We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room with a view - Fort William Henry has it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Albany, New York
1 review
“Great Room with a view - Fort William Henry has it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We found our stay at the resort to be everything we wanted it to be. The resort was very clean, the staff were professional yet friendly and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    142
    81
    56
    73
See reviews for
187
156
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

After a 15 year absence, we returned to and stayed in the new main hotel! We loved the over sized rooms and found that the staff was extremely friendly and attentive to our needs. You won't find a hotel with a better view and location.
Wonderful pool, well landscaped grounds. and walking distance to most attractions. We didn't inspect their two motels on the property. According to guests the oldest motel is in need of updating and the other motel has standard size rooms with a nice roomy bath area. Good for families.
I highly recommend the main hotel which is a replica of the original from the late 1800!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We purchased a "Mountain view" Grand double with Jacuzzi tub room. The room was reasonably clean, quiet, with a small microwave oven and fridge. The jacuzzi tub was fine, although scalding hot if you weren't careful. The view was a rather disappointing "parking lot" view. Yeah, there were mountains off in the distance, but there was a very urban parking lot filled with cars and busses which dominated. Service was the area of our major complaint. Housekeeping was minimal -- straightened up the bed covers, picked up the towels, left new soap, and emptied the trash bins. Tried to call the Front Desk in the early evening (for more towels) and it just rang and rang. There was nothing "deluxe" about this hotel. Just an ordinary hotel. The pool was nice and clean, and we watched fireworks from the pool deck one evening. They have an indoor pool and hot-tub, which was nice, but small and not easy to find. On the flip side, it was uncrowded (even empty a few times) and it is nice to have a pool all to yourselves. Bring your own towels, though; there were none provided. The outdoor pool did have towels provided.

There was nothing horrible about the place, nor our stay there. It just seemed "lame." We were expecting more. The coffee was bad, the pool small, the stairwells dirty, the housekeeping staff friendly but unhelpful. The gift shop is the size of a utility closet. Really. The place was okay, but just okay. For our money, we would try to find a place more opulent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My family & I just got back and had to say we were so very impressed with the cleanliness and attention to detail during our 5 day stay at the Fort William Henry hotel. This was our 4th year as returning guests and the staff made our stay even better than ever! The hotel is immaculate (and I'm very picky). Anything we asked for was accomodated immediately. The views are breathtaking. We love being able to walk to town or mini golf or the million dollar beach. Bring a towel for the pool, there aren't always enough to go around. A great place for couples or families!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed in Lake George for 2 nights. The hotel was booked with a convention so the only rooms left were in the motel strip section facing the parking lot. The room was what I expected, it was clean, outdated a slight musty smell and you could hear the showers etc in the other rooms. I assume the main part of the hotel room's are nicer.

The outdoor pool is nice and has a great view. We did not go to any restaurants within the hotel. The location of this hotel is great so if you want to be close it is good but I probably could have stayed at one of the strip type motels and had the same experience.

If I stayed here again I would get a room in the main hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

It's a fairly decent place, nice lobby, fair pool, and nice view of the lake.. but for some reason there's one building among the three that's nasty.. I'm not sure why the owner hasn't renovated it.. I was there on business, but if I stayed there for pleasure and expected the nice section of the hotel, I'd be sorely upset if I got the building that I ended up in..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Very pleasantly surprised at this hotel. I was a little uncertain from some of the reviews I read, but I'm not quite sure what people don't like about this hotel. We travel alot and have stayed at some very upscale hotels, and we couldn't have been happier here. It's clean, close enough to walk to everything... beautiful view of the water, huge pool, nicely landscaped. Jr suite with king bed spacious with fridge and microwave. We did not eat at the restaurants, so cannot comment on those. Indoor pool area small, but we stayed outdoors only. No complaints... beats all the other "junky" motels along the strip!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.