We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
easthampton, ma
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2007

Right off the bat, I was greeted by a team of young women who liked their jobs. They were kind, helpful, and courteous without being put on. The room was spartan as were the halls, restaurants, pool areas, and lounge. I think I'll sell my waterbed and get one like they have at the Holiday Inn. My husband had three excellent nights and was able to sleep later than he ever does. The restaurant fare was good enough for hotel food. The indoor pool was warm if a bit cloudy all three days. I discovered the outdoor hot tub and was thrilled to climb in with snowbanks around me and the steam billowing up to the sky. There were fireworks visible from our sliding door - what a treat! We had a magnificent view of Lake George and the Adirondack mountains there as well.The area had lots and lots of xc skiing so my husband was struggling with the decision about where to go each day. I plan to go back next February as I was able to relax and read a couple of books, while my husband was off skiing. Good trip!

  • Liked — The tremendous staff and the very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — There was a 3 foot snowstorm the week becfore which cut the available parking down. Add to that the fact that snowmobile trailers take up extra spots and you have a real lottery for the available spots.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    200
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
341
123
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

This is our second time staying at this hotel within three years. We are not a big fan of the moderate-to-budget hotel chains, but this Holiday Inn exceeds our expectations. We are a family of four that likes to get away in the winter within a four hour drive from home, to a hotel that has an indoor pool. Holiday Inn Lake George Turf has a very nice indoor pool and also has a year-round outdoor hot tub that actaully allows kids to enjoy! It was great to sit near the piles of snow, two-feet-high, at night and watch the Lake's winter festival fireworks in a steamy tub with the kids. The inside pool has a small turtle mosaic on its floor. Most kids think it is cool, but some kids (like when mine was a toddler) find it a little creepy.

If you don't have kids and are looking for a romantic weekend get-away in the Adirondacks, you may want to avoid this place. At Holiday Inn, kids eat free and there were plenty of them at the breakfast and dinner buffets. Of course they were all well-behaved and WELL-FED! We were there President's weekend and often had to wait awhile for a table even though we made a reservation as soon as we checked in. There is a dinner theater here that we did not attend. I'm sure you need to make reservations for that when you call to book a room.

The rooms overall, are on the small side and the bathrooms are tiny. However, housekeeping does a great job keeping them spotless and all rooms are tastefully decorated. The hotel is adding another floor of rooms and they do warn that on weekdays there could be some construction noise. If you plan on visiting in the summer, you will want to request a room that has a patio or balcony near the outdoor pool. We booked late and all we could get was an inside room that had a king bed with a pull-out couch.

I was most impressed by all the staff members. Management must be doing something right because I recognized some faces from our visit three years prior. Everyone greeted us with a smile and all our requests were taken care off. Check-in and check-out at the front desk was a breeze too. The restaurant staff was extremely pleasant and the hostess went out of her way to apologize to us for having to wait 15 minutes one night.

