We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Father's Day At The Fort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Father's Day At The Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A Beautiful room at The "Queen Lake", Lake George, NY. Our daughter was married on the steamship Saint Sacrament several years ago and our accommodations and rehearsal dinner were at The Fort William Henry Hotel. Each year my wife and I spend a long Father's Day weekend away from home. We had such a great experience with my daughter's wedding that it was decided it was time to go back and spend the night at this wonderful resort. The front desk staff were terrific! Wanting to spend some time in Lake George Village, we arrived shortly after noon. Since parking by early afternoon is slim, I stopped by our destination and asked if we could park now since we were spending the night. Upon a quick check, the front desk employee said our room was ready and we could bing our belongings in now. The room was spacious, comforatble and very clean. Once checked in and bags brought up, we were out and about town. The next morning we had a tasty breakfast at The Fort William Henry before heading out for a cruise on The Saint Sacrament. We certainly suggest that anyone wanting to have a great place to stay in Lake George, do so at The Fort William henry Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    151
    84
    57
    74
See reviews for
191
171
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I was reading some of the reviews on this site and they do not represent this hotel. It appears some people tend to blow things out of proportion. FWH is great. I travel on business for work and for pleasure with my family. I have stayed in five star hotels, dive motels and everything in between. I can say FWH is one of the best family run hotels I have ever stayed at. My rooms have always been clean and well maintained. I just booked my summer family vacation for the end of July and this will be our fourth return. The staff is great, the restaurants are great and the location is excellent. The grounds are well kept, the rear has a large beautiful sitting area over looking the pool and Lake George, where you can sit on wicker couches and rocking chairs, have a drink from the outside bar and talk with family and make new friends. It is minutes from everything and is affordable. You can stay here on a budget or if you want to spend more, can get a higher priced accommodation. You see this hotel has three sections, the original "motel" which is more for economy, the hotel "wing" for economy to moderate and the hotel, for moderate to more expensive. The key here is that you have choices, to fit anyone’s budget while still allowed to use the wonderful hotel amenities and be treated with kindness and respect from the staff. I can suggest not to book here when they have conferences on the whole property unless you are attending the show. Last year we were here during the Adirondack car show. They rent the whole property and close it off to the public unless you are a guest of the hotel or attendee, so getting in and out can be a little crazy. It is important to note, when we booked our reservation were told that the show would be there and we decided to stay anyway, so the choice is yours, BTW, this is a common practice for hotel conference centers. The Fontainebleau in Miami does this from time to time (Winter music Conference) as does Marriott in New York. And please, cut the hotel some slack, do you remember the winter the northeast had last year? I am sure it wreaked havoc on the LG area in terms of damage to roads, property and OUTDOOR pools. And BTW, anyone who has come up to Lake George knows that even if the pool were open, you probably would use the indoor pool anyway because it is still somewhat chilly in May. The pool has always been open, working and well maintained when we have come over the years. To be honest, most of the time the kids prefer the indoor pool anyway. So to anyone considering this hotel, trust this review from someone who knows through MULTIPLE experiences, vacation at this hotel and you will not regret it.

Thank you to the staff and owner of FWH for all of the great memories we have had at your resort.
Mark, Long Island, NY
e mail me anytime: Mark@5FathomsMusic.com

Room Tip: Call the hotel to find the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Dear Mark ,
Thank you for those incredible kind and honest comments. It is greatly appreciated when our guests recognize the efforts of our staff.

Please allow me to introduce some of our staff to you ion your next visit.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My spouse and I stayed during the firemen convention weekend here and since we planned the trip last minute we had no other options at a decent price. We ended up staying at this hotel as it's a central location. Based on the website and the images, we were expecting a higher quality than what was offered. The worst thing about this hotel is that there is the main hotel and right next to it is a shed with motel rooms, which is very noisy with party goers. We had strangers knocking on our door at 3am and did not get a good night of sleep what so ever. Had I known we would be staying in the motel room next to the actual hotel (which is all you see on the website by the way) we would have opted for a better hotel for the price we paid, even if we had to stay a bit further away from the village. I would definitely opt to stay in a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

When we arrived we were blocked from entering the parking lot. The grounds were surrounded by a chain link fence and filled with trucks and vendors for a tow truck convention. We had to convince the guards that we had reservations and were staying at the "resort". Several others who were traveling with us had their paid reservations lost and their rooms were given away. Luckily they were filling the outside pool when we got there. But, they were using a garden hose and we were long gone before it was filled and open. Annoyances, many. A resort? Not even close.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear Napperdoc,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. .

Like in the previous trip advisor comment, we apologize about our outdoor pool not being open. The extreme weather conditions we experienced in May caused its delay. We learned a valuable lesson from these comments on the importance of opening our outer pool before Memorial Day weekend. It is one of our most popular amenities and the largest pool in the Lake George region. For the record, our pool is filled with a double jacketed, 1.5 inch, fire hose.

Our property is home to some large events that take place in Lake George region. These events take place in the spring and in the fall. It is usually very difficult to get reservation unless you are registered as a member of, or attending the event. We know being in these events without participating is very difficult.

