We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fine experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Diamond Point, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a fine experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have been a resident of Lake George for over 52 years. It is so nice to have a nice place to go relax with my friends and acquaintances, enjoy my favoriate beverage as well as good food. Bob, Agnes along with supporting staff at times make my time spent in the lounge a very pleasurable experience. I have dined in TR's Restaurant many times for breakfast as well as dinners. The service is excellent, the food is very good as well as being reasonably priced. I am very satisfied with TR'S Restaurant and Lounge. Please keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you so much for writing about your experience with us! We believe so strongly in reaching out to our local community and are happy that you are pleased! I will extend your kind words to Bob, Agnes and the entire staff of LG's lounge and TR's restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    207
    40
    17
    9
See reviews for
352
128
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is our third stay at this hotel and we'll go back again. The public areas have been updated and they have added an additional fireplace. The fire pit outside is great, the pool area w/waterfall and outdoor hot tub are perfect for the cold nights. The rooms could use a little updating with the heat/air conditioning, but the beds are super comfortable. The staff couldn't be nicer and they welcome you with fresh cookies and drinks. On site restaurant and bar are good. Nearby attractions include a bowling alley next door, ice rink across the street and outlet shopping less than 5 miles away. Lake is across the road a bit, but not too far.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed all of our renovations! We are constantly trying to make our guests' experience as enjoyable as it can be. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We were supposed to stay 3 nights and we left after the first night. Staff rude unpleasant terrible rooms dirty, terrible food, mean staff worse hotel ever do not recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with us. If you would like to discuss more specifics, please email our Vice-President, Brian Straughter at bstraughter@turfhotels.com. As you can tell by our other reviews, your experience is very out of the norm and we would be happy to discuss further with you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I was upgraded to a nice large suite with an amazing view of Lake George.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you so much for giving us 5 stars across the board! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to upgrade when we can! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were here for a hockey tournament, so this was a "have to go" situation. Lake George in the winter is an interesting experience by itself. Most of what is there is seasonal and closed in January. Having taken a close look at what's there, I am confident that there is no better place to stay than this Holiday Inn. You may think (as I did) that their prices are high for mid-winter in the middle of nowhere, with little or no occupancy. But the other choices for only slightly less money are well below this hotel in quality. Well below.

We reserved the Holiday Inn expecting ... well, a Holiday Inn. But this place is so much better. It is new, or at least recently renovated. It is very comfortable and inviting. The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in over many recent hotel stays. They serve freshly baked cookies in the afternoon in the lobby, together with hot chocolate and peppermint schnapps if you are so inclined! There is an indoor pool and an outdoor hot tub. One thing that's important to me in a hotel is cleanliness, and this place lives up to my standards very nicely.

The very reasonably priced lakeview suites give you a gorgeous view of Lake George. The staff is also friendly and attentive. They cheerfully gave us a late checkout 2 hours past the normal checkout time.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a Poolview balcony 2 Queen Beds. The view of the lake was nice and the room was plenty big for 4 of us, including two kids. Restaurant was great, pool was good, hot tub was great. We had a good time.

Room Tip: Poolview balcony gives view of the lake also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for New Year's and thought the hotel was GREAT. Kudos to Mike the GM and staff. Beautiful facility. The room was spacious, the restaurant was very reasonable, the bar was great. Bob the bartender was terrific. The pool was a good size and warm enough and had a very nice outdoor hot tub. The hotel did a very good job entertaining kids for the New Year (although we didn't have any kids, our friends did). Didn't really like them running around the hallways but we lived with it. The view of the lake was amazing. You also have a choice of pillows!!!
Very convenient to everywhere.No valet parking charges, easy parking, a refrigerator in the room, great bed, a very good safe.......so the bathroom was just a little small.......a very good hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.