We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Road Stop Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Lake George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Lake George to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Lake George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Road Stop Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I'm giving this 5 stars, not because it's a 5 star hotel, but because they are 5 stars at what they do. Check- in was very personable, with suggestions of what to do, where to eat, where we could purchase alcohol, etc. We found there was a drive-in movie theatre about 1 mile up the road and enjoyed its nostalgia. The room was clean and spacious, as we're the grounds. But the people running the front desk, were down right delightful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Darlokee,

Thankyou for your survey and wonderful comments. We all try very hard to ensure the guest has a great experience. We are glad to have learned you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    100
    17
    9
    31
See reviews for
278
91
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Comfort Suites Hotel in Lake George, NY is a beautiful hotel inside & out!. The front desk staff is very friendly & not in the fake way like most places. The housekeeping staff is excellent & do a wonderful job with cleaning the rooms. My wife & I have stayed at many different hotels with suites that have jacuzzi tubs & their rooms, by far, are the nicest we'd ever stayed in. We both think it's an insult to the hotel that they're only rated 2.5 stars. They should be rated at least 4. The continental breakfast that is served from 6:30-9:30am is delicious as well. If you & your family go on vacation in Lake George, NY I suggest you book a room at Comfort Suites & I guarantee you wont regret it!

Room Tip: My wife & I stayed in room 418 if you want to stay in a nice room with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
G2496,

Thankyou for your survey and comments. I'm glad that you had a great stay. Our staff looks forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, QC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

First and foremost I would like to personally thank Mr. Stark for being incredibly accommodating. We had a family emergency and his kindness and flexibility allowed us to enjoy our stay.

We are a family of four, two adults and two children ages (7 & 11)

Arrival:
Warm, Welcoming, informative and organized.

Room:
Clean , comfortable and convenient...a mini fridge and microwave is VERY handy when ravelling with kids. It allowed us to re-heat unfinished meals and have snacks handy.

Location:
We loved it, we felt that we were in the middle of everything. turn left on Rt 9 you are in the village, turn right you are 1 mile from Six Flags, drive a bit further and you'll find a great town with family friendly restaurants like Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Starbucks, outlet shopping and the shopping mall. ... AND most importantly, Martha's Ice cream!!!!

Staff:
Every single staff member we encountered was friendly, warm and helpful

Pool:
Great fun for the kids, they loved the slide!

Outdoor areas:
Clean and well kept, we spend time one evening in the screened in Gazebo, There is a basketball court and play structure area.

Game room: My kids had fun!

Special touches:
I truly appreciated the fact that the breakfast area was managed when busy so instead of expecting everyone to fend for themselves to find a seat (which can get ugly before morning coffee) or have people hovering over you waiting for you to finish you last bite of toast, they way they mange it by taking down the room number in order of arrival and seating you makes you day start in a relaxing way... The food was hot and yummy, something for everyone.

I also appreciated the various menu that they have available for different restaurants in the area. This allowed me to sit and make meal decisions without the stress...perfect!

This was our first time to Lake George, and definitely not our last and yes, we will choose and recommend Comfort Suites Lake George ( and already have)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Fuzzykiwi,

Wow! Thankyou for your wonderful comments regarding your stay. We are glad that you took advantage of all the Comfort Suites has to offer and all the nearby attractions. Thanks again for the positive feedback.
Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with another family for a short family get a way in lake George. The rooms were large and very clean. The hotel staff was always helpful! It was located close to the outlets and a short drive to lake George village, the light/intersection in front of the hotel tends to be busy and get a bit backed up. The pool area was a huge hit with the kids we had (age 2-10). The breakfast was fair with minimal options but still better than not having the choice of an included breakfast. We would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
amybparks,
Thankyou for your survey and comments. We are glad you had a great time at the Comfort Suites and able to take advantage of nearby places and attractions. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A totally unplanned weekend getaway. Checked Trip Adviser on a Thursday night to see what was available and this hotel was 8th of 88. I always like Choice Hotels when possible. Just a few rooms left at a medium price. AAA sweetened the deal.

Very nice hotel. Well appointed. The rooms were comfortable. Its a no pet, totally non-smoking facility. We were on the third floor. Even with all the kids in the building, the room was very quiet. We did note that the bathroom shower is set up 'odd' The shower curtain is too short so water on floor, the hot water dial appears to be reversed, the safety handle and soap dish were at the wrong end of the tub and the floor of the shower was slippery. I filled out a maintenance card and one of the owner/managers said he would have a look. We knew it would not be fixed during our stay but at least they were aware of it.

We were here from Saturday through Monday. The prices drop substantially from Saturday night to Sunday night. Still, the average per night was under @$200. It rained heavily Sunday morning. The hotel was at capacity. By 9 am the breakfast nook was packed with adults and families and screaming kids. I have never seen a breakfast area that full before. Yet, the staff did a great job managing the chaos. There were at least three women assigned to the breakfast area and supplies were constantly being refilled, waffle batter replaced and tables wiped and washed. They used a sign in system that worked well except for a grouchy mom who gave the hostess a hard time. The hostess held her tongue and all worked out in the end. Nice selection of food, both hot and cold. Waffle machines, fried eggs, bacon, sausage, hard-boiled eggs, three types of cereal, assorted pastries, fruit and yogurt, No lemon for tea but I can accept that.

There is a small fitness area and all machines worked. They have TV access to help the time pass. Thee is a game room with lots of electronic machines and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Even a water slide. The hotel is a mile from Great Escape Amusement park and about three miles from downtown. Far enough away from each to avoid the traffic and craziness. Near lots of restaurants and mini-golf places and outlet stores.

Staff is super friendly and knowledgeable of area. The Stark brothers (Mike and George) are the owners and managers and at least one was on site at all times. Very personable, and spoke to me by name and recognized me the next day. We felt super at home here. Very rare in large modern hotels. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Tatanka49,
Thankyou for your review of the Comfort Suites of Lake George. We try to ensure every guest has an enjoyable experience and are glad to hear that you did. We appreciate your evaluation and hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went to Lake George for a family vacation. This is a very family friendly hotel. Clean rooms and the staff was very friendly. My kids enjoyed the pool slide and the game room. They also have basketball and a play area, although we did not utilize that. Breakfast was good. If we visit Lake George area again I would definitley stay here again and I would recommend it to friends. Wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear hockeyseason,
Glad to hear your family had a great stay. We appreciate the feedback as well. Please consider when visiting the Lake George region again.
Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We came in on a Sunday evening, disappointed with our previous hotel and they were able to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids. Thought the price would be high and not sure if I would be able to get refund from other hotel. The cost was well within competitive costs! Well within distance of all the fun things to do in Lake George. The grounds and inside were very clean. Staff and owners were on site, easy to find and very friendly. The pool was very nice and clean. Nice jacuzzi, pool with slide and a shallow kiddy pool. The breakfast was full breakfast, free and clean. We had plenty of towels and washclothes, didn't have to chase down maids to get more items. Will definitely be staying here again!

Room Tip: Staff will help you choose the right room for your stay, they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSUITES284, General Manager at Comfort Suites Lake George, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thankyou for your survey and response. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Lake George

Address: 1533 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#4 Business Hotel in Lake George
#5 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Lake George 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Lake George Hotel Lake George
Lake George Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.