The weekend you were our guest, we were hosting the Empire State Towing and Recovery Association’s annual Tow Show and setting up to be the new home location of the Americade. Both are very large events. The Americade alone brings over 40,000 motorcycle enthusiasts to our area. We must put safety and security procedures in place.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. Please call us to get a schedule of the events going on in our area. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were traveling with a soccer club and we chose the Fort William Henry for our families because of the outdoor space and amazing outdoor pool. We and others from our group had called the week prior to our arrival to be sure the outdoor pool was open. We were all assured it would be ready for our arrival. We arrived on Thursday before Memorial Day weekend and the pool was empty, had holes in it and rubble littering the bottom. Again, we were told it would open Sunday. We knew there was no way but management assured us it would be. There was no remorse on the part of management as they continued to lie to us. It was very unprofessional. When we left the pool was in the same condition as when we arrived.

Check in took almost an hour, we had been told that upon arrival our suite could be placed next to our friends we were traveling with. After an hour it still was not and we were on different floors. We gave up and took what we could get. They then tried to charge us more than was originally in our contract.

On Friday my son was playing in the grass outside when he stepped on a water goblet that had been mowed over. He sliced his foot and was brought into the lobby bleeding profusely. The staff at the hotel said they were sorry but never went to pick up the glass outside or even look for it and offered no assistance. A few of the parents went out and scoured the grass for glass remnants and picked it up and warned all the children in our group to be sure to wear shoes. They never followed up to see if our son was ok throughout our stay.

There were many issues with our group checking in. One family checked-in and went to their room only to find another family already staying there! Key cards would not work and room types that were booked were no longer available. The wing rooms were of very poor quality and not worth the amount charged.

Be VERY wary of this hotel. It is in a great location but is very poorly run. My guess is that it is close to bankruptcy and has no money to fix the pool and other things.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Familyof6togo,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your commentary as it helps us improve our operations and assist other travelers when making a destination choice.

We are sorry for the confusion about our outdoor pool’s opening. We communicated thoroughly with our guests that our pool would not be opened for Memorial Weekend because the extreme weather conditions we experienced in May. Most commercial pools in our area were experiencing the same dilemma. This was the first time, in my 27 years at Fort William Henry that our pool was not open for Memorial Weekend. Our indoor pool was in full operation for our guests.

I am sorry to hear about your son’s injury. Our company policy and training dictates that whenever a guest injures themselves and reports it, our staff offers first aid and/or transportation to a local medical facility. An incident report is also completed and turned into management. Currently, we have no such report on file.

Lastly, our check in procedures for large groups, through a third party vendor, can cause check-in time to be extended. It is important, and our legal obligation, to get the proper names, addresses, tax statuses, etc. correct at check in time. Procedures have tightened since 2001.

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Trust that we did everything in our power to accommodate your requests. We thank you for this useful feedback! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again next time you are in the Lake George region. If we can be of assistance in the future, don't hesitate to contact us at 1800-234-0267.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We booked a lakeview room with whirlpool, and were very pleased with the results. Convenient to lots of things to do; the Lion restaraunt breakfast was great; the bed very comfy, and the room was very roomy and clean. Paid top dollar for the area, but we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: Be clear - staying in the main hotel or not?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamLuciano, General Manager at Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear mwjbgood,

Thank you for advising other Trip Advisor patrons of your stay with us.. We appreciate your kind words.

Our staff strives daily to deliver a product that exceeds our guests’ expectations. It is always nice to hear when we have done our job.

We hope you get the opportunity to come back to the Lake George region and allow us to be your host again.

Again, thank you for this feedback! It was our pleasure to serve you.

Sincerely,
Sam Luciano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I are 29 from the Bronx, NY. We stayed from a Sunday, May 22th to Wednesday, May 25th

Our room SMELLED LIKE MILDEW and our Mountain View was of the parking lot. We did not have Internet and every morning I was told "they are fixing it" (funny story, upon check out, I asked about the Internet and they said, "They are fixing it"). Our heat was off the first day, and our room window was off the hinge, so it was cold at night. Our Jacuzzi light was broken and there was a cigarette burn on the dial. We didn't have ANY water on our 3rd day, specifically from 10am-5pm. When we asked for the manager, we were told that person was off for the next 2 days.

Upon check out, we had a very heated conversation with Anita/Anika (Sorry that I cannot remember your name). We were promised a Military discount by two people. After 10 minutes of explaining that her staff promised us the rate, she went into a room and spoke with someone. She then came out and said, "Okay, we worked it out. We will give you $5.00 off." What a slap in the face to our veterans and military folks who serve this country. My husband was so furious, he just signed the paperwork and we left. When we got in the car, I looked at the bill and noticed a $6.00 "resort fee" per day I did not know about. We chose to leave it alone because clearly it wasn't worth the battle since they have poor customer service skills and are out to get your money.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today’s conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Groupon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Henry Hotel Lake George
Fort William Henry Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.