We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Crest Inn

Save Saved
You added Lake Crest Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Crest Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   366 Canada Street, Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Lake George B&B and Inns
windsor, ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lake Crest –Lake George NY
We have been going to the Lake Crest for about twenty years, it is very quiet and the grounds are very pretty. It is always cool in the summer as there are many trees surrounding the complex. The rooms are spacious and very clean due to they’re dedicated Maid, Housekeeping staff who are also very friendly.
The front desk clerk Ruth is exceptional, always ensuring everything is perfect. We have become good friends over the years.
If you are fortunate to have a lake front room, the lake is breath taking in the morning. Walking distance to the village and watching the fireworks is just buetiful. We love it there as we have met many good friends. The management does not allow any disrespectful guests that do not have other quests in their best interest.
It would be awesome to see some new wallpaper in the rooms as it is a bit outdated, the rooms would be beautiful. Also instead of using the air conditioner it would be nice to have ceiling fans in the rooms.
We usually visit two or three time a year and are looking forward to visiting again soon.

SHIRLEY & LARRY

Room Tip: Lake front rooms are awsome, view of the lake is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
21
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have just arrived home a day early from what was supose to be a 3 night stay at the Inn. After paying $250.00 a night for our room we were really expecting a nice clean room. What we got though was something out of that 70's show. When entering our room we noticed right away that there was a musty smell not only in the room but also when we turned on the air conditioner. The furniture was so old that you swore you just stepped back in time to 1970. Big ugly wood block chairs, old lamps, the bed was horribly uncomfortable and the pillows were as hard as rocks. When entering the bathroom things just got worse.We were left with one wash cloth that had a big black dirt spot on it. There was hair stuck to the back of the toilet lid. The toilet paper was so thin you could see through it. I have never seen anything like it in my life and my husband and I travel alot and have stayed at many many hotels. We ended up staying the night because we were allready here and all though we were very uncomfortable we just figured our house keeper maybe was having a bad day. We are not people who complain and can deal with all kinds of situations so we did stay the night and hoped the next day would be better. So the next morning we ventured out and had a wonderful day of shopping and sightseeing. The area and location is gorgeous so that was a plus. When we returned our room had been cleaned and new linen was placed in the bathroom but when looking at our linen yes you guessed it another dirty towel this time. My husband was very upset and went to the office to complain because at this point we had had enough. The office staff did apologize and said that if we wanted to leave early that they would refund us a night's stay. We took them up on the offer and got out of there. Needless to say we will never stay there again. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay with yoyu guys. We enjoyed the view from the pool and that it was in walking distance to shops. We really enjoyed the breakfast.. We would also recommended this place and stay again everytime we come. We are thinking of coming for the weekend for our anniversary in September.
Thanks Again
Ed and Tammy Smith

Room Tip: We didn't have a room preference i found it very quiet and we were close to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Lake Crest Inn this past weekend and had a great time. The location CANNOT be beat - right on the lake and a block's walk into the town center. Pool and lake areas were kept clean, and we enjoyed the sunshine all weekend long.

The only downside here was that we had to pay $15 to rent a kayak for an hour...while most of the other hotels in the area advertised free boat rentals. We actually didn't even use the whole hour because the life jackets were so smelly that we had to bring the boat back in.

Rooms were clean and had everything we needed - my only complaint was that the rooms weren't cleaned until at least 1-2 PM. It would have been nice to come back to a cleaned room when we came in to change for lunch.

I will also say that the staff was great. Answered all of our (many) questions and always friendly. We didn't wind up trying the cafe until our last day there but should have tried it from the beginning. It was great! Get the pancakes.

All in all, Lake Crest Inn is a phenomenal value. You will have a great time if you stay there!

Room Tip: Non-"lake front"/"lake view" rooms are less expensive, but still totally close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Lake Crest Inn ten years ago and upon our return trip were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were updated, clean, lots of beautiful gardens and flowers. Really really cute!! The Inn is right on the waterfront and the Thursday we enjoyed ourselves watching fireworks from our room. Really nice. There is a sandy beach, friendly staff, breakfast restaurant on site and a minutes walk to the down town.
We really enjoyed this location and found the rates to be extremely reasonable for the area. We recommend this Inn and will be back next year.

Terri & Doug 2012

Room Tip: Rooms numbered L are on the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnemede, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the lake crest inn this past week. This was our first time at the inn, our 12th summer in lake George. I consistently post a fair review on trip advisor each year. I would rate this location as average for the following reasons.
1. Location is decent walk to the village if you have young children consider a coach.
2. Double rooms are spacious. The decor is rustic 70's and the rooms are very dark. The Mini fridge was clean and stayed cold. NO COFFEE POT!!
3. Amenities the pool was too cold to swim for any length of the it was clean. The "beach" is a VERY small area with a step down to the water. The water is home to a gaggle of ducks that are not so friendly! There are also no pool towels available!
4. Parking there is not enough parking at this location. There are 40 rooms as advertised and about 25 parking spaces. I'm not a math major but common sense dictates that not everyone will have a parking space during high season! I was told each room had a space when I booked! This was an issue worrying about parking and your car getting hit. We were blocked in one night and couldn't get out if we had to.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glocester, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at the lake crest during the end of July - first week of August, we could not have been happier. The staff was excellent, they were very accommodating. We would like to thank Ruth and Melissa, for making our trip very comfortable and memorable. We would definitly recommend the Lake Crest and we will return soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crest Inn

Address: 366 Canada Street, Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Crest Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lake Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Crest Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.