We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in an expensive room in Grand hotel and there was nothing grand about it. The room smelled so bad and was really worn. Upon check-in (which took too long), they said they could 't give us the rooms we arranged through bookings.com. They told us that it was Booking.com's fault not theirs even though we had a confirmation that was from them. They gave our family of four a room with one king bed and then told us they would send up a cot at no charge. WOW thanks but how about getting our reservation right. The pull-out sofa had no bedding for it either. The pool was dirty with trash strung around it. Pool towels were thread bare. This place was the biggest rip off!!! They even messed up our payments for the rooms we reserved. Double charging for the same room. What a mess!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Jessica C,
Thank you for reviewing on our hotel. We appreciate your commentary as it helps us improve our operations and assist other travelers when making a destination choice.
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Trust that management did everything in our power to accommodate you requests. We thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    84
    57
    74
See reviews for
191
171
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the 3rd year we've held our family reunion at this hotel. We book approx. 15 rooms in the motel section of the hotel. The rooms are clean & comfortable & the staff is friendly & helpful. It is a perfect location for walking to town & viewing the 4th of July fireworks.

Room Tip: I would choose the lakeview rooms. The mountain view faces the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Gruzzo,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff. I will share your kind comments with our team.
You are right- you cannot beat the location. It’s a picture perfect postcard view year round.
It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. We hope to see you again next year. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

i had the standard mountain view,room was ok but had black mold on the shower tile where the towel rack was & the caulking on the corners was very sloppy,i had room 213 and it had rust on the window outside and the rug needs a shampoo,on the positive side the view is spectacular & the grounds are very nice and the staff are very polite,if you come here stay in the grand hotel if you can afford it,i just booked that for next year

Room Tip: the grand hotel is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Tirane56,
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Your feedback will help other travelers make informed decisions. Our goal is always to create a great experience for each of our guests. Comments like yours help us improve.
We are sorry that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. Our standard east section remains popular with many of our guests because of its proximity to the outdoor pool. I have reported your comments on your room, #213, regarding the housekeeping and maintenance issues. We spend a great deal of time training our staff and these types of issues should never arise.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family stayed here recently for three nights in the grand hotel mtn view jacuzzi room with two doubles and a pullout sofa. The rooms were clean and nice. We had the family fun package and got two free breakfasts in the white lion restaurant which were ok (the home fries tasted funny). Six flags (free tickets) was literally 10 minutes away down Canada St., and the free ghost tour at the Fort was pretty cool also. I think I even got pictures of the ghosts! The veranda was a pleasant way to relax and unwind. Everything was literally within walking distance, and the jacuzzi in the room was a nice private way to relax after a day of walking. I was surprised to find that there was no fitness center in the hotel itself though. The only problem I had was that when I checked in they swiped a credit card and I had told the manager that I would be paying cash for the room when I left and he said ok, however, upon checkout, I paid cash and they still charged my credit card also. So be careful!! Pam and Mario quickly resolved the matter for me and my account was credited. Kudos. Overall the stay was great and we are already planning another trip!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi in the room is a great private amenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear 8pointerspike ,
Thank you for those incredibly kind comments. Our packages a very popular with our guests. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff, the individual ambiance of our hotel rooms and the ideal location we have on the southern end of beautiful Lake George. We do normally have a supply of bottle openers, etc… for our guests- thanks for the heads up- I will replenish the supply.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here recently for a night, a quick trip up to Lake George. The rooms themselves were clean and pleasant. The Pool could use some tlc, as well as the hotel itself. If you bring wine don't forget your own bottle opener... they dont have any, the one at the front desk is broken. The Staff was nice. The hotel is a short walk from a few bars and restaurants. Overall a nice, moderate, inexpensive stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear ny_beach_fanatic,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson County, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Fort William Henry Hotel. Upon arrival, we were given a room in the east wing. I made my reservation online and thought I had booked a room in the Grand Hotel. (Call to make sure you're booking what you want.) The room in the east wing smelled like urine. Housekeeping came immediately and cleaned the bathroom but the smell was still there. I think it was in the carpet. I asked to be moved to the Grand Hotel and am glad I did. The rooms were much nicer and roomier. The lobby is beautiful and there is a veranda in the back of the hotel where you can relax and see that beautiful view. I chose this hotel for it's location (walking distance to everything) and it advertised 24 hr. complimentary coffee in the lobby. I love my coffee and was disappointed to find this was not the case. When we arrived there were not many guests in the hotel. Around Thursday, there were a lot more people checking in and I did notice the coffee was available part of the day. (I suggest a smaller coffee pot when occupancy is low.) I was directed to the White Lion in the morning for the coffee and was asked a $2.00 to go fee!!!!
Nick, who was always ready to greet you was the highlight of my stay. You can just tell he loves his job and people. Whether you needed a paper in the morning, directions or dining suggestions...Nick was the one to ask. Thank you Nick!! You are the reason I would stay at Fort William Henry Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra for the Grand Hotel, I suggest you book one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear LauraHudsonCounty_NJ,
Let me start by thanking you for commenting on our hotel, pros and cons, in regards to your recent visit. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we use this information to improve. Our goal is to create a great experience for each of our guests.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping staff is normally top notch. We will review your comments with the Executive Housekeeper. We do have one cup coffee makers, with coffee, tea and condiments, in all the rooms. Housekeeping or the front desk can always supply you with more during your stay.
I will also pass your compliments onto Nick, he is a great asset to our staff.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

,We were there one night for" Americade" and the stay was great, central to everything for the rally, but very busy in parking lot, to be expected it was Headquarters!!! would stay again staff were very helpful. Main hotel rooms were fantastic clean,very roomy, modern,they had it all, including the price but that's what you pay for location,location,location. Breakfast should be included for that kind of money!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Motorcyclemom ,
Thank you for those kind comments regarding your Americade stay. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff, the individual ambiance of our hotel rooms and the ideal location we have on the southern end of beautiful Lake George.
It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!
Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.