We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming gateway to the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Lake George

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Lake George to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites Lake George
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1533 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Welcoming gateway to the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Comfort Suites provides one of the most welcoming, helpful places to base a trip to lake george. Sure, the location is super convenient just a half mile to the outlets, another mile to six flags, and maybe 7 miles to town. And the hotel, for a basic brand is surprisingly nice, well manicured spacious and clean with microwaves and fridges in the rooms. But the difference is the staff, and especially the twin brothers who own the place and work their full-time. They are super enthusiast and excited to show you around.

For some context, my first trip to Lake George was 3 years ago, when i needed a last minute vacation hotel for me and my then 3yo daughter. I didn't know where to go or what she'd like. All the other hotels we're ovdr the top expensive and frustratingly unhelpful. Then I got Mike on the phone, who told me he was one of the owners and proceeded to give me tips and assurances how to make the trip work. My daughter fell in love with the poiol and oversized water slide. Whatever our mood we are near good options, and the front desk wil always point us to a few local gems.

I've know gone back 6 times in 3 years, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    95
    16
    9
    31
See reviews for
271
84
8
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites, Lake George for 2 nights during the Labor Day weekend. It's about a mile from 87, right on Route 9. About 4 miles from Lake George village. There is a lot of shopping (outlets) just a few yards from the hotel. BTW - this place is not in Lake George, this is in the next town over - Queensbury. It's a good place with large pool, whirlpools, play place for the kids. The breakfast was good for this size hotel. Only thing I didn't like was that the bed was not that comfortable. Also I could hear almost everything that my neighbors were talking about - walls are not sound proof. Overall we felt that it was a good property - clean place, within reach to a lot of attractions.

Room Tip: It's 4 miles from all the attractions at Lake George Village but a straight drive from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were happy we chose Comfort Suites to stay. We were so graciously greeted, and helped out with activity choices by the front desk. Our room has two queen size beds and a pullout sofa. The indoor pool with the slide is a major hit (as the kids loved it and it enabled them all to play with each other). Also, there is a well kept playground for younger/older kids and a gameroom too. The hotel is right next to Lumberjack Pass Mini Golf, but we went there for the ice cream - easy walk through the back parking lot. The location was good too! It is right by the outlets, 3 mile drive to Lake George Village, and if you go the other way, about 3-5 miles from Great Escape.... you must have ice cream at Martha's (across the street from Great Escape). One more thing... it's nice to have the breakfast right there in the hotel. They have a waffle maker, a couple of hot dishes, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. When we come back we would stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed for three nights in August to visit the Lake and surrounding area. Upon arrival, it was clear the hotel grounds were well maintained. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean. The hotel is not located directly on the lake, in fact it's about three miles down the road, however, it is far nicer than most of the older motels/hotels located on the lake. Comfort suites is located conveniently next to a miniature golf course with a path connecting them, great spot for evening putt putt and ice cream.

This was a pleasant experience and I would recommend the hotel for someone visiting Lake George. There is excellent value in this resort. During the summer months, especially August, even the least favorable resorts in the area inflate their prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am a returning customer to this hotel and once again had a great experience. The owners are very friendly and staff also. They want your stay to be very pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is super clean, big rooms, and morning breakfast is great!! It is centrally located in between Lake George Village and Aviation Mall. It is also in walking distance to the Outlets, and Lumberjack Pass Mini Putt (must try!). Great hotel and staff! This is the place to stay in Lake George!! See you next year!! :)

Room Tip: Ask for the coupon book at the main desk for the Lake George Outlets!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for five nights while we vacationed in Lake George. The hotel is relatively new. It is clean and well kept. My only complaint is about the breakfast - standard free hotel fare nothing special, definately needs upgrading. Otherwise our stay here was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Suites operated by Mike Stark (and his brother). The hotel was clean, the service was excellent, and the staff was courteous. We felt warm wanted and welcome. The complimentary breakfast was pleasantly well organized and most filling.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Charles, Brooklyn, NY

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Lake George

Address: 1533 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#4 Business Hotel in Lake George
#5 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Lake George 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Comfort Suites Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Lake George Hotel Lake George
Lake George Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Lake George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.