We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Motel to your Saves list
Lake Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   380 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The location of this motel is good, however be warned that the rooms are extremely small. The rooms are clean and the staff was friendly, but we booked a lake view room, and instead got a view of the parking lot. It was disappointing and although the stay was decent, I would much rather spend my money elsewhere where I can get an actual lakeview.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your stay and your high marks for cleanliness and service. While room amenities are virtually identical, every room is slightly different, ranging in size from 160 square feet to over 300 square feet. We make available pictures of every room on the property online and encourage everyone to view them before making a choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    40
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lake Motel provides a clean environment, cozy and very comfortable bed. We all slept well. The staff is very friendly and always so happy to be of service. The motel also provides a good view of the lake. It was also quiet at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for telling others about your stay. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I just returned home from the Lake Motel no more than two hours ago and I already miss it . This marks the 5th stay in the past two years and lets face it with all the other options on Lake George if I didn't Love it I wouldn't keep returning. From the moment I pick up the phone to make a reservation to the moment I regretfully have to leave I feel wanted and cared for. The owners and entire staff are very friendly and truly try to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

Every year they keep adding or improving to the overall experience. This particular year they put in 32" flat screen TV's , beefed up their WiFi, installed two new stainless steel barbecues, added extra chairs by the pool and even have kayaks and fishing rods you can sign out at the office as well as a swimming area ON the lake. Like I said it just keeps getting better.

The rooms are always spotless and the bedding and towels fresh and clean. The water is good and hot with great pressure and the drains work wonderfully. The coffee in the office flows whenever requested long after the morning is done and the staff is always helpful when asking about dining or activities in the area. Hey, they're locals from way back when, who knows better ???

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. The enjoyment of guests like you is the greatest reward we get. My wife, the staff and I truly feel fortunate to know and serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Lake Motel for years, and I must say that under Steve and Jorgina the place is 100% better. They have updated the rooms and made everything so much nicer then it was under the previous owners. You will see them both working around the Motel, but they always have time for their guest and they have a Great BBQ ( $10.00 ) on Saturday nights in the pool area. The pool and area is very clean and you can go to the lower deck and enjoy the lake water as well. Edrie and Shannon are 2 of the friendly ladies at the front desk and are always willing to give a hand if you need one, from where to eat, to shopping, to what to do on a raining day. The staff is also friendly and willing to help if need be. We stay at the Lake Motel for Elvis Weekend, Car Show in September, and a couple of days in the summer each month. The price is right and you can walk to the village, all the restaurants, Thank you all for making us feel at home.

Bill and Debi Sponable

Room Tip: The end rooms are great, they overlook the lake and you can what the steamboats go by. Upstairs is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience. We are committed to continually upgrading our facilities while keeping our rates affordable. Your presence brightens our day every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We do quite a bit of travelling, and this was one of the best experiences I ever had living in a hotel/motel. Very friendly owner and staff. And the view of the lake was also very nice. I will definitely stay there if we visit lake George again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. We are the fortunate ones to have served you. Hope you are able to return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a one night stay, to see a concert at Saratoga Performing Arts Center. Extremely friendly front desk, nice clean room with a king bed. The bathroom was on the smaller side but spotless. Good, affordable pizza delivery from a place called Pizza Jerks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the review. We pride ourselves on our commitment to cleanliness and take delight in our customers' enjoyable experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at The Lake Motel this past Memorial Day weekend. We stayed here for the weekend and it was a lovely experience. As this was the beginning of the season we expected to pay a lot of money but the hotel was very reasonably priced. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We checked in and Shannon at the desk was really very nice and helpful. She was very knowledgeable about the area especially with what to do with kids in bad weather. The view was beautiful and we really could not have asked for a nicer place to stay. If you're looking for a great price, clean rooms and fantastic staff then I would recommend The Lake Motel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeMotel, Owner at Lake Motel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the words of encouragement. I wish we could have done something about the cold weather but everyone seemed to have a good time nonetheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Motel

Address: 380 Canada St., Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#20 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Lake George
Lake Hotel George
Lake Motel George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.