We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but .......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Still Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Still Bay Resort
Save
You added Still Bay Resort to your Saves list
3458 Lake Shore Drive, Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 Lake George B&B and Inns
long island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Okay, but .......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

I can't believe the rave reviews on this place. Just shows you how horrible the other places are on Lake George.

Rooms are very clean and had new appliances, but these are motel rooms with no view of the lake. Hideous green, pleather chair in our room. Rooms very small and very dark. Cheap, plastic chairs out front.

Grounds are very nice and well kept but beach is tiny. There is space to keep a boat. Breakfast very good. Rent a house instead.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Lahaina, Paris
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We spent our 12th wedding anniversary in the Lake George area. We were a bit 'anxious' staying in a motel but we were agreeably surprised.

On a scale of 1 to 5:

Location: 5

Check in: 4. We were given the directions to the room without a showing of room, but we understand this is not a hotel.

Cleanliness: 5. Just that makes it a recommendation. We put a huge premium on cleanliness. New rugs, new shower curtains, spotless bathroom (needs shampoo maybe), crispy white sheets -- we looked for the occasional dust and couldn't find it, clean windows and streakless mirrors, clean fridge, cups wrapped in plastic, tv, AC, comfortable bed, cushy pillows, closet for luggage, commode, leather chair, nice lighting, nice white ceilings (no stains). Yes, we're picky and we couldn't find anything wrong here!

Breakfast: Just okay. We depart a bit from most reviews here. Maybe were we expecting too much? There's a lot of food but it is mainly variation of pastries with lots of cream or too-colorful toppings. The warm food was omelet out of the box or frozen link sausages. Yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit salad would be a plus, as well as some (homemade) pies/'stuff'.

Staff: efficient nice summer Eastern European students.

Owners: very nice and warm gentleman. Very reserved wife; few words would help make guests not feel like they're in the way -- everyone around ended up kind of whispering.

Dinner recommendations: 5. We went to the Sagamore for a special dinner, and also to 'that restaurant on the lake'.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the breakfast...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta ME
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

A group of us stayed at the Still Bay Resort for three days during Americade week in Lake George. There were 4 of us in two rooms. This is an older facility but it has been very well kept up. The rooms were spotless, the bath small but also spotless. The grounds were well landscaped and the rhododendrons were in bloom which made it very nice. The breakfast was extensive with pastries of all kinds, bagels, eggs, sausage, coffee, tea ,milk juice and several varieties of cereal. The owners were extremely accommodating and pleasant.

The site is down a steep hill since it is on the lake and the highway is up on the hillside (flatlanders beware) Once at the resort it is very peaceful and a nice respite from the hectic motorcycle events. It was too early in the year for swimming but they have a nice beach with chairs for relaxing and also have picnic tables and grills which some of the folks used for cookouts. All in all a great place for a vacation.

  • Liked — The service and the breakfast
  • Disliked — no cell service from my provider, tracfone, but us cellular was OK
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

The breakfast was truly superb. In a charming room with a view, huge variety, excellent quality. And it's true, the owners are extremely helpful and welcoming. But we still think the room was overpriced (more than $200 a night), considering the peeling wallpaper and mildew in the tiny bathroom. With end-of-season vacancy signs everywhere, and in fact, most rooms empty at the Still Bay, it seems foolhardy to charge so much. We would not stay again at those prices.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Still Bay Resort was a perfect place to stay on Lake George. The spot on the lake is breath-taking. The owners are so nice and they take great pride in their beautiful place. The rooms are very clean and breakfast is included and it was great. I highly recommend this to anyone, we have 2 children ages 10 and 12 and they had a ball.

  • Liked — The magnificent view of the lake
  • Disliked — Bathrooms are tiny but clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

It's listed as a B&B but could also be listed in the hotel category since most rooms are of the motel variety in a separate building. Still Bay is located perfectly, well off Rt. 9N. No road noise, in fact llittle or no noise from our neighboring vacationers. We had wonderful weather from July 30 thru Aug 2 and enjoyed the excellent complimentary breakfast on the outdoor terrace of the main house. We stayed in what were essentially motel units closer to the lake, with digital controlled A/C window units keeping us plenty cool in the 90 degree weather. Rooms are large, old fashioned and very clean. Good cable TV with Mets and Yankee channels. Beds are a little firm for our taste but what are you gonna do. Bathrooms very small but updated and very clean.

Our friends brought their new 21 ft boat and docked at Silent Bay's complimentary docks. You have to launch at a nearby marina ($30). A 21 footer is the max size Silent Bay can handle. Great beach, beach chairs, lawns, lots of outdoor grills. Owners were pleasant and accommodating.

Don't miss the included breakfast, lots of fresh baked goods, pancakes or eggs or french toast and sausage featured the days we were there. Real good coffee, so-so OJ, good fresh fruits, and real local Maple Syrup!!!!

It's a kid friendly place but we old fogies weren't disturbed at all. Families with kids get dibbs on the downstairs motel rooms, a wise move.

And don't forget the 32 Mile Smile, Lake George itself. Magnificent. Of course it's August and we went to improve the breed at Saratoga about 30 miles away. Another experience not to be missed. it's like no other track. Even if you don't bet the ponies it's something you should experience. And don't miss downtown Saratoga and the springs. Plenty to do and see. You also have to visit The Sagamore hotel in nearby Bolton Landing. The grand old dame has been kept up to date.

See the Silent Bay website, it accurately depicts the property.

  • Liked — Location, location, etc.
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

The Still Bay is a beautiful place to stay on Lake George. It is away from the busy resort town of Lake George, yet near enough to drive in for dinner or other activities (wax museum, boat rides-MinniHaHa is the best!, etc.) We arrived and were greeted kindly on a sunny day in July. We paid 260 for our one night stay and were overall happy with our choice. The room was very very clean and yet looked like the owners were rather nostalgic about the past, as the long over-the-bed lights and the drapes were what we now call vintage. We thought it was charming. The mattresses themselves however were not so charming..they were rather hard. We really enjoyed the sandy beach equipped with nice lounge chairs and the absolutely beautiful 1900's boathouse. We were not sure if you could take out the paddle boats, if we stayed longer we would have checked into it. There is a large slopping lawn, outdoor grills, and no pool. The morning breakfast was wonderful, with crumpets with cream cheese and apricot jam, eggs, bacon, and French toast. You have to act fast, tho, popular things ran out and were not refurnished. You might want to request a room that faces the water, as about half of the rooms face trees.

  • Liked — The view of the water, and the 1900's boat house.
  • Disliked — The rooms were rather 'vintage' and beds too hard and not updated.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Still Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Bay Resort

Address: 3458 Lake Shore Drive, Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Still Bay Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Still Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.