We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST YEAR YET!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Birches

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Birches
Save
You added Twin Birches to your Saves list
3201 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“BEST YEAR YET!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We just returned from our 7th summer vacation to Lake George and our 1st stay at the Twin Birches. We had a terrific time!! Although this was our first time not directly on the lake, we were not bothered, as the property more than made up for it. Flat space for the kids to play and ride bikes...something you can't do on the lake side with the steep inclines. Lovely cabins. My kids loved the game room (pool, ping pong, air hockey were their favorites). The mini-golf course was very enjoyable. Gorgeous basketball and tennis courts in the back of the property. Fire pits for every cabin. Porches/patios. The grounds are very well kept. Loved the beautiful gardens and the front pool area was gorgeous. Loved the pool! And yes, it was a walk to the beach, but my goodness, does Twin Birches have one of the most beautiful lake front properties we have seen!! My kids loved jumping off the docks and swim platform. The water was deep enough that you could actually swim and not just "wade" in the water like many other lake front properties. We walked down a few times and it was fine. For older folks or families with young children, I would definitely recommend driving down, but otherwise a lovely walk. We found the owners and staff friendly and helpful. We are booked for next year and can't wait! Thank you Twin Birches family and staff!! :D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The first night we stayed we had a mouse in our cottege. The owner came up with sticky paper to catch it and was laughing at the incident... which was NOT at all funny. He said he would be back the next day to plug up the hole in the corner. The mouse was caught and another piece of sticky paper was put down for the night, a 2nd mouse was caught the next day. We had to call around noon time to get rid of the second mouse and the owner had (just happen) to go into town to get the foam to plug up the hole. I would have expected this to be taken care of first thing in the morning, rather than us having to call at noon.

There are 2 pools, the one towards the back of the resort is a kids pool (3 ft deep) but it is not enforced for kids to use this pool and is often empty. The larger pool which is by the main road and hear the traffic the whole time has young kids swimming and often in the deeper ends so that the older kids have no place to swim. The game room is dated and half the games don't work. The mini golf is a joke and also dated. The housekeeping is poor at best... cob webs in lights, dust everywhere. My son found a pair of dirty clothes (underwear, socks) in the dresser drawers... was never cleaned out from previous guests.

The cottaes are equiped with the bare minimum of supplies... not even a pot holder. When complained to the staff, they didn't care and only said they have heard that same complaint before. We had to go out and spendanother $100 just getting the bare necessities in the cottege... cooking supplies, pot holder, dish sponge, dish soap, etc. Its not worth complaining they don't want to hear it or address the concerns. There was a large party there that are return customers and let them run the property and even after other families complained still didn't do anything. While they cater to them they lost any return business from us. Don't waste your money there are many other properties to choose from than ones that have mice and poor customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our fourth year at the Twin Birches. The kids are growing up looking forward to the family vacation here. We now have our traditions -- walking to the lake in the early morning with the youngest and having our daily talk, making campfires at night, the Monday night Smores Night, Boating, Canoeing, Hiking, Swimming, Exploring the streams and rivers of the Adirondacks, Having fun in town. Then coming back to a comfortable, well kept cabin and having dinner all together. We will be coming back for a long time to come!! Thank you to the Rose's who make this a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Me an my young children tryed to play mini golf, and the hotel owner cursedout my children. He later threatend to hurt them! The mini golf was alwfull and the workers are incredably rude. My children were scared and wouldnt leave the room the rest of the week. The game room was cheezy and half the machines dont work.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The cottage was immaculate, the staff very friendly and accommodating. The grounds are very well kept, with lots to do for kids. Great location! We enjoyed our experience at Twin Birches and will be going back! p.s. our friends who visited while we were there will be coming back as well !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is our Second year at Twin Birches. We have booked again for next year adding another family to our group!!!! This year we stayed in Cabin 8, which is a pet friendly cabin. I know what people are thinking why would you want to stay in a "pet friendly" cabin doesn't it stink? There was no odor, you would have never known there was a pet in there. There is a mid week cleaning where they change all the bed linens, And clean the cabin as though you were just coming in. We stayed in cabin 4 last year, our friends were in cabin 20, all the cabins are very clean. In the cabins are basic needs pots, dishes, coffee pot toaster. They have some form of a deck and a picnic table and fire pit!! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained! My 18 month old just loved the heated pool!! Kids can run free without worry!! Our kids love to build a fire at night and make smores and play games. The Rose family is very informative and run a wonderful business!!!!Thanks for building some memories for us!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

There were several great things about this property and a few things not so great.
PRO'S: beautifully maintained property, cabins are a decent size and clean (they change all the bed linens comforter, blanket, sheets between guests), accomodating owners, plenty to do for the kids. Had a great open area to play games or throw a ball/frisbee around.

CONS: Not directly on the beach and the walk is horrible...no beach front. The area by the lake is nice but u can't sit with feet in the water unless you want to sit on the dock with kids or adults trying to get around you. (I prefer to sit in the sand). The cabins lacked some things in the kitchen utensils (no knives, and only 5 forks, spoons, and plates). There was only a 2 burner stove. The fridge was warm, then froze our food. The TV was small and there was only 1 for the whole cabin. The AC was in the dining room area near the bathroom and it was difficult to get the cool air in the 2 bedrooms. We had to buy small fans for the rooms. The door had to be propped open with a magazine because they wouldn't stay open on their own. There were trip hazards in the bathroom, the stairs going into the cabin. The walls were thin. We had a ton of ants (I know it's the adirondacks) but our freinds had none...we went to the office and got ant traps and that helped.

You have to go to the office to get a remote and put a $20.00 deposit down...we didn't know this until the 3rd day! It wasn't on the form they gave us and nothing was said when we checked in. We also had to bring our towels down to the office everyday to get new ones and put our own trash out. The cabins don't have brooms or vacuums to do any cleaning.

Our unit had a row of cabins behind it. The cabins behind us had their firepits/picnic tables behind our row of cabins. The firepits were right under our bedroom. There were several nights that a group of people hanging out late drinking and being loud. We could've called bc they have a 11:00pm quiet time, but tried to ignore it bc it was vacation for everyone. If we went back we would choose the cabins on the other side.

The beds weren't comfy...I can honestly say it was the worst sleep I had in awhile.

All in all, the place was nice and I would consider going back. I just wished it had a beach to sit on and relax at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twin Birches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Birches

Address: 3201 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Twin Birches Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Birches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.