We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept older Resort in Heart of Town and on the LAKE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Georgian Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   384 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10 Resort Credit!
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Massapequa N.Y.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well kept older Resort in Heart of Town and on the LAKE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and found it comfortable at that time. Since then the decor has been updated. The bedding is very modern and comfortable. The resort is old but is kept well and is nicely located on Lake George with a large heated pool and a sandy beach. We did not have dinner here but we did have breakfast in the dining room. The service was good, the food well prepared and the view was lovely, reminding us of dining on a cruise ship. We were pleased with our stay and will return.

Room Tip: Most rooms are in the courtyard with no view. We were poolside with a view of the pool and lake whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    163
    99
    50
    53
See reviews for
197
143
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went to Lake George for our weekend getaway at the end of the summer (last weekend). When you first arrive the view of the hotel is more motel-ish with the way it is built however the back of the hotel is simply amazing. Beautiful views. It basically provided what we needed, since we did not need much. Would probably visit again if I am not expecting high class.

Check out Chic's or DJ's for some boating and nighttime fun!

Room Tip: Ask to have AC turned ON for the day of check-in, room gets uncomfortably hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

CAR show weekend and the parking lot problem started as soon as we were unpacking , they should have security in the lot helping out..... the tension runs high.... our room we have every year the carpeting is in need to be changed so bad we do not walk bearfooted in the room. and friends that travel together and have rooms together have always been ok, but not this year, there were a lot of upset people.......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Management Representative at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that you had an average rated stay this year with us. Please allow us to explain few things which would be relevant to your this year's stay for the Car Show Weekend 2012.

Parking:
We have a huge parking lot and an additional underground parking lot. Not a single hotel in Lake George is overbuilt for parking like we are and this is just for events like Car Show where guests have more than 1 car. Throughout the weekend, we noticed that the underground parking garage did have a lot of room for cars who couldn't find parking on the main level. It would have been better if more guests would have taken the advantage of parking their vehicles in the underground parking lot.

Staff:
We staff and cordon off our entrance to allow parking for registered guests only.

Security:
For all three days starting Thursday to Saturday, we had security on site. The security personnel did a great job in diffusing any and all situations in the parking lot. Our guests safety and comfort is the primary objective during such a busy event.

With regards to the carpets, we do have a plan in place for replacing them this winter after the season winds down.

When you come back next season, you shall be able to notice the changes that we will be doing for next year. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we get to host you again for next year's car show week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpfull. Courtroom rooms had a very large bathroom. Pool area by the water is excellant. Underground parking available. Parking lot itself was large. Nice resturant on the property. Within walking distance to all the resturants and stores downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here with family for two nights this past August (midweek). We had three rooms, all in a row on the first row. We had a nice time.

The motel itself, like many in the area are dated. If you want a newer hotel, go somewhere else. However, if you are on a family vacation, the Georgian is just fine.

The pool area was wonderful. All the kids spent hours in the pool and had a good time while adults could get drinks at the outside bar. The pool overlooks the lake, and is a great place to spend an afternoon.

The chicken nuggets pool side were fine. We never ate in the dining room, which looked pretty empty most nights.

From the motel it is a short walk into town where there is plenty of restaurants and shopping opportunities.

A special call out to the housekeeping staff. On our first morning there my daughter got very sick and threw up on the bed. Housekeeping was quick to respond and took care of us. When I went to tip the housekeeper she told me she was the housekeeping manager and is not allowed to accept tips. She was very polite and helpful, my hat is off to her.

After my daughter got sick my wife sent me a mission for some chicken noodle soup. The only place I could find in was the small Price Chopper in town. When I got back to the motel, the front desk personal allowed me to heat the soup in their microwave. While it was heating they told me they would have a microwave sent to our room. The microwave was delivered to the room within minutes of me returning to it with the soup for my daughter.

So, while the physical condition of the motel is average, the staff, pool area, and location to town make the Georgian a very good place for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Not sure, our rooms overlooked the parking lot. However, I am not sure I would have wanted to be by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Valley Stream, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had stayed in a shoreline room which was very nice and easy access to private resort beach and pool. Shoreline room is just what it says, you have your room and property to sit in front of your room and more on the shoreline with the boats. The scenary is fantastic and relaxing. Accomodations were great and staff was very friendly and helpful. You are located about 1 block from the activities from the village. I would stay at the same resort and room again on my next visit. Also note you will have to keep on file a credit card on hold with about just under $400 for any damages incurred during your stay, but it is reversed upon check out and it takes about 3 days according to your bank. I was taken back at first because I was unaware of this but I received no fees from my bank and it all worked out but I now know for future bookings. The pool is heated and clean. The food at the pool is good and reasonably priced. The resort grounds itself is well groomed and clean. The rooms as well are kept cleaned.

Room Tip: Shoreline, lakeview rooms are nice and quiet but will cost you more, but if you have children you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband, son, daughter and I just vacationed at the Georgian Aug 28 - Sept 1. We were given a comfortable, newly renovated courtyard room with 2beds plus a cot, We were a bit tight but it was clean, beds very comfortable new white fluffy comforters, spotless bathroom with new tub/shower. We also had a view of the lake & mountains from our balcony which was located right outside our door. The pool area was beautiful. There were plenty of chairs..bring your own beach towels because the hotel's towels were hand towel size. The patio bar had 1/2 priced beer, well drinks and appies sun thru wed. The Caesar salad ended up costing $4 and could have fed the 4 of us! We had a few appies and drinks, all for $20. We couldnt eat dinner for 2nights! The wait staff and reservationists, chambermaids were all so friendly. We even got a lower hotel rate for the first 2nts from the front desk. The rates were $99 for 1st two nts and 139.00 each additional nt. I thought this was very reasonable for Aug into labor day weekend.
The 1st morning we tried the breakfast buffet & it was very disappointing. The food didn't look appetizing and there were hardly any choices. Luckily, the staff was having a meeting in the rear of the diningroom. I approached them and asked to speak to them about the buffet. The chef, manager were very appreciative for my feedback. They were kind enough to deduct the cost of the buffet from our bill...I didnt even ask for that. I thought they knew how to make their guest happy! We would definitely go back to the Georgian Resort again!

Room Tip: I would request 2nd floor courtyard rooms, closer towards the lake/mtns rather than closer towards s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Lakesi... R, Management Representative at The Georgian Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you deeply for taking time to review your stay with us.

Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. We are glad you got to enjoy the great promos we had by the pool bar for appetizers and drinks. Many guests from nearby properties have been flocking to the happy hour and appreciate the food and the prices.

Breakfast:
Chef and the F&B manager are currently in the process of revamping the breakfast buffet so as to include more selections. Your criticism has been taken constructively and we depend on your feedback to better the guest experience.

We wish you come back soon to experience the Fall Foliage in Sep and Oct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Lakeside Resort

Address: 384 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Georgian Lakeside Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian Lakeside Resort is located within walking distance of Lake George Village. The Georgian has 158 rooms & suites, a private beach, outdoor heated pool, The Cabana Bar, and Giovanna's On The Lake Restaurant, Dinner Theater, in-room coffee, fitness center, game room, free WiFi. Contrary to the listing of amenities on TA - we do not offer free breakfast. Wedding, Conference & Meeting facilities, AAA 3-Diamond Rated. Near all local attractions including whitewater rafting, The Great Escape, Lake Cruises and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Georgian Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Lakeside Hotel Lake George
Georgian Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.