We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, beds in old building not good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Motel of Lake George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Studio Motel of Lake George to your Saves list
Studio Motel of Lake George
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3929 East Shore Drive (Rt. 9L), PO Box 627, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place, beds in old building not good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been to Lake George probably 40 times over the years. Decided to stay here based on reviews from others. The location is fabulous. The pool is extremely clean with salt water filtraiton, very nice and warm. At check in we were given room in old building (closest to road) as we reserved room with 2 double beds to accomodate our little one. Don't really like to have to pay entire amount in advance but ok... The room itsself was very clean, stand up shower only which is not the preference for the missus but ok. Bathroom very small. Refrig. was a nice touch so we could buy food to keep some vacation costs down. The grounds were emaculate with a play area. Housekeeping did a good job on the 1 day we allowed the room to be cleaned. There are 2 buildings near the rear of the property that seem to be much newer. We did notice that those 2 buildings are essentially 3 stories with the lowest level underground with only rear facing rooms. The beds in the old building were very uncomfortable and slightly canted toward head being lower, and the pillows were about as thick as three paper towels. Don't misunderstand, for the price we would definitely stay there again, and plan to, but would get a room in one of the newer buildings and would request a forward (pool) facing room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building, NOT on the lowest level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lake George
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As a regular visitor to Lake George(en route to Montreal) I usually avoid a summer trip. When I do pass through at the height of the season I like to stay in a reasonable place , off the beaten track. The Studio Motel of Lake George is very good. It is reasonable (book directly) and convenient to Georges restaurant and the East Cove Inn. two of my favorites. I stayed in the older section.The walls are thin and the facilities very basic. But for a night it was just fine. The newer section seems better and I would recommend it for longer stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulieinBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This little place is affordable and nice, not brand new, not perfect, but very very nice place to stay...great rest and relax spot. volleyball net, playground, pool, grilling area, washer and dryer, quiet, nice park and beach near by

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love this clean and quiet motel. Just of the strip (Canada St.), this is a perfect location at Lake George. Short walk to the beach and all the downtown fun. We rented the kitchen suite so we could save a little cash by eating breakfast and snacks at the motel. The price is extremely reasonable and the rooms are extremely clean. The pool is crystal clear and the perfect temperature for all ages. Just a quarter mile up the road is a beautiful paved biking and walking path that brings you to the beach. The staff is friendly and accomodating. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this motel to anyone looking for a wonderful time in Lake George.

Room Tip: Request a kitchen suite facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family visited the Lake George region over the 4th of July weekend and found this motel on hotels.com. We were pleasantly surprised at the huge room and the cleanliness. Very basic room, but it was really all we needed. Our daughter enjoyed the playground and the pool, and we enjoyed the balcony and the convenience to everything. My only concern is there are no deadbolts on either the front door or the balcony door, only locks on the doorknobs. I would have had more peace of mind with deadbolts. Other than that, good value for the money, and we could see ourselves staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DrLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I and our 2 young children just came back from Lake George and we had such an amazing time staying here in a room with a kitchenette. It is just a few minutes from the main area, but far enough away from all the busy traffic and noise. It's really clean, the price is extremely reasonable, the owner is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the heated pool and little playground for our toddler. We are already planning our trip next year to Lake George and will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Choose a lower room if you have kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I visit Lake George every summer, I have stayed in few good hotels , every summer in different one. But, that thing is about to change, because i finaly found the Best Place to stay in Lake George.

First of all, this place is so peacefull , has very clean and big rooms , big yard with playground area for the kids, and wonderfull pool . The pool hours are form 10 am to 10 pm, and the water is constantly warm , beacause, the water-heater is working all the time.

There is free wi-fi , and free parking in front of your room. There are also many barbacue areas.
The staff members are very polite, especially the owner , he is very helpfull and friendly.

The prices are very affordable, so go ahead and book your room , before it is too late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darko08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#16 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.8 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
3.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#17 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Motel of Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Motel of Lake George

Address: 3929 East Shore Drive (Rt. 9L), PO Box 627, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lake George
#14 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Studio Motel of Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio motel of Lake George is destination of choice for families to relax in beautiful adirondack park, nestled in twelve acres of lush green tall pines and surrounded by majestic mountains, the guests really feel themselves in the lap of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Studio Motel of Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Motel Of Lake George Hotel Lake George
Studio Motel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing