We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% a GREAT CHOICE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Lake George to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4054 State Route 9L, Post Office Box 432, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
queens, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“100% a GREAT CHOICE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

OK so I have been reading horror stories about Lake George Hotels - I would definitly stay here again! Clean and friendly. Limited on little kids running around (but still kid friendly) - walls are thin so you can hear next to you, but let's face it, how often are you in the room?? - Breakfast pretty good for free - I do not suggest eating in town, take the 10 minute drive to bolton - book it either through hotels.com or advanced purchase through the hotel, makes it a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    224
    105
    48
    31
See reviews for
345
215
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Overall, we enjoyed our first visit to Lake George, despite the rainy weather. Wingate hotel is in a good location, close to town and all the places we wanted to visit for our 3 days, 2 night stay. While the room rate was reasonable, there are some things we hope the hotel could improve on. The walls are thin, and with lots of kids running aroung, we did not get a restful sleep. However, we found the queen beds and pillows comfortable, the indoor and outdoor pool and spa enjoyable, and the breakfast adequate. The front desk staff were friendly enough. The young lady at the breakfast room was very friendly and had a charming smile. Our toddler did find an empty water bottle near the bed (not ours) which proves that housekeeping is not thorough. We appreciate that they had free Wifi. Outwardly, the room and bathroom were clean. Not the best, but not that bad either.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. We had booked through Hotwire. Check in was quick and easy and the hotel didn't appear to be at full capacity. We were given a room on the 2nd floor and the people above us had kids that were running and making noise all night. Then they woke us up in the morning and we asked to switch rooms. The clerk at the desk was apologetic and moved us to the top floor. We didn't have any noise above us for the next 2 nights, but we could hear the people next to us very clearly. Thin walls and rude people are a bad combination. The rooms are typical- 2 "queen" beds that were clean overall. My husband did notice that in the 2nd room, there was a sock that didn't belong to us that remained there for our stay. So. not the best housekeeping, but the bathroom was clean. The location of the hotel is great. It's a quick 2 minute drive to the village. The continental breakfast was average. The first day was french toast sticks, eggs, bacon, cereal, little bagels and yogurt. The 2nd day they offered belgian waffles as well. They have both indoor and outdoor pools, a small arcade and gym. I'm glad we were able to get a reduced rate through Hotwire, as I don't feel the hotel was worth the full price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel looks good from the outside, but it not clean on the inside. The toilet was dirty, the room had dust behind the TV and more importantly...there was a cockroach in my room!!! We will never be back.
We stayed at this hotel when it first opened and at that time the toilet was dirty as well. We dismissed this as being the result from just opening, and the new staff lacking the eye for detail.
Last year I had reservations that I had to cancel two days prior due to work commitments and I lost my $135.00 deposit. This is just poor customer service...people can not control life events, such as, being called into work at the last minute, but at Wingate they do not care they are happy to take your money even when you call to cancel and do not even offer a credit toward another stay.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on Sunday night of Easter weekend. We have stayed at several hotels in Lake George, as it is a good meeting point between us and his family in Quebec. When we arrived the hotel was almost empty. We were given a room on the back side of the hotel, facing away from where the front entrance is. We quickly realized that there was a dog, that belongs to a house on the backside of the hotel, that was barking continuously. We hadn't unpacked, so we called down and asked to be moved to the other side of the hall so that we wouldn't be disturbed all night. The clerk gave me a couple of room options and I asked which one had no one on either side, since the hotel was fairly empty. She gave us a room that there was no one on either side, we moved and everything was fine......until 11:30pm when they placed another family next to us. The walls were so thin that we could hear everything, and I mean every word that anyone was saying. The children were crying and this went on for about 1 hr, then quieted down. As we were going back to sleep the kids woke up again and the father was screaming at them. We called down and asked to be moved, yet again, about 1:30 in the morning.

We were finally able to get a couple hours of sleep before the maids started slamming doors and yelling back and forth to each other around 8 am.

My main complaints were the staffs lack of thinking when placing people in the rooms. When a hotel is empty, leave a room between the people to ensure peace and quiet. Having said this, don't waste the few dollars that you save between staying here and the Hampton Inn across the street. We have stayed at the Hampton on several occasions and should have done so again. This time the "bargain" at the Wingate came at the very high cost of no sleep. I will definitely not stay at this hotel again and probably not at another Wingate if the construction is so poor that there is no insulation between rooms.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

i have to agree with the hot tub was not fixed as they said it was, we had a great stay even with the lights going out,, hey we just played cards,
the room was nice and the hotel staff was wonderful. they suggested places to go eat and to shop
we enjoyed the other travelers we met.. it was nice to see a man and his children enjoying the hotel as much as us older travelers
we would stay there again we really enjoyed the pool,,

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Visited the Wingate for three day vacation with my kids. Excellent location, superior service from front desk staff which \capablhy handled a town-wide power outage that shut down the hotel for several hours with flashlights at the ready for all the guests. Very good complimentary continental breakfast that satisfied the whole family.

The ONLY drawback was the hotel's hot tub . As a certified pool operator for my own business, I know that when a hot tub starts to foam, it indicates that the water is saturated with dissolved solids (dirt, body oils, sweat, etc.). The more foam, the dirtier the water. The water in this hot tub was about as dirty as I have ever seen in a public hot tub. A black soot like substance formed on the foam after a short time of operation. I informed the management the first day of my stay and on the fourth day of my departure, the hot tub was still foaming badly. I refused to let my kids get in the hot tub due to the poor water quality. A national brand should require that the maintenance department be certified in the operation of a pool. Pools, and especially hot tubs, can be a dangerous source of infectious disease.

WARNING to travelers - if you enter a hot tub that has a lot of foam in in, understand that you are soaking in everyone elses dirty bathwater...avoid the foam....

Otherwise, the Wingate offered great value, superior service, and an excellent lodging choice for the Lake George area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Lake George

Address: 4054 State Route 9L, Post Office Box 432, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake George
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Lake George Hotel Lake George
Wingate Lake George
Wingate Hotel Lake George
Wyndham Lake George
Lake George Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.