We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Except For The Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great, Except For The Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall this is a very nice hotel. It's neat and clean, nice service, great view of the lake and in a good location. The rooms are good, except for one thing. The hotel still has 20+ year old air conditioners / heaters. In most of the rooms they've eliminated the controls on the unit itself and replaced it with a wall thermostat. So it's either on or off, no low setting, just high all the time. And it's loud enough to wake you up from a dead sleep when it's on. Friends of ours said their unit didn't work at all.

Time for an upgrade. Panasonic, LG, Samsung and other companies make AC / Heaters that are almost silent and much more efficient.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a lake view, otherwise it's a view of the back lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. I appreciate the nice comments and your constructive thoughts related to our AC/Heaters. We are sorry about the noise and were very sorry to hear about your friends heat issue. Please let me know if you would like to join us again. We would like to have you return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    177
    33
    14
    6
See reviews for
296
102
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We've been coming to Lake George for years and this is our third time staying here in the last 10 years. We've gone back every few years and every time, its gets better as its turned from a basic hotel to a small resort like feel. I think its the best hotel in the village. (Fort William Henry is getting old and the Sagamore is a great luxury hotel but that is up in Bolton Landing and not super kid friendly)
I would not say its walking distance to the main village but you can walk if you want to. Maybe a 20 minute walk?
The rooms are fine for a Holiday Inn but obviously, don't expect super luxury. Our room had a couch and a small table with two chairs as well as the bed so that gave the kids some space to hang out in the room.
There is a very small "half-room" near the front desk with some very basic supplies and some drinks and ice cream bars. But there is a Valero gas station/quick-mart, a 1 minute walk outside the hotel with more supplies.
The hotel features a decent pool with poolside food and drink service, a kids playground, shuffle board area and some fun lawn games like a bean bag toss and a huge chess board. (The king is like 3 feet high). They also offer a number of children's activities throughout the day. Most are a bit lame but its something to do. If you have ever been to a Great Wolf Lodge or a Great Escape Lodge, you'll know what i mean by activities but they are simpler. They also have an indoor pool which is a great idea. We went at the end of the summer so we didn't spend much time indoors.

The restaurant food is ok. Like a diner or a TGI Fridays. But kids eat for free. We only ate there once, on our first night there so no worries as there is plenty to see at a Lake George.
If you can get a room facing the pool, i'd recommend it. There 1st floor rooms open up to the lawn in front of the pool for easy access. The 2nd and 3rd floors have a balcony. In the summer, they often have fireworks over the lake and you can get a good view of them from the poolside rooms. The 3rd floor has larger suites that some of our party stayed in. There is an outer room with large couch, TV and a mini bar area. Then a door to separate it from the bedroom.
I noticed they installed a electric car charging station this summer. That was interesting but we don't have an electric car so we didn't try it. There is plenty of parking in the back but it fills up fast so if you get back late, you have to park a little further away. It still only a minute or two to the door so no worries.

Room Tip: Pick a pool-side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review from your stay this past summer. Thank you for the time that you took to share information about our resort. Our pools remain popular with families. The outdoor pool location and view are hard to beat. Thank you also for the mention of our electric car charging stations. They are new, and I did see two different guests out there this week, so it is catching on. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort George G Mead Junction, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We got in late after a day of traveling (around 10pm). We had called ahead of time to see if there were rooms available. They had a room available and even upgraded us (we are IG gold members). They upgraded us to a kids suite which was amazing. We have an 18 month and 7 yr old and they loved it. They slept well which in turn we slept well. One of the ladies names was Courtney but I forget what the other lady's name was. They gave cookies and played with the little ones while my husband was getting the bags. Everything was perfect even the resturaunt was amazing. The service and the food. This will be our go to hotel from now on. Clean rooms, Great service and wonderful people. This was definitely a needed stay since previous holiday inns we disappointing. This hotel reassured us that holiday inns are for our family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your awesome comments. We really enjoyed them. We do have a great staff throughout the building. I am glad that you were able to use one of our two kids suites. The bunk beds, and the whole concept of the kids suites have gone over great with the families that have had a chance to try them out. We are glad that you have found a home away from home in Lake George, and look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14801
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We REALLY enjoyed our stay here. I cannot think of one negative about the place. I would return in a heartbeat! The staff really seems to go out of their way to assist you.

We stayed in November, so the outdoor fireplace and the outdoor hot tub were a real novelty for us. They have a very nice indoor pool. Bigger than most with great 'atmosphere'.

Hats off to ALL of the staff that made our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the lake--highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for joining us. Your comments were much appreciated. Even in the winter, our outdoor firepit & the outdoor hot tub are utilized and enjoyed. Hopefully you will get a chance to return to Lake George in the furure.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a long weekend here a few weeks ago. The hotel itself is good (I guess very good for a Holiday Inn) with clean rooms and a good staff. The views of the lake are wonderful, and the hotel itself is walking distance to the lake and downtown. When you book, make sure you don't get the ground floor since the view is not as good and people will be walking right past your bedroom so you can't leave the curtains open. There is a gas station right next to the main entrance that has great prices on snacks, water and beer if you're in the mood and don't want to go to town.

Overall, and good choice if you're headed up the Lake George.

Room Tip: Get a lake view on the second or third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will say that Holiday Inn as a company is working very hard to get product consistancy throughout the entire brand. It is still work in progress, but they are heading in the right direction. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our staff.
I hope that you will join us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Based on an excellent stay last year ,we recommended this hotel for a mid way get together with friends from Canada. It was the right choice. Very friendly and efficient check in,clean comfortable rooms,excellent public spaces ,great views and plenty to do nearby made for a perfect weekend. Every staff member gave a sincere greeting and seemed happy to work there. The beds were very comfortable as well. Friday night dinner in the hotel restaurant featured acceptable food in a great atmosphere with a friendly and helpful staff.
Afternoon cookies and punch in the lobby is a nice touch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I appreciate your comments about our staff being friendly and sincere. I feel that we are, and am always happy to hear it from a guest.
Thank you as well for joining us in our dining room. We look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We checked in for a three night stay in late October. The spacious lobby provided a nice view of Lake George. A nice fire was burning in the fireplace. Check in was quick and efficient. Plenty of luggage carts were available for use. The room looked well organized and was very clean. Two complementary bottles of water were waiting for us upon arrival and were restocked each day.

The restaurant in the hotel served three meals each day that tasted home cooked not reheated. The pool was well cared for and towels were provided. We made use of the pool and restaurant each day. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant as well as one dinner. The prices were reasonable...very unusual for a restaurant in a hotel based on our experience.

We slept good all three nights and would difinitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for spending three nights with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our pool and our facilities. Our food is very good, and we get nice comments regularly. We do focus on a good value with our food and beverage outlets, and was happy to see your thoughts about that.

We are not that far from Western NY, I hope that you will visit us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.