This hotel is a safe bet for a more than satisfactory family get-away. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Indoor pool and restaurant
  • Disliked — rooms are small
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We booked our 3 night stay based on the reviews on this website. You all were spot on and did not disappoint (We booked our room on line through the Holiday Inn website and paid upfront with a credit card. We saved over $40 a night by doing this).
We had a room with a King bed with a pool view (aka LAKE VIEW). If you have kids get a first floor pool view - you're just a walk out the patio door to the pools (large and a kids pool) and jungle gym. The room was spacious with a patio outfitted with 2 comfy chairs and a small table. The room had a small dorm 'fridge and a microwave. Now, with my really bad back I rate a hotel by the comfort of the beds. This hotel, by far, has the most comfortable beds I've ever encountered in a hotel... EVER! I even made a comment at the Front Desk. This hotel just recently updated all of the beds to Sealy pillowtops. You'll love it. We slept soundly every night.
The only downside, and it was slight, was the bathroom was quite small, but there was room enough to do what one needs to do in the bathroom.
We also visited the indoor pool and hot tub. We had the whole place to ourselves one night for over 2 hours. The pool is a nice 83 degrees and the hot tub is outside, adjacent to the indoor pool. In the indoor pool area there is also a pool table and shuffle board area. And right outside the door to the indoor pool are video games and a small gym.
We did not visit the hotel lounge, but it seemed like a popular place. We did eat at the hotel restaurant for one dinner. We were a bit leary and even more so when the salad arrived (more like Lettuce Soup), but the entree was quite good. Braised Pork Chop for me (melt in your mouth!) and Surf 'n Turf for hubby, which he raved about. The price was average to most restaurants in the area.
Just a note about the Lake George area. Don't visit midweek after Labor Day. Not much is open, but we still had fun (lake cruise, visit to Fort Ticonderoga - 40 min. drive, lakeside bars and arcades - who said an adult can't have run at an arcade!). But a note for parents - no matter how much they beg, do not take your kids to the Frankenstein Wax Museum on the main strip. We did it on a whim, but a few of the 'exhibits' were broken and although it was touted as 'scary', it wasn't. It was just dark.
For restaurants, try Simple Simon's on the lake. They make a great burger and have great views. For dinner, if you don't mind spending a bit more money, try the Log Jam. It was sooooo good, the portions are huge if you're really hungry and the waitstaff was super friendly and attentive.
Enjoy your trip to the area. We'll go back and stay at the Holiday Inn again.

  • Liked — The bed was super comfortable
  • Disliked — If I have to put something, the bathroom was a bit small
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a "Pool View" on the 2nd floor - it has a good view of Lake George
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wood ridge new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

We had never been to Lake George until now and we are so thrilled with the Holiday Inn Turf Lake George. It rained for the 3 days we were there but it didn't bother us because there is a beautiful indoor pool at this hotel.. We had our 1, 3, & 9 year olds with us and we never go out to restaurants for obvious reasons but let me tell you, the waitresses at the Holiday Inn restaurant were so accomadating. They were there for every child need without being asked.. Children eat free and we had dinner and breakfast buffets everyday and they were outrageous.. Usually kids eat free means a plate of chicken fingers but this meant kids eat free from the buffet, which is great for picky kids who eat different things. We loved the prime rib among other foods and our bill
was $40 for a family of 5...
The outdoor pool, jacuzzi, and playground were also so convenient and nice..
We had the pool view which was spectacular since you see the
mountains and lake.. There is so much to do in Lake George and we can't wait until next summer.
This is the first review I've done so I hope it helps...Enjoy..

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2006

Date: September 2, 2006
From: Tripadvisor member, Pennsylvania

My family just returned from a trip to Lake George New York. We had such a great time. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Turf and it was the perfect place to stay. The location was great, close to all attractions. It had a wonderful outdoor and indoor pool with a great whirlpool. We had the breakfast deal and it was a nice buffet with everything from eggs to made to order waffles. The rooms were very spacious with very comfortable beds. We had a pool/lake view. The activities in the area are many including horseback riding, rodeos, paintball, beach activities, sightseeing boats on Lake George, shopping (both malls and outlets), and some great restaurants such as Guiseppe's and the Look Out Cafe. The only negative I can say is the polenesian show at the Howard Johnson Hotel. That was a big waste of money. We also went to Great Escape(an amusement park) and found it not to our lioking as we wanted to do the water park but the water is freezing.
Overall we had a great trip and I want to plan a return next summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we enjoyed it. Indoor pool helped alot to keep 3 kids busy on a rainy day. I got a room with breakfast included and thought it was a good deal and kids ate free which made it easy. Staff very nice, would not hesitate to reccommend highly as my the previous reviewers had

  • Liked — 2 pools and restaurant
  • Disliked — not enough signs in halls
  • Tips/Secrets — get breakfast voucher included with room rate, makes it easy
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

We have returned from our trip to Lake George. I picked holiday inn from the reviews on this site and I was happy with my choice. My family - the four of us shared a 2 queen room over looking the pool and lake george on the second floor. There are two pools on the property which my kids loved. Although we were not on the lake, we were a short car ride to the lake and the town. The hotel was quiet at night and the room was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The two pools
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book the second floor
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.