We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise winter overnight at the Lake George Holiday Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Lake George, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Surprise winter overnight at the Lake George Holiday Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We live in Lake George NY and in Ajijic Mexico.....and made an unexpected Winter trip back to Lake George---- and could not get back to our Mountain home due to a snow storm. We frequently go to their bar that has wonderful free happy hour food---wings on Wed, Tacos on Tues, chicken fingers on Saturday, etc...and best of all Bartender BOB. Excellent mixologist, makes everyone feel at home and always a smile. The guest rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds, immaculate rooms and fresh bakes cookies in the Lobby. We were lucky to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    200
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
341
123
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to Lake George for a short spring getaway, and stayed here for a night. The hotel was beautiful. The grounds and rooms were very clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Ended up staying an extra night here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice note on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you liked us, and very glad that you stayed the extra night. We look forward to having you join us again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first visit to Lake George and, quite frankly, I could not have been happier with our choice for accommodations! It's so difficult to choose a resort/hotel blindly, not knowing if the location is ideal, if the rooms will be nice, what service is like, etc. This Holiday Inn did not disappoint!

I will throw out my two negatives:
1) I don't love that the 2nd room for the King / lakeview suites is in the "front" of the room (meaning, the room adjacent to the door to the hallway). I’m not suggesting there is a BETTER alternative, but I just prefer suites that have an adjacent room off of the bedroom or the living space. Why? Well, this leads me to issue #2:

2) The noise in the hallway was awful. This isn’t resort specific so I can’t really fault the Holiday Inn for this but I don’t recall ever experiencing so much noise at a resort/hotel before. I have no idea why guests feel like it’s ok to slam doors at 10pm at a family resort but they do. Repeatedly. Over and over and over again. I was shocked that our son slept through it as well as he did (he woke up and once WE woke up because the slam was so loud that we were certain it was our OWN door and we went running into our son’s room). People really lack tact and courtesy sometimes. We did all we could to keep our son from yelling in the hallway and even in our room. But even those efforts were during the day, not at 10pm at night at a FAMILY resort.

Those were the only two real negatives.

I'll also say - the a/c unit in the bedroom is LOUD. We didn't realize how loud until we shut it off but wow... it is quite noisy. But it did the job so ...

Frankly, the resort is great. It’s about ½-3/4 of a mile from the shopping/village in Lake George and maybe 5 miles from Six Flags (just to give you a point of reference should you desire one). You can surely walk to the shopping/restaurants/beaches in The Village from here. It’s also next door to a bowling alley which is kind of great for the kids (especially off season like it was when we traveled. FYI – it was about $15 for 2 people to bowl 1 string & rent shoes there).

The resort has a cute little playground that our toddler son loved as well as a very nice basketball court. They also have a large chess board & shuffleboard. The outdoor pools were not open (this was April, after all) but the area for the pools was quite lovely and well kept. I’m sure it’s a nice outdoor area to enjoy in the summer months! We didn’t use the indoor pool or arcade room but we heard they were also very nice.

The staff at the resort were nice – surely accommodating but really, nothing over the top “wow.” They were friendly and courteous and exactly what you would hope for. Our room was very clean and quite nice (king suite with lake view). The views were definitely worth the price. Ask for the 3rd floor if you can, these are the best views in this 3 story hotel. You’ll also have a nice view of the sunrise in the morning.

If you’re not sure if Lake George will be great off season (we weren’t sure), it really isn’t that spectacular off season. We could surely see the potential for the peak season – so much to do for adults & kids alike. No lake tours/boat rides in April (such a shame since we had a 70 degree day to enjoy!). No beaches open, of course, but many of the stores were open on Saturday (not so many on Friday despite the beautiful weather). There were a couple of arcades open which were fun & the wax museum was open on Saturday (my husband enjoyed that solo, definitely NOT small child appropriate). Have pizza at Capri Pizzeria in The Village. We are still raving at how delicious their pizza was!

The restaurant at the Holiday Inn (TJ’s) was very good! We had two dinners there and one breakfast. Great service (actually, I’d say excellent), and the food was delicious! We did wish the menu was a little more diverse (very limited, IMO) but it was still good and there was something for each of us to choose from despite our very basic & picky tastes! My husband raved about the burger & the steak wrap and I really enjoyed their Chicken Parm (enormous portion, be ready to pack some to go), and their teriyaki chicken sandwich. Breakfast was equally good and very reasonably priced as well. Consider hitting up the restaurant because I doubt you would be disappointed (it’s also very family friendly as well despite first impressions).

Anyway, we’re rather certain we will stay here again if we come back during the summer months. We considered another popular resort in Bolton Landing but after visiting while taking a little drive, we were glad we chose the Holiday Inn! Much nicer location for a family trip.

Room Tip: 3rd floor lake view rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
First of all, we loved your review, and appreciate the time that you took to write it. Our staff really enjoys first time visitors as it gives us a chance to make new friends. Your mention of the hallway activity is understood, and it is an issue that we have really been working on. We have implemented quiet time after 10:00pm, and it has helped. We will continue to address that. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Resort, and our dining room. I hope that you will join us again, perhaps when the weather gets a little better. Thank you again for your note.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went last summer for three days and had a wonderful time! It is a very kid friendly place, clean and a great staff. We can't wait to go back this year. We are looking forward to it. (and we will be staying longer this time around)

Room Tip: room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We look forward to seeing you & your family return this summer.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great location overlooking the lake. Friendly, caring staff.well appointed rooms,wonderful food and a friendly, cozy bar and lounge adds up to almost perfect. Anytime of the year you can count on this great resort to deliver whether on business or pleasure. Friday night seafood buffet a must. Great happy hours and many activities for the children as well. Great outdoor fire pit and terrace in the warmer months. You"ll love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We do try to appeal to both the business traveler, local customers, and of course families. It seems to have worked. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable! The pool was clean and fun for the kids to play in.

I could not be happier with a hotel stay. I would have liked to stay longer. I just wish I noticed the hot tub sooner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the note.
We are sorry that you did not see the hot tub sooner. The hot tub is outside, and is open all year. We hope to see you in the future.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've been traveling to the Lake George region for over 30 years about ten years ago we stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort and we have been coming back each year, sometimes twice a year to this Resort. We highly recommend the Holiday Inn Resort if you want location, restaurants and cleanliness. This is the only place we will stay in the Lake George region. It is a little pricey but you can not ask for better service and comfort. Great management and staff!
Great place to take kids or just enjoy a weekend away at any time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to keep our property clean, and always try to offer excellent value. Your support and your loyalty are appreciated.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.