We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Lake George to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Jersey City, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Lake George. The best thing is the service and it is top notch. From the welcome drinks as we waited to check in to the prompt response to our requests for toiletries and such, the service couldn’t have been more prompt and courteous. The room itself was spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and a flat screen tv. Pillows were identified as firm and soft. Our room did not have a view but there are many rooms in the property that overlook the lake. The indoor pool and the hot tub is great for relaxing after an active day. There were a lot of families with kids and appeared there were many activities geared towards engaging them through the day. Location is quite close to the lake (about 10 min walk) and the village center. Wish there was a real continuous sidewalk to walk there though- we have to walk on the shoulder of roadway on one side. The grounds are well kept and clean. Breakfast was decent though the pancakes seemed like they were frozen type. We would definitely recommend this place, especially for groups or families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with the an enjoyable getaway! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    200
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
341
123
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011 via mobile

This is the fifth year in a row that we have brought our grandchildren to this Holiday Inn, and we will be back next year. The rooms are great, the staff is great,, the food is good and not terribly expensive. The activities for the kids are very good. The facilities are excellent! As others have said, for the first time this year, I noticed that housekeeping was not so good, but it was not awful. Our grandaughter is 13 now, and there was not a lot for her to do, but I am not sure how a hotel could deal with teens well. All in all it suits us well!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your repeat business! We love our customers and love when they keep coming back! Please accept our apologies that housekeeping was not as good as in the past and know that we will be working on this immediately. We look forward to seeing you back for a sixth year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

small elastics from braces remained under easy chair during our entire stay from Sunday to Friday

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Please accept our apologies that we did not do a better job with your room. We aim to have a very high standard for cleanliness and are sorry that we fell short. Thank you for sharing your issue with us as this feedback helps make us better. I do hope you will come back and give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

First of all i want to mention that this hotel is great from the top to the bottom. my family and i were supposed to go the 1st-3rd but due to an illness in our family we called and tried to shift our reservations to the 2nd-4th. they did that for us which i thought was very nice and a sign of a very accommodating hotel. the food is excellent , the pool is very clean and the rooms are perfect. all of the hotel employees are extremely nice and friendly. it is very rare that you get a combination of all that i have mentioned so if you are considering staying in lake george trust me when i tell you that this is the place to go. we will go back again and only to the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for posting such a great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience all we have to offer. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

First time in lake george and as always, I look for a Holiday Inn first. We found a gem in the Holiday Inn Lake george. From the moment we arrived, we noticed the grounds of the hotel were very well kept. The outside of the Hotel was also the same. As we walked in the front lobby, a beautiful fireplace and friendly staff greeted us. I was immpressed from the start. We arrived early , around 12:45 and check in wasn't until 3 or 4 so i was hoping we could get our room early. The young lady at the front desk checked and our room was ready, so no problem . We went right to our room and we were pleasently surprised, our room was just as clean and cosy as the rest of the place. The manager always seemed to be around, greating people and checking the grounds. He was on the job. We were greated that night poolside with free drinks and food compliments of the hotel. Long story short, qwe had a terrific stay, and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Lake George.. Great pools and hot tub too !! close to town..

Room Tip: room 231 had a nice balcony and view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so thrilled that you and your family had such a great stay with us! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and 3 yr old son stayed at the Holiday Inn the last week of June. We loved the resort and will definitely come back again. Here is what you can expect:
1. Indoor and outdoor heated pools and a hot tub. Also a kiddy pool.
2. The hotel was very clean and the service was very friendly
3. Ther is a outdoor playground, basketball court, putting green, and shuffle board.
4. There are a lot of kids activities planned through out the day. (arts and crafts, games, etc.)
5. The restaurant and bar are reasonably priced and kids eat free! The food was very good.
6. The location is on a busy road but it's 2 only minutes away from dowtown Lake George.
7. There are a good amount of attractions nearby, such as amusement parks, horseback riding, minature golf, shopping, movie theaters, and arcades. This is a very fun vacation for kids.

My only complaint is there was not enough shade by the pool. There were some umbrellas by the pool area, but not enough. On nice days all the chairs get taken early so next time we might take beach chairs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you so much for writing a review! We are so happy that your family enjoyed your stay with us. We will also work on making more shady space available by the pool - it sure does get hot out there! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We had a comfortable kids suite, probably with the best view in the resort. My kids loved their room, it had crayons and activity books and DVDs. The hotel is a great base for exploring the Lake George area. However the term resort suggests that one would be able to have a great relaxing time without stepping out of the property, and that does not hold true for this hotel. For example, management claimed that both indoor and outdoor pools were heated to 85F, they were not - the water was very cold. When we brought this to the front desk's attention, they said they would have someone look into it. However the water remained cold during our entire 3 day stay.
The decor is typical holiday inn, and lacks style. Other factors unfortunately do not compensate.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hstraughter, Owner at Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. We are thrilled your family enjoyed the kid's suite - it is very popular! I am sorry you did not think that we live up to the resort name. We aim to do so with a full schedule of kid's activities, manager receptions and evening activities ("dive in movies", pajama jams, etc.). Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Lake George

Address: 2223 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lake George
#2 Family Hotel in Lake George
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit our newly renovated hotel located in the heart of Lake George nestled in the Adirondack Mountains. Our Holiday Inn offers some of the most gracious accommodations in the Lake George area. We are a short walk to the Village of Lake George and all of its local attractions. We offer breath-taking views of the lake and mountains from our front door as well as from many of our guest rooms. Each well appointed spacious guest room and suite offers complimentary high-speed Internet access, 32 inch plasma TVs, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and all the extra amenities you've come to expect from an upscale hotel. Our guests will enjoy the many activities and amenities our hotel has to offer including a heated indoor and out door pool and kiddies pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna, fitness center and game room. Outdoor activities including a basketball court, playground, shuffleboard, putting green, and chessboard. Coming this summer - Holiday Inn Resort, which also brings scheduled activities for children, outdoor big screen movies, concierge services and a kids' activity center. Whether enjoying a leisure stay or a business trip a friendly and knowledgeable staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. The Lake George Holiday Inn is conveniently located just off exit 21 of the Adirondack Northway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George Hotel Lake George
Holiday Inn Lake George
Lake George Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.