We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Diamond Point, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As a year-round resident of Lake George, New York I normally wouldn't think of staying at a Lake George Resort. As a regular customer of TR's Restaurant and Lounge I am aware of the quality at the Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Turf. On 16 December 2012 circumstances dictated I would get a room at the Holiday Inn. Jessica at the front desk did a great job getting me situated in a room. My room was outstanding with all the amenities one could want. I totally enjoyed my overnight stay. General Manager Michael Spilman does a fantastic job. The entire staff is first class as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your very nice note. We were glad to have the opportunity to host you for an overnight stay. We appreciate your patronage and your support.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    206
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
354
130
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice and very comfy hotel, just be aware that some services are not provided when not in high season. Like outdoor SPA not used Monday to Friday, Kid's play room closed because not enough personnel when not on high season. At least that is what we were told when we wanted to use the kid's play room to spend time with my kids who are 2 and 4 and actually is one of the reasons when we had chosen this hotel.
Breakfast at the restaurant could be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your note, and for staying with us this month. It is a quieter atmosphere during the non summer season, and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with that. Our hot tub is available during the week, but we open it upon request. The same situation applies to our children's activity room. I am very sorry that we did not communicate that to you and your family.

Please feel free to contact me directly, if you would like to join us again.

Thank you.

Michael S./GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent a night in this hotel as it was on my route during a trip. Smooth easy check in and courteous happy staff. the room was well equipped with a fridge, microwave and HDTV (With an actual HD signal!) and memory foam mattress. The bathroom sink had spots on the front of it from an "encounter" of some sort (if you catch my drift) and the floors in the bathroom could have been cleaner. there was dust in all of the standard hard to reach/infrequently used places and power outlets are not easily accessible if you are a business traveler with many gadgets.

it seems as the town is a seasonal attraction and even the local McDonald's was closed.

Would and probably will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. I will review this with our housekeeping team.
It definately slows down here in the winter. But we are here all year round, and do enjoy company during the off season.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We visit this Holiday Inn resort twice per year, every year - once in the summer and once in the winter. I've stayed at many places in the Lake George area and this place is my favorite. It is simply fantastic. First, it's much more robust than a traditional Holiday Inn - this is a true resort. Tons of amenities and a friendly, helpful staff. I've looked at other resorts in the area and this is the best.

During the winter we enjoy the indoor pool. hot tub, gameroom and loads of kids' activities. We spend the week between Christmas and New Years' here and we love watching the NYE fireworks over the lake from our room balcony. They usually offer face paitning, balloon-makers, etc. for the kids that week. In the summer the outdoor pool and grounds are beautiful.

The location is perfect - it's right on the strip and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We usually stay in a suite which easily fits a family of 5. If you're staying there for a few da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for the kind words. We ar getting ready for NYE weekend again, and will be once again catering to families. We have some new events to go along with Joey D. the balloon artist and John and his magic show for this year. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Girls weekend - I thought I had reserved a 2 room suite - come to find out I had reserved a 2 bedroom suite - it was HUGE - seriously, bigger than some NYC apartments - I actually went back down to the front desk just to make sure that they had the right room - they did...2 bedrooms, 1 1/2 bathrooms, full kitchen (without a range) with breakfast bar, giant living room and very large balcony that ran from the living room to the bedroom - all this for only $204/night!!! I can't imagine what it runs for in full season but it was a heck of a deal. The staff were all very nice (especially when I locked myself out of the room within 5 minutes of being there); all the common areas were clean and comfortable; the pool area was very large, however, we didn't get to experience it. There was a teenaged birthday party going on - not conducive to relaxation for us old folks. Am not a big fan of the pillows but that's because I'm used to mine and should have brought it with me. But it was very quiet in the hotel. The shower was full strength and they have bath and body works products which I love.

Don't eat at the restaurant - see my tripadisor review. They do roll up the streets in LG after summer and before the winter sports season kicks in but the resort really had all we needed. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. That is a very nice suite, and I am glad that you enjoyed it. We are alive and well all year long, however things do slow down in the village between seasons.
I will look for your other review of our Dining Room. We hope to see you again.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec (CANADA)
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

When we first arrived we were given a DISGUSTING room on the ground floor. It was covered in shad flies all over the wall and ceiling. We called the front desk right away and the manager insisted there were no other rooms (and my husband is a platinum member). The manager told us he would call around to see if there was another hotel for us. We were on a family trip as my mom had passed away and we planned this trip as a tribute to my mom and my brothers and I came from three different cities.

After much arguing the manager found us another room and it was clean. Once we changed rooms our experience was very pleasant. The new room was very nice and the restaurant food is very good.

The location is good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your note, and for staying with us. After a tough start, I am glad to hear that you had a good visit. We hope that you will consider coming back to Lake George next summer.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurlock, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Called GMgr to get tickets to last comic show on Oct 21, 2012 . Show was sold out. He managed to get me in . so very grateful ! Had a broken foot and still on crutches . This hotel is full service
And I have to say the service was grand for an older Holliday Inn. Every thing has been renovated.
Service was impeccable . Rooms were very clean and neat . Ordered coffee it was there in 10 mins.. Breakfast Buffett was great but I ordered off menu and that was very good , and
affordable. I can say the staff was respectable and very helpful throu out my stay as was management . That was a very enjoyable place to be and relax. Beds were like heaven!
Stay was 2 nights. Loved it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the Dinner Theater. They wrapped up another successful season, and we look forward to season # 46 next year. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff. We have a great group of people working here. Simmons Beautyrest/Westbury mattresses. Our guests love them.

Michael/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.