We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUICK GETTAWAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“QUICK GETTAWAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our quick getaway was just that! My husband was offered a new job and said we'd better go away next wk because it would be a while before the new scheduled allowed him time off."YOU DONT HAVE TO TELL ME TWICE" we were just back from a trip 3 wks prior,since I work for myself its easy for me to take any time off. NICE HUH??? This is a very nice place,it was quiet, but we knew it would be, suits us just fine.We had gone to a museum that was adjacent to their grounds last year, and walked through the back and we thought it was sooo pretty.LAKEVIEW AND BIG POOL!!! The people were very nice and staff at the breakfast room were very friendly.We had no idea we'd be the ones staying here this year.Indoor pool small, but suffice.The sauna,we didn't use,and Jacuzzi was nice, fits like 8 people.Went down to the pier for fresh air, and no one was around. So different than summer when u cant even walk.The WHOLE village was closed EVEN MC DONALDS!!!That was funny. We drove into QUEENSBURY and GLENNSFALLS where they had a small mall and it was alive with shops and restaurants.We drove allot and took in the MAGNIFICENT VIEWS OF THE ADIRONDACKS.We love LAKE GEORGE and will go again soon.The beds were very comfy and room was fine, it would be great if they all had fridges and microwaves, but we bring a cooler everywhere we travel, so its all good.No complaints here. Tina loves Nel

Room Tip: We had room 290 with a GREAT VIEW!!! no fridge or micro tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear tina9222,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel and informing other travelers about our “GREAT VIEW” and convenient location. We appreciate your compliments and kind words. It’s wonderful to have a guest comment on our many attributes. Please let the Front Desk know next time you visit, especially during our slow time, we will be happy to upgrade you to a room with microwave and fridge if it is available.
Again, thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We look forward to hosting you again. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    152
    84
    57
    74
See reviews for
192
171
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We used a groupon. Thought it would be better. Breakfast was just ok, could go across street for amazing breakfast. We were in the premium east building...not sure what was so premium about it. Our king sized bed destroyed our backs. All springs. For the money you pay for these rooms there could at least be a decent bed, fridge, microwave. Not sure if it's related or not but one of us did come down with a stomach bug while here. That put the icing on the cake. Would not stay again or recommend. Plus's: location to lake, walking to action, half hour to Saratoga springs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Bsmashly18,
Thank you for advising other Trip Advisor patrons of your stay with us. In regards to your comments on “Average”.
Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay to the fullest extent.
We do hope you’ll consider allowing us to host you again.
Thank you for this feedback! It was our pleasure to serve you.
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Only stayed on night in the "Premium East Wing". Unfortunately their definition of premium is certainly not mine (or most other people). Best way to describe my room, Tired. Wallpaper starting to peel off the wall at the seems, carpet stained in several areas, water damage around the window and bare wood bordering the AC/Heat unit. The room just looked tired and in desperate need of updating. Although the bed was very comfy.
Staff were super helpful and friendly and room was as clean as it could be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear cosmicdebris3,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. The hotel is constantly going through renovations in one way or another, including public areas and restaurants. The East Wing is part of this year’s process.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I am glad I did not pay full price to stay here nothing more then average. The hours for the pool are 10am-10P I wish I had know that ahead of time seeing I was all ready to go for a nice quiet swim at 7am, and then realized that I could not do that. This is really just a average place to lay your head for a night or two..

The rooms were nice and they were clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Jessica H,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We have different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambience, and amenities. Our prices vary by room type to reflect these differences. Our Maintenance Staff maintains the indoor and outdoor pool daily in the early morning, which includes chemical testing to insure we meet the standards recommended by the health department.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

So I went to a food service conference in Lake George this week and booked a room at the Fort William Henry hotel. The conference was only a short drive away and I decided this would be a perfect spot to stay. I arrived late on Sunday night and there were no issues at check-in and the woman at the front desk was friendly and polite.
The room was very nice, clean and most importantly.....warm! It was 5 degrees. In the morning, it was -2.
There were plenty of towels, coffee set-ups and the cleaning service was outstanding.
The hot tub was out of order, but I didn't bring my suit anyway. The only problem was is that there was no food or beverage service. Not during the week anyway. I believe they do on the weekends. So my advise would be to stop and the package store on the way. There is an ice machine down the hall and a refrigerator in the room. Luckily, there was a nice little diner 1/2 mile away, and I found 2 bars that were open in town.
Overall, I had a very nice stay at the hotel and would definitely book here again. Maybe even when the lake thaws out....probably around the end of June!

Room Tip: spend the extra few bucks and get the lake view room....really pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Keith S ,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team. We are in the process of giving the whole indoor pool area a face lift, including the public restrooms, sauna, walls and decking.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope you’ll visit us the next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here the final weekend of the Winter Carnival. We had one of the larger L-Suites which was very spacious and comfortable. We mainly stayed here to use the indoor pool and hot tub but we did not use them as much as we would of liked because of all the screaming kids running around in there it made it an uncomfortable experience for us (4 people in our 30's) So a quick dip in the hot tub was all for us. I can't comment on the food here because we did not try any of the on site restaurants. All in all it was a nice weekend but we go to Lake George a lot during the year and only stay here in the winter. Will I return...yes but not in the summer due to their higher prices and many other options available in Lake George Village.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a low floor, we were on the 5th and the elevator took forever each and every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear etpro43,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The indoor pool is a popular draw in the winter months, when the Olympic size pool is closed for the season. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the Lake George Winter Carnival.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just spent a night there during winter carnival. The staff was friendly, welcoming, had no problem checking us in early. The room was clean, comfortable, and simply nice. We did have an issue ordering a new movie through cable, but maintenance promptly resolved the issue. The pool was warm and Jacuzzi nice. Everything clean and well maintained. However, the tavern on premises served the most horrid food I had ever had with a very limited selection of food. We started with wings which were brought out very quickly and I was initially impressed by that. However after my first bite I figured out why... they must have been made ahead of time and then just heated. I ordered chicken parm for the main course and it was terrible, the chicken dry, greasy, and simply disgusting... after two bites I had lost my appetite. My fiancee had ordered a burger and could only finish half it was so bad. Stay here, don't eat here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Private620,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests. We learn from every comment.
We are sorry that “The Tankard Tavern” did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your review with the Management at the restaurant.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.