We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay in L-6” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Crest Inn

Save Saved
You added Lake Crest Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Crest Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   366 Canada Street, Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Lake George B&B and Inns
Clarendon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't Stay in L-6”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We have stayed at Lake Crest a few times and thought we would like to stay in L-6 because of its proximity to the beach and the nice screened in porch. Big mistake. When we walked in the room, it stunk and the smell never left even when we left the door to the porch open. The furniture is mostly 70's, the one floor lamp listed to the side. The bed looked fairly new, but the sheets didn't even fit the bed and it was horrible to try and sleep on it. The room stayed damp and the floor felt wet all the time, so we had to leave the heat on. There were flies on the floor by the lavatory in the hallway and the floor in the bathroom had big stains on it. I would not recommend this room to anyone. I know this was early in the season, and we did stay mid-week, but they also advertise a breakfast restaurant in front and it was closed. Very disappointing stay for the price they charged us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrestInn, Manager at Lake Crest Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Sharon C.
We are very surprised with this review because the front office was not informed of any issues during your stay. We would have greatly appreciated if you had spoken your concerns to the front office staff which would have accommodated you graciously with another room if they had known there was a problem. As you are a valued return guest, the front office would have been more than happy to accommodate you and your family if the concerns were brought up during your stay. The management and staff at the Lake Crest care about your experiences when you stay with us and we want you to know we are listening. Please let us know if you have any concerns at all during your future stays so we can accommodate you and your family.

Thank you,
Lake Crest Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    8
    9
    11
See reviews for
21
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lake Crest Inn this past summer and loved it! It is a great place to stay not only because of the location but for the lake front pool, lake access, friendly staff and yummy breakfast restaurant! We stayed in a courtyard room, the price was great and the room was huge! It was super convenient to all the bars and we were able to walk into the village, check out the restaurants or just hang out on our front deck.
We'll definitely be back this summer and are going to try getting a lake front room. They are a bit more expensive but hey, you get a direct lake view!
Overall, Lake Crest is a gem in the middle of LG village. Looking forward to coming back this summer!

Room Tip: Lake front rooms are awesome- the view is beautiful and right next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Cty, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

First time at the Lake Crest and was not disappointed. Pool overlooked the lake. Everything was clean. Had housekeeping service each day we were there. No complaints. Would defintely go back.
One tip - cafe on site, but I was disappointed with the buttermilk pancakes. Someone ordered eggs and had to pay extra for toast. Very odd. Also menu online differs from menu received inside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family has been staying in Lake George for may years. This was our first time at the Lake Crest Inn. I have to say, we were very disappointed. The outside is very attactive and you can tell that a lot of money has been put into the Inn. We stayed in a 2 room suite with a kitchenette. You could tell that one of the bedrooms was a recent addition, however the furniture was still from the 70's. The kitchenette was a dangerous place. I turned the faucet on, only to find water all over the floor a few minutes later. When I opended the panel under the sink I found the drain pipe was disconnected. That wasn't the worst. There were also many electrical wires and an outlet where the refrigerator was plugged in, all in the same area. There are no outlets in the bathroom. No mirrors other than the bathroom. No clocks. Nothing stays plugged into the outlets that are there. The people are nice and the rooms are clean, but I have to say that the room was not worth what we paid. I am not a difficult person to please and have never written a review before, but felt that I had to write this one.

Room Tip: Physically look at the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night, luckily. As we entered our clean room it had a very musty smell to it. There was no clock in the room to even know what time it was or to get up bye. The toilet seat was half broken, it wouldn't open up all the way. The outside of the restaurant and office are newly renovated and look beautiful, that's why we picked this motel to stay at but the rooms have not been updated! We weren't even told anything about the restaurant above the office, don't know if it included a continental breakfast or not. I would not recommend this place. Go up the road and take a trolly downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is over rated. They charges us $129 per night to book in advance and then allowed people who did not book a rate of $109 per night. They had lots of excuses as to why this was, none of which made any sense. The rooms are clean but dated - vintage 1970's. The beach is the size of a postage stamp. You can't see much of the lake. Quite a rip off. Drive past just a bit down the road and you will find many nicer places to stay. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeCrestInn, Front Office Manager at Lake Crest Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Greetings from the Lake Crest Inn,

We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experiences at the Lake Crest Inn. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the comments highlighting areas where we can improve.

The management and staff at the Lake Crest care about your experiences when you stay with us and we want you to know we are listening. The reason your rate was $129 per night for a Queen Bed was because you stayed for 2 nights. Your neighbors were staying for 4 nights at a rate of $109 per night. We do realize the country is in a recession so we do offer our guests that stay more than 2 nights a discount.

A $100,000+ renovation of the front of our property has been completed in May 2011. The new owners have had this place for just 3 shorts years but in that time have done a tremendous amount of work. So much so that Lake Crest has won the Beautification Award 2 years running! Unfortunately, we cannot do anything about the size of our beach front. It has been the same size for 50 years.

Please accept our sincerest apologies with this matter. Be assured that we are working diligently on the issues you have brought to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back.

With much thanks for your kind words,
Lake Crest Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Was in Lake George recently for a guys weekend camping on the islands on the north end of the lake. My girlfriend and I decided to stay a night in the village before parting ways to meet up with friends. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff was excellent. It is located within a 2 min walk of the town center with shops, bars and restaurants, which made dinner and drinks very convenient. The beach and pool area where very nice, however the sun unfortunately did not want to cooperate. Don't miss breakfast at the restaurant before heading out it is the best I have had in Lake George.

Room Tip: Can get crowded so plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Crest Inn

Address: 366 Canada Street, Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Crest Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Crest Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.