We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick weekend away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   384 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 Resort Credit!
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quick weekend away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Georgian. Both times, the staff were friendly and helpful. Within walking distance to just about everything in the Village of Lake George. Hope to go back next month. Some work was being done, however, the winter is the only time they can do it, and it did not interfere with our stay at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Peggy,

Thank you so much for the great reviews. It is nice to know that our staff is doing a great job. I am so glad that all the work we are doing to improve our resort did not interfer with your stay with us. We do look forward to having you visit us next month, and hopefully we will have a lot of this work completed by then. Thank you for being a loyal guest.

Best Regards,
Sandy Carr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    163
    99
    50
    53
See reviews for
197
143
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Nyack, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first trip away from our children in 5yrs. We picked the Georgian due to its rating. First the staff were extremely kind and helpful. They followed through on some of our requests to ensure they have been done. The room was clean and spacious. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, but you can't aways get the comfort of your own bed, anywhere you may go. We went to Giovanni's for dinner, which was right in the parking lot. The views were amazing. Construction was going on but none of it interrupted our stay. I look forward to visiting again this summer with the kids and see the updates they make. Thanks so much for a great stay!

Room Tip: Our room was in the front of the parking lot, it didnt make a difference any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Melissa G,

Thank you for your great reviews here on Trip Advisor, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. I am so happy that our staff took good care of you. I do apologize for the beds not being comfortable, but as you could see we do have a lot of construction going on and we are in the process of renovating 45 rooms in our courtyard area and they will have new beds also. So we hope you will be able to get away again and even bring the kids with you next time and enjoy our great Georgian Resort again. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank You,
Sandy Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here to visit the Great Escape indoor waterpark. The price is great but there were a few things to improve. The bed is springy so if you are used to a firm mattress it will be a long night. Also the tub faucet is hard to maneuver and leaked all night. The lobby was very nice and so was the front desk staff. Hotel is on the water but we stated in a room looking at the parking lot for a lower fare. This hotel is a nice alternative to pricey holiday inn and was clean with no trace of cigarette smell. The wifi and cable worked great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mama Jennie,

Thank you for taking the time to post our review on Trip Advisor and for the great reviews. We appreciate your your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Thank You,
Sandy Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our weekend stay and loved this motel! It was clean and the service was beyond our expectations. The king room was huge . The bathrooms had a heater to warm up the chilly tile floor and the king beds were super soft and comfy . Overall a great weekend and already planning our summer trip .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mike 1621,

Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We are so happy that we were able to make your little getaway enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you this summer.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

They are renovating this property - and we were upgraded to a newly renovated room overlooking the lake - it is during the Winterfest - the location was perfect where you could walk to Duffy's where all the activities were taking place. It will be amazing when it is complete. The staff was exceptionally friendly - especially in the dining room where the buffet breakfast was very good as well as the Dinner buffet. Room 212 is outside the pool with a nice lake view and a tremendous in-room jacuzzi - We'll definitely return with the family in the summer -

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Cgra777,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor. I would also like to thank you for your great review. I will let our dining room staff know what a great job they had done, Recognition for a job well done can go a long way. We look forward to having you stay with us this summer when all our construction is done.

Thank You,
Sandy Carr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our children surprised us with a getaway vacation to the Lake George area for our anniversary. The Georgian resort's website seemed nice, and they chose a "courtyard view" room, but that turned out to be a room with no view at all !! Another major problem was that parking at this resort was "hit or miss" with no reserved spots for paying guests. To further complicate matters, this resort rents out their banquet facilities for weddings and other functions. Following a short day trip, we returned to our room only to discover that the wedding guests had taken all available parking places, leaving no where for us to park. There was additional parking underground, but all those spots were also taken. After waiting almost a hour an underground spot finally became available, but what a mistake that was to park our car there !!! When we returned to our car in the underground garage, we found it covered with bird droppings and the interior of our car had picked up the dank, musty smell that permeated the underground garage. About the only pleasant thing about this resort was its convenient location to downtown Lake george, and the reasonable cleanliness of the room. When we checked out I voiced my disappoint to the staff, but they couldn't even offer a simple "I'm sorry". Days later, I followed up my disappointment with a letter to the management , but never received any sort of reply whatsoever...apparently they didn't care to have us back. I followed that letter up with a second written communication a month later, and that was also totally ignored. The courtesy of a simple reply or at least an acknowledgement of my correspondence was the very least that I expected, but it never happened. Family and friends will certainly be returning to enjoy the beauty of the Lake George area, but will stay far away from the Georgian, its shortcomings, and unprofessional staff and management.

Room Tip: Beware....parking a major problem...rooms without a view....underground garage has horrible smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Harvey K,

We are very disappointed in learning that we did not meet your expectations. We thank you for directing us to the specific areas that may require our attention. We can assure you that your feedback will be shared with the appropriate departments. I sincerely apologize for our staff not responding to your situation and please be assured this will not happen again. As of November 2013 we had a new General Manager join our staff and we know that situations like yours will be addressed in a timely manner.

My Sincerest Apologies
Sandy Carr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were just looking for a weekend away from the hustle and bustle of life and we got exactly what we were looking for. It was a quiet, clean, comfortable room...and it was huge! Not your regular knockoff hotel/motel room. It was just that much nicer and exactly what we needed. There were beautiful plush capets, a king sized bed with crisp white bedding, and LG TV which is funny b/c it's the only brand we own. Showers were hot, towels were plentiful. Their resturant had a geat breakfast buffet and even better dinner at a fair price and the waitstaff was a pleasure. Lake George itself is a fun town to visit, always seeming to have different events every time of the year, and we always happen to catch fireworks whenever we are their; which make it special. We will definately visit the Georgian again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Angela L.

Thank you for your fantastic review on comfortable stay with us!. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our clean accomodation. We are so happy that you were able to take advanatge of our Giovanna's Restaurant for your breakfast and dinner. Thank you for sharing so many great details about your stay. We hope you will return to enjoy another comfortable and emorable experience with us soon.

Thank You,
Sandy Carr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Address: 384 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.