We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowner Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundowner Motel
Save
You added Sundowner Motel to your Saves list
420 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Marlborough MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice motel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sundowner Motel this past weekend, room 122. The room was a good size, the bathroom was huge, but outdated. A new sink and countertop is needed. Everything was very clean. Two of the lights needed new bulbs, the management attended to that very quickly. The bed was extremely comfortable. The management was very nice. We recommend Mario's restaurant, which is right across the street for a delicious meal.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — outdated bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Clean motel with big rooms albeit pretty retro with canary yellow bathrooms. Beach is as shown on the website - no bigger - anything beyond the fences is the beach of another motel. Water is shallow and roped off at a very short distance from the shore. Not a problem since we were travelling with small children but might not be so interesting for older children. Nice outdoor jacuzzi and great kiddie pool at 12 inches deep. Good location- about 10 min walk from the main shops and public beach. A microwave is available for use in the laundromat but disgustingly dirty!

  • Liked — location, jacuzzi
  • Disliked — rooms could use some updating, no microwaves or coffee machines in rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

We had a Great experience @ the Sundowner The staff was very attentive our air conditioner was not so great, a call to the front desk and they had a brand new one installled in no time.. we stayed in Room 219 next to the Pool .Parking was tight but the room is very spacious and the king size bed was very comfortable The people staying upstairs were very loud..I would stay here again if in the area ,but I would stay either upstairs or in one of the 2 room buildings to avoid the constant stamping of rude/uncourteous loud neighbors.

  • Liked — Comfortable Room
  • Disliked — The cold pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

Room was very clean. we stayed in room 228 with the private deck. well worth the money I would suggest this motel to anyone.the only down fall this motel has is parking is very tight. we enjoyed our stay very much.

BRIAN TEHAN

  • Liked — the private deck
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

Get what you pay for explains it all i got the $69 a night room should of upgraded after i saw the room but it was just for the weekend. the only thing new in the room was the bathroom floor. had to get new towels myself cause room service didnt come to the room. the pool was great and maintained but the rooms need to be updated to now a day standards not 1970 standards. And if you have a bad back do not sleep here the beds are terrible

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

Very clean rooms and very friendly staff. Loved having a pool sundeck and gorgeous Lake george right there. Parking was a little tight but the managers came around and did ask some people to adjust. We had a problem with our toilet and they came right down to fix it. Highly reccommended from me - great value!

  • Liked — Location, Sundeck, Pool, private Lake george beach/picnic area
  • Disliked — everything was wonderful
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mohawk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

I have been staying at the sundowner for over twenty years with my family. We love the accommendations and the whirl pool is the best. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very helpful and courteous. We have looked at other hotels and said we would try a new one but we find ourselves staying right here. The rates are affordable and with a big family thats important...Great job sundowner keep up the good work.

  • Liked — value and the spa's
  • Disliked — a little far to walk in town
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sundowner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Motel

Address: 420 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
#14 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundowner Motel is conveniently located in Lake George Village directly on the shores of beautiful Lake George. We are a short walk from shops, restaurants, and activities in the village. Enjoy our clean, comfortable motel rooms, wonderful views of the lake, surrounding mountains and the other amenities that we offer:-Outdoor Heated Pool-Outdoor Kiddie Pool-Outdoor Deck overlooking Lake George-Outdoor Whirlpool-Free use of kayaks and rowboat-Free Wi-Fi-Private, shallow sandy beach-Picnic Tables and charcoal grills near beach-Laundromat-Free AM Coffee-All of our units are now non-smoking! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Lake George
Sundowner Motel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowner Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.