We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Fort George G Mead Junction, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel stay ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. We got in late after a day of traveling (around 10pm). We had called ahead of time to see if there were rooms available. They had a room available and even upgraded us (we are IG gold members). They upgraded us to a kids suite which was amazing. We have an 18 month and 7 yr old and they loved it. They slept well which in turn we slept well. One of the ladies names was Courtney but I forget what the other lady's name was. They gave cookies and played with the little ones while my husband was getting the bags. Everything was perfect even the resturaunt was amazing. The service and the food. This will be our go to hotel from now on. Clean rooms, Great service and wonderful people. This was definitely a needed stay since previous holiday inns we disappointing. This hotel reassured us that holiday inns are for our family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your awesome comments. We really enjoyed them. We do have a great staff throughout the building. I am glad that you were able to use one of our two kids suites. The bunk beds, and the whole concept of the kids suites have gone over great with the families that have had a chance to try them out. We are glad that you have found a home away from home in Lake George, and look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    189
    39
    16
    7
See reviews for
327
113
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
14801
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We REALLY enjoyed our stay here. I cannot think of one negative about the place. I would return in a heartbeat! The staff really seems to go out of their way to assist you.

We stayed in November, so the outdoor fireplace and the outdoor hot tub were a real novelty for us. They have a very nice indoor pool. Bigger than most with great 'atmosphere'.

Hats off to ALL of the staff that made our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the lake--highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for joining us. Your comments were much appreciated. Even in the winter, our outdoor firepit & the outdoor hot tub are utilized and enjoyed. Hopefully you will get a chance to return to Lake George in the furure.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent a long weekend here a few weeks ago. The hotel itself is good (I guess very good for a Holiday Inn) with clean rooms and a good staff. The views of the lake are wonderful, and the hotel itself is walking distance to the lake and downtown. When you book, make sure you don't get the ground floor since the view is not as good and people will be walking right past your bedroom so you can't leave the curtains open. There is a gas station right next to the main entrance that has great prices on snacks, water and beer if you're in the mood and don't want to go to town.

Overall, and good choice if you're headed up the Lake George.

Room Tip: Get a lake view on the second or third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will say that Holiday Inn as a company is working very hard to get product consistancy throughout the entire brand. It is still work in progress, but they are heading in the right direction. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our staff.
I hope that you will join us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Based on an excellent stay last year ,we recommended this hotel for a mid way get together with friends from Canada. It was the right choice. Very friendly and efficient check in,clean comfortable rooms,excellent public spaces ,great views and plenty to do nearby made for a perfect weekend. Every staff member gave a sincere greeting and seemed happy to work there. The beds were very comfortable as well. Friday night dinner in the hotel restaurant featured acceptable food in a great atmosphere with a friendly and helpful staff.
Afternoon cookies and punch in the lobby is a nice touch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I appreciate your comments about our staff being friendly and sincere. I feel that we are, and am always happy to hear it from a guest.
Thank you as well for joining us in our dining room. We look forward to your return.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We checked in for a three night stay in late October. The spacious lobby provided a nice view of Lake George. A nice fire was burning in the fireplace. Check in was quick and efficient. Plenty of luggage carts were available for use. The room looked well organized and was very clean. Two complementary bottles of water were waiting for us upon arrival and were restocked each day.

The restaurant in the hotel served three meals each day that tasted home cooked not reheated. The pool was well cared for and towels were provided. We made use of the pool and restaurant each day. We had breakfast each morning in the restaurant as well as one dinner. The prices were reasonable...very unusual for a restaurant in a hotel based on our experience.

We slept good all three nights and would difinitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for spending three nights with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our pool and our facilities. Our food is very good, and we get nice comments regularly. We do focus on a good value with our food and beverage outlets, and was happy to see your thoughts about that.

We are not that far from Western NY, I hope that you will visit us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in October. We had a suite on the third floor with an amazing view of Lake George. Arrived at 11am and room was not ready, but they let us complete checkin so we just had to stop by later to pickup room key. Staff were all very pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable, nothing I could complain about. View from the balcony was worth every penny paid for room. There is a great pool outside, and indoor pool as well. We did not use either one. Fire pit on patio near restaurant, that they lit every night. Saturday night we watched fireworks from our balcony. We walked down main road to Octoberfest in village. It was quite a hike back up to hotel. We have previously stayed at another property and walked down bike path to Lake George. That was an easier walk, but you don't get the view of Lake at that hotel. There is a restaurant onsite for breakfast, lunch, dinner. We had Prime Rib special, was very good. We ate breakfast there both mornings, Sunday tried the buffet. Monday I tried a regular breakfast off menu. My husband had buffet both days and was satisfied. I did not get the wow factor either morning. This is my new favorite hotel in Lake George, and would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: If you request a room away from elevators, you may have quite a hike to your room. I would just say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments, and your review. The walk back here from the village is a little up hill which we do hear about. The views from our poolside suites are wonderful. We are very fortunate.
I am glad to hear that we have become your favorite Hotel in LG. That makes us happy.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Maine
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I'll start off by saying that I was a guest in late October so maybe the place is more Resort like in the Summer Season. It has a beautiful location an a hill overlooking the south end of Lake George and is right in the center of all of the attractions but when it gets cold the attractions start closing as do some of the offerings at this property.

The rooms are comfortable and if you want to see the lake you want an odd numbered room. The third floor has two room suites with a nice balcony overlooking the lake, the outdoor pool (closed at this time of year), and the gas fire pit. There is a nice big indoor pool that also has a year round outdoor hot tub which is really neat when it is cold and snowy out. They apparently have a dinner theater during the season but have never been there when it is active. The bar and restaurant are nice enough and seem to bring in the locals for happy hour and food specials.

On thing to be aware of is that there is only one elevator and it is located near the front desk and the lowest numbered rooms. If you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor in rooms in the 30's to 50's (quite a hike) you will want to unload your stuff at the main entrance and take them up to your room, and then go park in the back lot at doors 1, 2 (door 2 stairs do not go to the 3rd floor) or 3 where there are only stairs.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have balconies that face the lake. Even number rooms have windows that face the ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We definately offer additional resort activities during the warmer weather. I do appreciate your comments, and was glad to see that you liked our pool & hot tub. And yes, the "locals" absolutely love our lounge and our dining room. A second elevator would be nice. We do hear that from time to time.

I hope that you will be able to join us again. We apprecfiate your business.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.