We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Country Living @ Carrie's Irie Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrie's Iere Cottages

Carrie's Iere Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carrie's Iere Cottages
Save
You added Carrie's Iere Cottages to your Saves list
41 Caldwell Ave., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Country Living @ Carrie's Irie Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed at Carrie's in early July with a few friends. When we arrived, we found our hosts’ Shelia, Ephraim and their son working diligently to maintain the grounds and the beautiful pool area! Sheila and her family greeted us energetically and gave us a run-down of the Lake George area and a list of events we might find interesting. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and the character of our cottages! Each cottage had its own distinct character and was fully stocked with kitchen utensils, vibrant white clean sheets and towels! The cottages @ Carrie’s gives that old world feeling with its beautiful rustic décor. The cottages we’re all designed with relaxation in mind. The warmth of the July summer days and the cool Lake George breeze at night only added to the relaxed vibe of Carrie’s cottages. We will definitely return again and again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I took my son on vacation for his 5th b/day, and loved everything about Carrie's Cottage. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable time for us and the accomodations were fantastic, and we were walking distance to Canada St and short drive to other attractions. Inside the cottage was just beautiful, don't be fooled by the outside appearance. My son and I had a blast the owner's were most gracious, definitely will visit again!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

These cottages are adorable. Don't be put off by the outside. This is an old six cottage motel on a leafy lot about 4 blocks from the main drag of Lake George....leave your car and walk. The cottages have been lovingly restored on the inside by Ephraim and Sheila, who are lovely and friendly hosts. The insides are spotless and each has a unique look. The beds are so beautiful and comfortable that we slept all day. Sheila literally irons every sheet before she puts it on the bed. They have a pool and lots of places to sit and relax around the property. This is not a fancy resort. But, if a private cottage with kitchen under the trees and a screened porch and some loving hospitality is what you are looking for, by all means stay at Carrie's. We plan to return in the fall to enjoy the foliage. Although they urge people to come and relax, they will give you the password to the wifi if you really want it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Never judge a book by it's cover and so it goes with this place. Although the exterior could use some work the interior of the cottages are fine. Not a four star hotel but a quaint little cottage . The owners take pride in their place and welcome their guests like family. The sheets on the beds were the whitest, prettiest sheets I have ever had in any hotel I have ever stayed at even the 4 star ones. If you want a cozy little cabin in the woods then this is the place to stay. Close enough to the action to walk but secluded enough so that you think you are way out in the country. The only negative at all is there is not a sign so make sure you have the address.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

It was exactly what I had in mind when I decided to rent a quiet little cottage for a weekend in Lake George....Just minutes from Lake George Village, the cottage was away from the busy village below....very quiet, nestled in the trees.

The room was perfect, small and cozy. My girlfriend and I wanted to relax and have a weekend of sleeping, massages, drinking wine, watching movies, etc......We both work a lot and needed time to just decompress.

The sheets were very clean and well kept. The room was clean and had a stove, pots and pans for us to use...there was a tv with cable in it, fully carpeted floors.

The owner was very polite and helpful. He was also very flexible and down to earth.

I am already planning a longer stay next year......

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

I admit, when my girlfriend and I first pulled up we were more than a little put off by the site of this place. The exterior looked a little run down, the sign was blank, and there was no one around. We went around to the back to where we found a door marked "Office" that was padlocked, and the path to the front door was difficult to traverse. We considered staying elsewhere, but ultimately knocked on the door and met the owner. Wow, this guy was friendly! He took us to the first cabin and gave us a quick tour, and we were pleasantly surprised by what we found. The interior of the cabin was very clean and tidy; everything from the kitchen to the bedroom, and especially the bathroom were all in tip top shape. Without even asking for a single dime he handed us the key, telling us to pay him whenever we could. We spent only one night there, but I can tell you this truly is a diamond in the rough. The owners are friendly and sociable, but if you're looking for privacy you can have that too. Once you're inside you have your own little world, and I honestly miss it. I should point out this is a very informal establishment, if that's not already apparent. It's not the place to go if you want a receipt, and you probably won't find a phone in your room, but you will have a nice little cottage with cable television, a kitchen, and all the little things you need. Heck, there was even a bottle opener on the key. That alone gives this place 50 points in my book.

If you're looking for an affordable place to stay that's within walking distance of all the Lake George attractions, go here. It's small and a little off-putting, but you'll be glad you stayed. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

We liked it. It could use some updates and we would have preferred a pool. But we got to enjoy clean sheets and a great Lake George Experience.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrie's Iere Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrie's Iere Cottages

Address: 41 Caldwell Ave., Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrie'€™s Iere Cottages (Carrie's) situated in the quaint Village of Lake George in the foothills of the Adirondacks. We are four blocks from the Queen of American Lakes, Lake George. A lake of beautiful, pristine water. Our cottages are rustic yet comfortable. Each cottage comprises a separate kitchenette fully equipped with refrigerator, electric stove, appliances pots & pans, crystal and dinner ware with a cozy dining area, bedroom, private bath and a screened porch. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrie's Iere Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.