We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel, central location, families with school aged kids will really like it, but a bit pricey for the value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great family hotel, central location, families with school aged kids will really like it, but a bit pricey for the value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We liked the hotel, in particular the pool-side movies and outdoor firepit. The concierge was very good with the recommendations for dinner. Go to the Le Roux? restaurant on route 104? for an excellent gourmet meal, but be prepared to spend $. The other restaurants adjacent to the lake that we visited had typical Applebees type food and the downtown strip (Canada Street) is a little honky-tonk for my liking. The main beach at the southern edge of Lake George is called the "Million Dollar Beach". The facilities are very nice and clean, but the beach itself was small and rather dirty. I guess I might have been expecting too much. This is a god family spot, but you need ti take advantage if the water sports and hiking to really make it worthwhile. Otherwise, it's not mih different than lots of other touristy lake spots in the northeast US. Avoid Six Flags on crowded days, you'll be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Resort. The dive-in movies are very popular and help us stand apart from the other hotels in the area. I am glad that Carolyn, our concierge was able to help you and will pass along the compliment! If you return to Lake George, I hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    208
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
359
132
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

When I first booked this hotel I was a little concerned because we were paying Intercontinenal prices, but after a 4 night stay(the last one without power due to Irene) there is a lot to like about this hotel and only minor complains. The rooms are great and the on site resturant was surprisingly good. This hotel is very kid friendly, The pools were great and having activies for my 7 year old was nice. The attitude in the Kid's Room by a staffer was a little uninviting, but I am chaulking that up to the storm. On one evening we had a group next to us who smoked out on their balcony, which made us close our balcony door.After searching for reasons not to like this hotel, I came up empty. I would stay agian..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even with Hurricane Irene! I apologize that our activity room staff as uninviting as our hope is to create a fun space for you child to enjoy vacation too! I am also sorry to hear that there were smokers next door to you. We are a non-smoking property so people are only supposed to smoke in specially designated areas. We do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very nice Holiday Inn Resort. Spacious rooms, friendly staff, good amenities. It's about a 1/2 mile to 3/4 mile walk to the Lake and Village, but not bad. Would've loved it if it had been directly on the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. While we aren't right on the lake, we do offer a nice view which I hope you were able to enjoy! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood-Ridge, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Great hotel with a great staff! Clearly well managed. Hurricane Irene arrived on the second night of our family vacation and the entire village lost power for about a day. We were prepared and brought candles and flashlights, so it was quite an adventure for my kids, but my wife didn't want to chance a second consecutive night with no power, so we checked out early to move to the Sleep Inn a few miles south, where there was power. What a mistake! One night down there, power was restored in Lake George, and we moved right back into the Holiday Inn, where we were gladly welcomed back. My family loved the entire proprty as well as the view of and proximity to Lake George. The restaurant is also very good. I wouldn't change a thing about this hotel and will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. Hurricane Irene certainly caused some problems in our area but I am glad you were able to return to us and enjoy your stay. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Fabulous location over looking beautiful Lake George. Two pools, hot tub, sauna, exercise and game room, putting area, shuffle board and childrens playground. Wonderful Dinner Show Theater. Great restaurant and bar. Extensive use of natural cut stone which include two elegant fireplaces an outdoor fire pit and a waterfall by the indoor pool. Complimentary drinks and appetizers twice a week and free coffee in AM. Clean, manicured grounds. Clean rooms with courteous staff. General Manager Michael Stillman walks the grounds several times a day and hosts the appetizers. Concierge Carolyn Brown was very knowledgeable and helped us plan and locate area attractions. A great place to vacation everything is there!
Armand and Maria Aubey
Manchester , Ct

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the outdoor pool. These rooms have a great view of the lake and night fire w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been renovating the hotel over the last few winters and will be doing the restaurant area next. Thank you for noticing the work we have done to make it the best we can for our guests. I will be passing along your compliments to Michael and Carolyn as well as the rest of the staff. It is always great to hear that the work they do is appreciated! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Went to the Holiday Inn for a long weekend with my kids. Lake George is one of our favorite destinations but we decided to switch it up and go to the Holiday Inn. We sent our kids to the hotels "children program" and all i have to say is wow, what a horrible experience they had. The women's name who was running it was named courtney. She was very disorganized, rude and showed our kids no respect. Would never go there again for that program. Warning all parents who want to actually show there kids a good time not to go back there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that your children's experience with the activity program was so negative. We have typically heard positive feedback regarding Courtney and other staff so I am disappointed to hear otherwise. We will certainly share your feedback at our next staff meeting so that this doesn't happen again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagamore beach
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This Holiday Inn has more fun things going on than many I have stayed at.
They have indoor and outdoor pools,, nighttime out door fire to sit around, shuffle board,
Outdoor movies were shown near the pool!,, putting green and Huge outdoor chess set.
The suite we stayed in was clean and well appointed. and they also have a "dinner theatre" at night
All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and all of our activities. We have added many family options over the last couple of years so that both adults and children can enjoy their vacation! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.