We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return again !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I travel often between Fishkill,NY and Burlington,VT usually making a stop in Malta, NY. My daughter mentioned she visited Lake George during the summer and enjoyed it. So on my recent trip from Burlington I forced myself to stop in Lake George (made every excuse why I should go further) and am I happy I did. The location, people, room, lounge,etc was fantastic.It was the best hotel experience I have EVER had. I usually do not complete these reviews but this was unbelievable. I went to grab a bite and say at the bar. The Bartenders (Dana and Bob) were so nice, but what really surprised me was the patrons. Almost all locals they visit and welcome everyone. I struck up a conversation with an older Gentlemen about Antique Cadillacs and reminisced about all the Antique cars my Dad once owned. Thanks Dad for all the memories.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the King Suite, but cant wait to return and get the King Spa Suite for a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for allowing us an opportunity. I am glad that you enjoyed our property, and our Lounge. It is a fun place to visit every day of the week. Bob, Agnes, and Dana have created a fun, engaging atmosphere which local patrons, and resort guests really enjoy.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    208
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
359
132
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed over one night while visiting family in area. Normally don't stay at Holiday Inn's, so this was a nice surprise. Staff is super friendly and it is obvious they take pride in their work. Room was very comfortable and clean. The bar had a "Cheers" type atmosphere and the bartender Bob, not only makes a great cocktail, but will engage you in friendly banter. Had breakfast in restaurant and it was fresh and delicious. We went off-season and it was fairly quiet, but it looks like it is very kid-dominated during the high season, so you may want to stay elsewhere if you are kid-free.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We have a genuine friendly staff, and are very fortunate.
Bob and Agnes in our lounge are just outstanding. We do cater to families as a Holiday Inn Resort. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Haven't been here in a year and it is still as great as ever. For a hotel room that is under $100, it is a bargain.
1. The pool is large, clean, and warm......the towels provided in the room are excellent!
2. The bed is excellent with your choice of firm or soft pillows.
3. Beautiful view of the lake (it is winter so don't know what happens if the leaves were out).
4. Hotel restaurant for breakfast is GREAT.
5. Cookies at the front desk are GREAT.
6. Room size is LARGE. We had a terrific king room.
7. Love the Keurig coffee pot in the room.
8. Very nice bar......staff is WONDERFUL (Bob, Agnes....)
One Minor issue:
wish parents would quiet their kids running down the hallways...can be a bit noisy.

Hard to go wrong with this hotel choice!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. The Keurig coffee makers have gone over very well. The cookies at check-in are also a favorite. I appreciate your comments about our pool, and of course Bob & Agnes in the lounge. Hopefully, we will see you back in the near future. Thank you for staying with us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It's neat and clean, nice service, great view of the lake and in a good location. The rooms are good, except for one thing. The hotel still has 20+ year old air conditioners / heaters. In most of the rooms they've eliminated the controls on the unit itself and replaced it with a wall thermostat. So it's either on or off, no low setting, just high all the time. And it's loud enough to wake you up from a dead sleep when it's on. Friends of ours said their unit didn't work at all.

Time for an upgrade. Panasonic, LG, Samsung and other companies make AC / Heaters that are almost silent and much more efficient.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lake view, otherwise it's a view of the back lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate the nice comments and your constructive thoughts related to our AC/Heaters. We are sorry about the noise and were very sorry to hear about your friends heat issue. Please let me know if you would like to join us again. We would like to have you return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We've been coming to Lake George for years and this is our third time staying here in the last 10 years. We've gone back every few years and every time, its gets better as its turned from a basic hotel to a small resort like feel. I think its the best hotel in the village. (Fort William Henry is getting old and the Sagamore is a great luxury hotel but that is up in Bolton Landing and not super kid friendly)
I would not say its walking distance to the main village but you can walk if you want to. Maybe a 20 minute walk?
The rooms are fine for a Holiday Inn but obviously, don't expect super luxury. Our room had a couch and a small table with two chairs as well as the bed so that gave the kids some space to hang out in the room.
There is a very small "half-room" near the front desk with some very basic supplies and some drinks and ice cream bars. But there is a Valero gas station/quick-mart, a 1 minute walk outside the hotel with more supplies.
The hotel features a decent pool with poolside food and drink service, a kids playground, shuffle board area and some fun lawn games like a bean bag toss and a huge chess board. (The king is like 3 feet high). They also offer a number of children's activities throughout the day. Most are a bit lame but its something to do. If you have ever been to a Great Wolf Lodge or a Great Escape Lodge, you'll know what i mean by activities but they are simpler. They also have an indoor pool which is a great idea. We went at the end of the summer so we didn't spend much time indoors.

The restaurant food is ok. Like a diner or a TGI Fridays. But kids eat for free. We only ate there once, on our first night there so no worries as there is plenty to see at a Lake George.
If you can get a room facing the pool, i'd recommend it. There 1st floor rooms open up to the lawn in front of the pool for easy access. The 2nd and 3rd floors have a balcony. In the summer, they often have fireworks over the lake and you can get a good view of them from the poolside rooms. The 3rd floor has larger suites that some of our party stayed in. There is an outer room with large couch, TV and a mini bar area. Then a door to separate it from the bedroom.
I noticed they installed a electric car charging station this summer. That was interesting but we don't have an electric car so we didn't try it. There is plenty of parking in the back but it fills up fast so if you get back late, you have to park a little further away. It still only a minute or two to the door so no worries.

Room Tip: Pick a pool-side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review from your stay this past summer. Thank you for the time that you took to share information about our resort. Our pools remain popular with families. The outdoor pool location and view are hard to beat. Thank you also for the mention of our electric car charging stations. They are new, and I did see two different guests out there this week, so it is catching on. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort George G Mead Junction, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We got in late after a day of traveling (around 10pm). We had called ahead of time to see if there were rooms available. They had a room available and even upgraded us (we are IG gold members). They upgraded us to a kids suite which was amazing. We have an 18 month and 7 yr old and they loved it. They slept well which in turn we slept well. One of the ladies names was Courtney but I forget what the other lady's name was. They gave cookies and played with the little ones while my husband was getting the bags. Everything was perfect even the resturaunt was amazing. The service and the food. This will be our go to hotel from now on. Clean rooms, Great service and wonderful people. This was definitely a needed stay since previous holiday inns we disappointing. This hotel reassured us that holiday inns are for our family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your awesome comments. We really enjoyed them. We do have a great staff throughout the building. I am glad that you were able to use one of our two kids suites. The bunk beds, and the whole concept of the kids suites have gone over great with the families that have had a chance to try them out. We are glad that you have found a home away from home in Lake George, and look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14801
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We REALLY enjoyed our stay here. I cannot think of one negative about the place. I would return in a heartbeat! The staff really seems to go out of their way to assist you.

We stayed in November, so the outdoor fireplace and the outdoor hot tub were a real novelty for us. They have a very nice indoor pool. Bigger than most with great 'atmosphere'.

Hats off to ALL of the staff that made our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the lake--highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for joining us. Your comments were much appreciated. Even in the winter, our outdoor firepit & the outdoor hot tub are utilized and enjoyed. Hopefully you will get a chance to return to Lake George in the furure.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.