We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Family Reunion Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulders Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boulders Resort to your Saves list
Boulders Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   3036 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 90 Hotels in Lake George
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Perfect Family Reunion Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We used the Boulders as a backdrop for our family reunion of 25+ people. We enjoyed the townhouses which provided ample space on the covered deck for entertaining / meals and lots of room inside for relaxation and cooking. The townhouses had whole unit airconditioning (a surprise!) and were clean and well stocked with cooking utensils,etc. Each unit now has brand new memory foam mattresses which seems upscale ~ especially if you have stayed at other resorts nearby.

The pool is well maintained with a beautiful view of the lake (not true of all Lake George resorts that often have the pool in an upper parking lot while having to trudge to the lake for beach time). This made it easy to have younger children who wanted to transition frequently from pool to lake within eye sight and give freedom to older children to enjoy the water. The free water activities were abundant and easy to acquire despite the full capacity of the units. There were many extra touches by the Boulders staff that gave our trip an almost "all inclusive" feel! Kayaks, row boats, fishing were a daily occurance in addition to the staff bringing out ice pops to the children EVERY day, plentiful pool towels and a Thursday cook out. Weekly fireworks can be viewed from the beach and the fire pit is ALWAYS ready and stocked with wood!

The Lake George trolley has a stop right outside the Boulders for quick, low cost ($1) transportation in Bolton Landing, Lake George and Glens Falls.

The staff were genuine and friendly ~ determined to make our stay enjoyable. They provided assistance with all of our needs and discount tickets to local attractions like the Painted Pony Rodeo. They were consistently visible, pleasant and made every effort to be helpful and courteous.

Definately a place to return to ~ for a family vacation, or a special occassion. The town house smoke detectors are extremely sensitive ~ so just open a window or door to get the air flow going before you cook! Then, just sit back and enjoy.

Room Tip: Town houses appear the most updated, private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
38
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and her extended family and I spent a week at the Boulders and had a great time. Luxury no, clean yes, friendly yes, great location yes! Quick ride or walk into the village but once you return to the Boulders and see Tea island as your backdrop it's a world away. Free canoe/paddle boats and a well maintained swiming pool top it off.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodges top floor and had a great view with privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have been coming to Lake George for over 8 years now and have always had a great time. We have stayed at many different hotels every year always trying something else out. We have finally found the right place to stay for years to come. Boulders Resort was great during our stay 7/18 - 7/23. We were given a room with 2 bedrooms kitchen and living area, the room was great, clean and the staff was extremely friendly. There are many activities for the children and free kayaks and paddle boats for use. Every Thursday I was told they BBQ for everyone staying at the resort. Really friendly people and they have dock space for boats... Boulders we will see you again next year! Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were in house #7 it was clean, big, and had a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed at Tea Island for the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend, meeting up with some American family. In total, we had 12 people, ranging in age from 2 yrs to 87 yrs. We rented the 3 bedroom Cabin #1 (bungalow style) that was fantastic for our needs. Beautiful open concept kitchen/dining room/ living room, with a chaise-style sectional couch that fit us all! The kitchen was well equipped; we did all our eating at the cabin. (dishwasher, yay!) There was a beautiful balcony that ran the length of the accomodations that overlooked Lake George and the hills across. Just lovely! There were two full bathrooms (one was an ensuite) that were VERY large, and the 3 bedrooms were also generously sized so you didn't feel cramped. It was nice to have the bedrooms down the hall from the common areas, as we never heard noise if some of our group were up early or late. Surprisingly, although this cabin was just off the main road, there didn't seem to be much nightime traffic, and we all slept soundly. Some minor negatives were: no phones in the cabins, and messages received at the office are not relayed very quickly. Although there is a lovely grotto style hot tub at Boulders, it was only lukewarm (as it wasn't covered). I believe we found the indoor play area, but it was much smaller than expected and only housed an old ping pong table. Thankfully, we had lovely weather and we used the outdoor volleyball net, playground and boats. We found the staff very pleasant. Would definitely consider going back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I am just finishing up my trip here. It was my first time to Lake George and I just found this place online so we just kind of came hoping for the best. We rented a townhouse and it is fantastic! The whole experience has been great. The place was really clean and the staff has been wonderful. I wanted to come during off season so that I could just relax and it has been great from beginning to end. The Resort is catered to families but in the off season there are not many here. The only criticism I would have is that the wireless did not work in our townhouse. But if my only complaint was to have to sit by the pool to get internet service then it is not a criticism at all. We will be back again next year! And a big thanks to the staff!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I stayed at The Boulders Resort for two nights with lady friends. We were looking for a relaxing time out. The Boulders also owns Tea Island (all part of the same complex). Our room, which had a balcony with a direct view of the lake, was at Tea Island. It was comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

Tea Island has a small beach, which was quiet and perfect for us. There is a pool and a spa on the Boulders property, which we were also able to use.

I recommend asking where your room will be located. The resort owns property across the street and the rooms do not have a lake view.

Overall, we had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My family and I had this trip planned for over a year and spent alot of money to stay in the 3 bedroom townhouse. It all sounded great having a full kitchen, a pool/hot tub, and free access to canoes and paddle boats. Well, everytime someone in ANY townhouse cooked something the fire alarms went off in the whole building. Even if you were only cooking eggs or boiling water. The couch in the living room i swear is from 1980 and has metal poking out of the arms of it. Plus when you sit down on it good luck getting back up. You sink so far into it that you use every muscle in your body to get up. Also, it only fits like 2 people on it. In our bathroom the air vent cover kept randomly falling off the wall. It sounds great that you can use the canoe and paddle boats for free, you only give the rude people in the office your license or room key. However, they do not pay attention to how many people are using them. The office had our license for the paddle boat and we walked down to it and a lady (who didnt speak english) was sitting in it and wouldnt get out! Finally her husband got her out and he told us that the office has his license too!! Another day we took a canoe out and the rude lady in the office gave us the wrong paddles. They were not canoe paddles. The best part of our week long trip out there was spending time with my family. Dont stay there, many other places to stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulders Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort

Address: 3036 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boulders Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boulders Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulders Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.