We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! It's like a new hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN of Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN of Lake George to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2452 State Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845-6007   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Medford, NY
1 review
“Wow! It's like a new hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

The Best Western of Lake George looks brand new! A new lobby, new rooms, new lawn games, new covered entrance way and best of all a new breakfast room with a wonderful breakfast!
The staff has always been great. They could not be more helpful or pleasant. Now they have a hotel as great as they are!
We thought it was great before; but now it's our place when we vacation in Lake George forever!

  • Liked — The new breakfast room and menu
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative to say!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    73
    51
    26
    26
See reviews for
111
65
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

First of all, the exterior didn't look appealing. The room smelled and I don't believe the carpeting had ever been cleaned. The bathroom was very small and while taking a shower we were either frozen or fried. We won't be returning guests.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We stayed at the Best Western of Lake George for the National Adirondack Car Show. We checked in and the girl at the front desk was pleasant, and we checked in fairly quickly. From here everything else was down hill. We walked into the hotel, no security card needed to access the building, so just anyone can walk in. The smell of carpet deodorizer in the hallway was overwhelming as it was in our room as well. The temperature was 95F outside and very humid, the blinds in our room were wide open and the air condiditioning was off so needless to say, the room was as warm as it was outside. I booked this room in January of 2007, they knew we were coming. We had two double beds, and one was broken, the head of the bed was much lower than the headboard. My husband had to ask to have the bathtub cleaned as it still had hair from the previous guest in it. They did clean our bathroom when we left for the evening. There had been a drink spilled on the wall and it was still there and the phone was covered in dust. The whole room gave you that overall feeling of just being old and dirty, and the hotel is old and dirty. We basically dropped our bags off and proceeded to see if there were any other accomodations available for the rest of the weekend, we were fortunate to find a brand new hotel with a beautiful room available on Sat and Sun night for the same price as we were being charged at the Best Western. Unfortunately we had to suck up one night in the hotel, sleep we did not. The people on the upper floor had kids or a party or a combination of both, the walls/ceilings are so thin you can hear everything. We got up the next morning after a very little bit of sleep and were checked out before 7 a.m. My biggest complaint about this hotel is that we were charged $181 (for this kind of money I expect to be able to eat off the bathroom floor) for a dump that isn't worth $49. The positive about this hotel, the staff was friendly and as helpful as they could be and the coffee at the continental breakfast was good. Not much for what we paid. Do not stay here, until they do some major upgrades.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Stayed at the Best Western Lake George for 4 days/3 nights with my family and three other families. We all stayed on the 1st floor. Staff worked hard to help with all requests - so hats off to the people who work there. Room was cleaned in a timely manner and thoroughly each day - again - the staff worked hard to please. Decor was a bit dated, but was consistent with a budget-oriented hotel. Continental breakfast was ok - coffee, juices, muffins, donuts and apples. The buffet area gets crowded, but it hits the spot.

Before I go further, the reviews on this site confirm a big problem which should be addressed. If you stay on the 1st floor, you will hear LOUD, SQUEAKING sounds anytime someone is walking above your room on the 2nd floor. This noise was loud enough to interfere with 2 nights of sleep. We actually needed to catch up on sleep once we arrived home, which should not be the case when you take a relaxing vacation. If people are walking above you at 2am when they get in, you will hear it. If they rise early, you will, too. We were awakened several times and felt this noise would prevent us from returning to the hotel. I would have complained about the noise, but it was not the byproduct of people stomping on the floors - it was normal walking that caused these noises.

Be aware of a few other issues.

The hotel is not walking distance to Lake George village. I overheard two people attempt to cancel reservations because they thought they could walk into town. If you are ok with a 30-45 minute walk each way, then it is walking distance into town for you. Otherwise, be prepared to drive, which was ok with us (and a known fact prior to arrival), but others apparently thought otherwise.

You will encounter people who do not care that others may be asleep at 11pm, 2am or 7am. When you book a budget hotel, expect rowdy neighbors who will rev their motorcycles, sound their car alarms, holler and act drunken at hours when most people with families are asleep.

The outdoor swimming pool is in the parking lot. The pool, itself, is fine and has a nice view of the beautiful mountains. It is also well-maintained. Management may wish to add a few rows of hedges outside of the safety fencing so people could still enjoy the mountains without being reminded they are preening in a parking lot.

If you stay on the 2nd floor, I have to imagine the noise factor is improved. A sound machine may be your best bet. If the noise factor were improved, we'd be inclined to return.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

When I called to make reservation I was quoted one price and paid another. Then when we called front desk for an extra pillow we were told with a sigh that they would have to check the whole hotel, that guests don't usually ask for an extra pillow at 10:30 at night. A half a hour later we called asking where our pillow was and they said I haven't gotten to it. It will be a while. We were upset because we wanted to go to bed then not a hour later. Then when the pillow arrived they didn't even stay long enough for us to give them a tip even though we shouldn't have. Rude and inconsiderate.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rudeness.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2006

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days for the forth of July.The room was clean.The continental breakfast was fine if you just want to grab coffee, juice,and pastries so you can go off to see Lake George before it gets too crowded.Also,you can sleep a little later knowing that they`re not going to run out of food since the coffee and juice is available 24hrs a day. The game room is tiny and basic. You if must spend your money on games,the village has an arcade. We had no problems with noise at the hotel. The cable was fine,except it had no HBO.The bathroom was small and clean. I had a nice time and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

This is one of the most expensive hotels that I have booked on hotwire, and it was the worst. We called to let the motel staff know we would be arriving late and wanted a king non-smoking. We were told that a room was set aside for us and it was neither non-smoking and had 2 double beds. When we pushed for non-smoking we were told that they had no other rooms. With this response we had Hotwire intervene and we got a non-smoking room ( albeit a double). I guess they had other rooms. In fact when we arrived we were the only car in the lot. We were put in the room closest to the main hall, and it was quite apparent that all other rooms around us were vacant.
The room was dark, dirty, the floor was so flithy that one did not want to walk barefooted. The shower cold water handle was broken. The halls were cobwebbed, with litter on floor, the indoor pool was extremely small, but had about 25 kids swimming, the water looked brown. The hot tub also had more than capacity, and one couple had a baby with diapers in the hot tub...and we chose no to use that. We wandered out to the outdoor pool, and this was also unkept with debris everywhere and scum on the surface.
The soundproofing was non-existent, a couple arrived very late that night and we could hear every creak in the floor, every bounce of their toddler.
We felt incredibly ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN of Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Lake George

Address: 2452 State Route 9N, Lake George, NY 12845-6007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN of Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Lake George Hotel Lake George
Best Western Lake George
Lake George Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN of Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.