking distance. The beach area is large unlike other motels. The pool and patio overlooking the lake are great.

The motel does a good job of providing daily meal or snack events although I don't think this is always communicated to you when you arrive. I had stayed before so I knew about the sunday barbeque, tuesday taco lunch and wednesday Italian night, etc.. I mentioned these events to neighbors who would have liked to participate but were not informed. I am not sure why the flyer is not given at the time of check -in.. I haven't stayed anywhere else in the Lake George area so I can't comment a comparison but this is a good place to stay. Lots of perks and a they do try to make everyone comfortable.

Room Tip: It is a matter of your needs. The rooms near the pool and lake would be best with children but most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your feedback and will work toward improving the guest experience here at Marine Village Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac,ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Rooms were very clean! This is not a 5 star hotel so do not expect such. It is a motel but it is very clean and well run. It is a great place on the lake! The lake front beach is very nice. The pool is great. It is located right in town so can leave car! Perfect location. Activities for the kids - paddle boats and kayaks are available for rent. Our family enjoyed hanging out on the porch at night and in the early am. There is even a restaurant for breakfast on site. It was good. Also, since you are in town, can walk to other places. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingville, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We just got back from a 4 night stay at MV and we will most certainly go back. My wife is very particular about the room and the cleanliness and she was so happy with our room. We had a poolside room with 2 kings and the room was perfect. The resort location is outstanding and my 3 kids loved going back and forth from the heated pool to the lake, which by the way is a very clean lake to swim in. We purchased a package from MV which included tickets to the Great Escape( so much fun and not crowded at all), $60 to Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant( great food and service) and 2 free breakfasts at the resort(good food and very friendly service).

My one issue with MV is the charge to rent the canoes, kayaks and rowboats. Many resorts have free rentals and I wish MV would consider doing the same.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We took a trip with 3 adults and 5 children ages 4-13 and everyone had a great time. Can't say enough about the staff. Very helpful and polite. Best location in Lake George. We parked our car when we got there and didn't move it until we left. Plenty for everyone to do.Sandy beach,pool,kayaks,peddleboats,etc. right on site. Gorgeous lake and very clean. Nice surprize to find the resort has pizza, hot dogs, hamburgers, pasta on certain nights. All complimentary! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineVillageMgmt, Manager at Marine Village Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Village Resort

Address: 370 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
#15 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Marine Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Village Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.