We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came expecting a hotel, got a dilapidated motel instead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 88 hotels in Lake George
pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Came expecting a hotel, got a dilapidated motel instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

they have a main hotel and 2 wings. the wings are motels. the older one is a dump. 30 year old tv's, furniture from the 70's, dirty with stains everywhere. If booked through priceline, this is where you stay-in the old motel wing. no morning newspapers, no complimentary coffee until 11am.....11am for coffee?? stay away......

Room Tip: the main hotel rooms may be alright, but the motel wing is a dump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear psuprd
,
Thank you for those strong words. Your critique will help other travelers make informed decisions.
Our hotel property is very unique. We have three different types of accommodations, each with their own location, ambiance, and amenities. We have taken great strides to differentiate them to potential guests. Our web page even has a video of each section to help our guests make informed travel decisions. Our standard east section is our most economical and is still the most popular with our VIPs. We are almost completed with a renovation of our standard section. This includes new furniture and upscale lighting package, as well as mirrors, artwork, etc. This project should be totally done in mid November.

It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    122
    67
    50
    65
See reviews for
158
135
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellport, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife decided on a Friday night that we were in the mood for a road trip. My wife had been to Lake George before and wanted me to see it.

We spent about an hour searching the internet and reading reviews on Trip Advisor and decided on the Fort William Henry. We reserved a Grand Double and about twenty minutes later received a phone call that they had no more rooms like that available and they offered us a Grand King Lake view instead. We were enjoying this trip already.

We were very happy with the room. Very clean with a microwave and fridgerator. The bathroom was huge with a shower and bath tub. We did not understand the purpose of the window that opened into the livingroom from the bathroom, but didn't put much thought into it.

The lobby was really nice with lots of sitting areas and a large fireplace. The patio area just off the lobby to the rear of the hotel was also full of seating and gas heaters.

The view was awesome from our room, the patio and all of the rear of the hotel but our favorite part of the hotel was the location. Whether you walk into town from the path along the rear of the hotel our walk down the street out the front you will find plenty of things to do and see even at this off season time of the year.

We had lunch at Monte Cristo's which was a very interesting place. the interior is a mix of all kinds of different furnishings, wall coverings and light fixtures. The food was very good and service was great. At dinner we found the restaurant in the hotel was having a wedding so we were told to try The Blacksmith. This was the low point of the trip. The manager was fantastic, but the rest of the staff must have been working their first day. We left after a couple drinks and headed to the Adirondack Brewery and Pub. This place is great and we had so much fun. Plenty of beers to choose from...check out their website.

All in all, the one night trip left us looking forward to comming back in high season next summer. If it was this much fun as a one night last minute trip it will be an even better vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Dpkai65;

Thank you for staying with us.

The shutter type doors that open, between the bathroom and the main guest room, are called European doors. This concept started in Europe. We got the idea from the Portofino hotel in Orlando, Florida. It allows parent or couples to interact while shaving, putting on makeup, etc. the shutters do lock for privacy.

! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Came up to Lake George for the Century Ride. They are kind enough to let our group bring our bikes up to the room. I had a Junior Suite and the room was very clean and quiet. I also left my Kindle at the hotel and they were gracious enough to mail it out to me at no charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Betsy W ,

Thank you. It was our pleasure to host the participants of this bicycling event.

We hope to see again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We traveled here during off season and we liked how quiet things were. We opted for a suite (mountain view) which we were happy with the room, the view not so. We were just above the entrance so we looked out to a roof. Wish we had chosen the lake view (a bit more $$),we were only here one night so it was alright. The jacuzzi was very nice and the bathroom was big! We found the room to be very clean and comfortable. The television could use replacing but we did not have much tv time. One problem was no wifi.....I addressed the housekeeper that was in our hallway and she said they did have it. I also asked the front desk hours later and they stated they did have it, but it never worked for me. We would go again, but also may try some place else.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Bhonoreh ,

Thank you for the kind words and your honest critique.

You comments are very accurate. We realized our TV’s and WI-FI were substandard in todays market so we have just completed orders for all new flat and improved Wi-Fi bandwidth.

We promise your next stay will be even better.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267. Again, thank you for this useful feedback!

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you're watching the TV in Lake George, you're missing the point. Maybe keep going to Albany....
Stayed in the renovated "motel" wing and was pleasantly surprised at the interior comfort, fixtures, bathroom, beds and linens. All very nice and new. The lake side rooms are worth the price -- the uninhibited view of the lake and fall colors (at peak) was spectacular, and their were two chairs on the veranda inn fromt of each room to help take it in. Parking was great and free, and everything on the strip was in easy walking distance. That includes to the Fort, and marina, where you can get a hour trip up the lake on a genuine steam (paddle) boat.
The White Lion restaurant was a bit overpriced for breakfast, but the portions were large enough to share with another and be full, and the view/atmosphere was gracefully spectacular as well.
I'd stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it.

Room Tip: Go with the lakeside rooms in the motel over the main lodge or new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDGE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room and bathroom were clean. The TV was terrible. They need to update them to flatpanel. However, the location was great. Walking distance to stores and beach, so you didn't need to use the car. Received a nice history of the hotel from one of the employees who saw us looking at the old photos, it was very interesting.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was very disappointed in the quality of the room for what I paid. The room was clean, but very dated. I paid $156 for one night. No refrigerator, room needed updating, painting, still had an old style tube TV.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.