We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel just short of a true resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Fulton, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel just short of a true resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have just returned from my stay in beautiful Lake George. Being that I have stayed at Holiday Inn's Orange Lake resort in Orlando, my expectations are very high for one of their hotels to consider themselves a resort. Very first class hotel with a resort feel but just shy of a resort stay. I must be honest with my review, there was an unfortunate event while I stayed there with a bunch of drunks from a wedding. They too were staying at the resort, with the groom assaulting the gentleman at the front desk . The Staff was greatly outnumbered with fights even amongst the group from the wedding. The police were called to settle the mess out. Through all of this I can not hold the hotel responsible. The staff got the drunks to bed even after being attacked and made arrangements to squeeze extra people into rooms to get them to sleep it off. Me personally would have evicted them allowing the county sheriff to give them a place to sleep in the county jail. It is a shame that a bunch of want to be thugs ruining the stay in a gorgeous place for people that have respect for others staying there. My hat goes off to the staff for their rough night that could have been avoided if people raise their kids better!

Room Tip: Check to see if a wedding party has booked a block of rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your visit. That was a challenging evening for us, and I appreciate you recognizing our staff. Hopefully you will be able to join us again in the future.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    200
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
341
123
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the fourth "Dinner Theatre" I have attended at the Holiday Inn Resort. My aunt is always so generous to treat us to this great lunch and show. We have only attended the lunch shows, but I heard the dinner was just as good.
Service was great from staff of hotel. Food was great with choices of Salmon, Chicken, Beef or Pasta.
All of the plays we have seen were great. A great evening or lunch out!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your note re: Dinner Theater. We are finishing up the season this Saturday, and look forward to the 44th season next year. See you then.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Smoky Mountains, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful view to wake up to. Rooms were very nice, clean and a very quiet comfortable sleep things for everyone, pool, jacuzzi, play area for kids with slide and swings, shuffle board, putting green and beautifully kept grounds. Staff was nice, bar and restaurant with good prices. Only draw back was only one elevator and long walks to rooms at the other end (or take the stairs up which wasn't bad unless you have lots of luggage and kids -which I had neither). You cant beat it for the price, we were pleasantly surprised. Keurig coffee makers in the room was a plus with different choices of coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your note. The one elevator can be tough sometimes. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love our view and our location too. Hopefully, we will see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went there with my three sisters to celebrate our mom's 85 birthday and Lake George was one of the places on her bucket list. We had a wonderful time at this Holiday Inn, they had everything you would need. Indoor and outdoor pools along with mini golf and playground for the kids. The staff was wonderful, Wendy and Amanda in the restaurant were the best! Food was good too, we had the breakfast plan, you could order off the menu that had a great variety to choose from and on weekends a buffet.The staff at check in were quick and efficient along with wonderful warm cookies they put out in the late afternoon, yum. The rooms and attendants were great too. We had a room on the first floor and a one bedroom suite on the third floor. They were spacious and spotless.This hotel is one of the few that actually gives you free bottles of water! Housekeeping was there to give us an extra blanket, towels, or coffee pods for the Keurig. It was up on a hill that had beautiful views of the lake was right down the street from the village and only a few miles from the oulets. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. I am happy that you choose us as a place to celebrate mom's birthday. Thank you as well for mentioning our staff members. We look forward to seeing you again for birthday # 86.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Even though we stayed only the one night, this place has all you need to make it a one-stop destination. Rooms/beds were very comfortable. The hotel has one of the best indoor hotel pools I have ever seen....also has an outdoor one. The on site restaurant is handy. Would definitely return there and highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We do get nice comments about our beds. We use Simmons Beautyrest. We hope that you will consider joining us in the future.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We only stayed here one night, and arrived late and left early so didn't get much chance to enjoy the amenities. The rooms were nice, and the 'towel art' on the bed welcoming us was a nice touch. The view from the bar and lobby was stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your quick visit. Our view is outstanding. We are very fortunate to be able to enjoy it every day.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our experience with the front desk and with our specific room was a little mixed; first they assigned us to the room next to the elevator and across from the stairway. When we heard how loud it was (it's a major family hotel so there were kids constantly running by) and asked for a switch we found there were tons of rooms left available; it irks me when the front desk agent places you in a low value room when there are still other rooms left - especially when I have a loyalty card for their brand. They did switch us but I don't know why they would ever give that room out except as a last resort.

The room was ok; again modern and clean, but: (1) the safe was broken, (2) the coffee maker was broken, (3) when we pulled out the couch for our son (at 10 PM) it was just a bare mattress with no sheets or mattress cover and when we called for housekeeping it took 30 minutes for them to bring us sheets (no mattress pad) that were clearly not clean - they still had some dark hairs on them. Totally gross. Finally, (4) the air conditioning unit was outrageously loud - like an alarm clock going off all night long.

Lobby and remainder of facilities are new, modern and clean. Pool is very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I was sorry to read about some of your concerns, but also appreciate your mentioning your positive experiences as well. Our rooms should be 100% ready for you when you check in. We were clearly not ready for you to that extent. Please consider joining us again. We would enjoy having you back for a second chance.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.