We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful holiday experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have spent 8 nights, with a large group of skiers from Canada. I was truly impressed with exceptional service that I was experienced during my stay. The staff was very friendly and exceptionally helpful to address any of my request promptly. They performed such a delicate task to accommodate 80 families, address their needs and provide solutions for kids and adults.
How wonderful it was. I wish to thank the staff and the manager for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your experience. This was an easy group for us to take care of. It was an absolute pleasure having you with us for the Holiday week. We very much look forward to your return. Happy New Year.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    200
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
341
123
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bells rapids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

To Michael, Mandy, Karen, Bob, Tammie and rest of the crew - thank you for receiving us with open arms and extending us every possible hospitality during our Christmas week stay! We loved the place, the energy, the food, service, the attention we received! It felt like a home-away-from-home, a largest compliment I can bestow upon your wonderful property. To the owners - I know this starts from the very top, and so we thank you for assembling, cultivating and supporting such a wonderful staff. We'll see you back in March. Aleks Gusev, Avantura Group Leader, Canada

Room Tip: Poolside view is worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words. Our staff really enjoyed taking care of your group. We look forward to your return in 2014. You and your guests made it an enjoyable Christmas for all of us.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, RI
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

One of the better hotels I have stayed at in upstate New York. Check-in was fast and friendly and the price was outstanding. Fires roaring outside and in and a fresh look inside made for a great first impression. A beautiful pool, a great restaurant and wonderful spacious rooms. The hotel is very clean and the hotel has a great look of the lake from on top of the hill. Located downtown, it's worth the ride past many of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your note. We try everyday to keep our property clean and efficient. I am glad that you like our location and our view. We are looking out over the lake right now, and never get tired of it.
We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great hotel for family. The staff and manager were wonderful. I wanted to inquire about a discount since I was booking three rooms for five nights. The manager was immediately put on the phone (Mike) and accommodated. Very friendly and further gave me tips on Saratoga and what to do with kids. Loved our stay, especially the front desk gals saving home made cookies for us !!! I

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We really focus on being friendly and appreciate hearing that it is working. Cookies are very popular, we hear about that often from our guests. Our locatiion near Saratoga is definately a plus. It is a great town.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My fiance and I come to Lake George a few times a year. We've stayed at various hotels but the one we come back to is always Holiday Inn. It's near the village and lake - you can walk anywhere you want to go so long as you have a good pair of shoes on (it takes maybe 5 min to walk to the village). But, it's far enough from the village where you're not caught up in traffic jams whenever you want to leave the hotel.

The rooms are always clean. The staff is friendly. Gotta love the freshly baked cookies upon check-in as well. I also really like that they have a restaurant and bar on-site. It's nice when you've had a long day and don't feel like leaving the hotel to get a decent meal or unwind with a drink. There are good views of the lake from some rooms and from the bar and restaurant. You can also see the fireworks from the bar on firework evenings.

We will definitely be coming back here soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We try to keep true to both clean and friendly when it comes to running our business, I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us. The cookies in our lobby are obviously done in other places too, but it is a great touch, and our guests love it. We look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, VT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here while celebrating our 3 year anniversary in Lake George. It was a wonderful stay even for just one night. The price was great for the quality but it was off season so it wasn't too crowded. Lake George was sort of a ghost town this time of year except for the shopping and great outdoors. We were greeted with a choice between punch or rum punch and fresh baked chocolate chip or white macadamia cookies. This totally surprised us but after a two hour drive from Vermont it was just what we needed to start our relaxing weekend away. Of course I chose the rum punch and the cookies were so delicious! The staff at the front desk were friendly and gladly gave us equipment to use on the turf area since no one really was using it due to chilly weather. But we wanted to stay on property for a while so it was nice for entertaining ourselves with the beautiful scenery of Lake George visible from the resorts great location. We spent most the time sitting in the lounge chairs overlooking the lake and we were the only ones around it was great! In warmer months this outdoor area would be great for kids and families. We tried the mini putt putt golf in the resorts court yard for fun but it needs a little updating and cleaning its not the best looking or most fun thing. Our room was a standard king I believe and it was clean and very spacious. The bed wasn't the most comfortable mattress I've had at resorts but it was pretty good. The room's view was just of the outside resort but if you pay extra you can have a lake view which we loved looking at on the glass elevator to our floor. The bathroom was really small though like you had to squeeze into the bathroom to close the door. Nice amenities in the bathroom to use though. Our tub didnt drain very fast either. Everything else was great for the room though, perfect for a quick stay. Our favorite part was the happy hour offered during the bonfire outdoors on the patio. We took our drinks outside by the fire overlooking the lake. It was an unexpected treat that we so enjoyed. Although the fire was kind of small and hard to feel unless up close they should make it a little bigger especially in cold months. They did offer buffet dinners with different themes each night or regular menu too maybe, we ate off resort with all the wonderful restaurants near by. We slept in so we didnt do breakfast there but we ate at the Silo, I would recommend it for one of the best breakfasts we have ever had! We would definitely return here again the next time we are in the area. It was comfortable, convenient with a small resort feel to it, very nice.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms must be really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, and for the time that you took to review us. I liked reading it, and enjoyed getting your perspective. Lake George does have a different feel to it, once the kids go back to school in the fall. It is definately a great spot to relax and enjoy the outstanding natural resourses that our region is famous for in the fall, winter, and spring. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some of the activities around our building. Those features are very active during the summer season. Nice tip on the Silo for breakfast. That is a great spot for breakfast & lunch.
Hopefully we will see you again. We appreciate you choosing us.

Michael S./GM



Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I travel often between Fishkill,NY and Burlington,VT usually making a stop in Malta, NY. My daughter mentioned she visited Lake George during the summer and enjoyed it. So on my recent trip from Burlington I forced myself to stop in Lake George (made every excuse why I should go further) and am I happy I did. The location, people, room, lounge,etc was fantastic.It was the best hotel experience I have EVER had. I usually do not complete these reviews but this was unbelievable. I went to grab a bite and say at the bar. The Bartenders (Dana and Bob) were so nice, but what really surprised me was the patrons. Almost all locals they visit and welcome everyone. I struck up a conversation with an older Gentlemen about Antique Cadillacs and reminisced about all the Antique cars my Dad once owned. Thanks Dad for all the memories.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the King Suite, but cant wait to return and get the King Spa Suite for a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for allowing us an opportunity. I am glad that you enjoyed our property, and our Lounge. It is a fun place to visit every day of the week. Bob, Agnes, and Dana have created a fun, engaging atmosphere which local patrons, and resort guests really enjoy.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.