We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend get-away.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Castle Resort to your Saves list
Sun Castle Resort
3178 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 271, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Summer Rates
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Lexington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend get-away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Girls weekend in one of the townhouses, and it was just right, and would love to return to the same place next year. The grounds are beautiful and appear well maintained. The townhouse was furnished with homey, comfortable furniture, and the kitchen was very well stocked with appliances and tools. We enjoyed the kayaks, and access to the pool. ( too cold to swim) Debbie, the manager, was more than accommodating, and helpful. Reading other reviews;I am not sure about the "villas" they do appear outdated from the outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrnwright64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoopo, Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting your girl's getaway weekend- I hope it becomes a yearly tradition with us!
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have been going to Sun Castle every year since I could remember. The resort is beautiful and the lake is amazing. We stay in the same Villa every year and every year I cry when we leave. The staff is so helpful, and Debbie is by far the most helpful. She will do anything for her guests and works so hard to make sure everything runs smoothly. The rest of the staff is just as wonderful. The villas are small but definitely enough room for six people in the two bedroom ones.The decor is a little dated but it makes it feel more homey. The location of the resort couldn't be better. Just outside of the village so you don't have to be around all the buzz of the village but you can easily take a five minute ride to get to anything you would ever need. I would reccommend this resort to everyone.

Room Tip: Villa 9 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoopo, Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We certainly value our families who stay with us each summer and in some cases we have 4th and 5th generations. We are very glad you had another great stay and we will look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We come once yearly to Lake George and usually stay at the Quarters, which is nice. This year, there were no availabilities anywhere but we did find at the Sun Castle resort. We rented two "villas" for two families. Let us just say the term "villa" does not apply. "Run down shack" is more fitting.

The villas look run down from the outside and it does not get better when you get inside.

The deck is run down and looks like it has not been painted or maintained for decades.

We have no use for the barbecue and thankfully because it was disgusting.

The screen door looks like it may fall apart when you touch it

The carpet is dirty and stained

The kitchen is the size of a cubicle with appliances from the 50's

The sofa bed is a hazard to any back and after spending the first night sleepless because of the metal bar digging in my back, I spent the rest of the stay on an air mattress that we got.

Even the cheap blinds in the window of the "living room" have a bunch of them missing and those remaining are broken and cracked

The bathrooms look like they date from the 40's

The furniture is old and dilapidated

A bunch of light bulbs were not working. Our friends' bathroom had no shower curtain and was therefore not usable.

All this could potentially be tolerated despite the $400 per night rate if the service was just passable. Unfortunately it was awful and to say unprofessional would be generous.

After we complained, the "manager" (who, I agree has no concept of even the most basic tenets of customer service) reimbursed us one night each, which was appropriate. What was inappropriate was the how defensive and confrontational she got, blaming us for not complaining earlier, which we tried to but there was nobody there!!

On a positive note, the view of the lake is very nice. Fortunately, this is not the only place that has that view.

Our impression is that they are basically letting these units run down without maintenance and trying to extract every penny from customers in the meantime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoopo, Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We strive for each and every guests comfort and enjoyment. Unfortunately, we can not promptly address issues for our guests when we are unaware of any. We feel that you would have been more comfortable in the townhome that we offered to you, which you declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The main plumbing line was in the basement of our 300 a night cabin so a few times a day you would hear the door below the cabin slam open. After several times hearing this I went down and see grizzly the maintenance man sitting in a chair just hanging out, which was creepy and detracted from the overall privacy with thin cabin floors. Asked management to stop the hanging out but nothing was done as she doesnt understand or care. Coffee maker never worked and neither did the replacement. I cleaned the ac filters which were filthy. Game room and dock area filthy. On a positive note the location was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regireg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

So we came here a week ago and we are leaving tomorrow and its about time to write this review, the resort has a nice view to the lake, property is better than expected, nice size town homes and villas, BUT, the management and service is HORRIBLE, and I am serious, the first concern was the staff, they didn't clean our rooms, on,y one thing they did is gave us some towels and nothing else. Second thing is our friends' fridge got broken, and they asked for second one, couple hours later it got broken once again, basically their hardware is very cheap and poor maintained. The third is, I got really pissed off, is about the manager o_O, yeah right "the property manger who is disorganized, delusional, uneducated, doesn't know what is a costumer service is, she needs education before getting this job title. We were grilling on the gas grill, we removed the gas tank from this cheapest grill you can ever buy, and we put charcoal and some wood pieces inside the grill, and we started cooking steaks, so she comes to us, she was rude to us and didn't follow the job customer service policy again she was rude, dis respective while talking to us about cooking on that grill, she said its wrong and cooking on a gas grill steaks is wrong, we removed the gas tank and she still was rude to us, she is stupid, overall it's a disorganized service that needs majority of improvements. If you ever want to stay here, my advice to you is to save your money and choose the hotel that is right next to it, they got better amenities and a nice restaurant right on the lake, forget about this one, not even a Four Star Resort, that's nonsense!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoopo, Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our staff is committed to excellent customer service. It is New York State law that if we provide any room service, we must charge sales tax. Most of our guests choose the towel exchange service only to save the 11% sales tax. We do have both options available to our guests.

Although maintenance issues do happen from time to time, we quickly address all issues.

The safety of all our guests is the highest priority. Our insurance policy holder along with the fire department consider our gas grills, purchased new each july, to be the safest option for grilling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Does anyone know that Real Housewives of New Jersey filmed an episode on this property? Well, I am sure that the Bravo Network did quite a bit of research before hand and found out that this is the best property on Lake George.

My husband and I returned to Sun Castle July 13th to 18th. Every time we go it is like going home (except better). We have stayed in one of the villas in the past but, last year we had the opportunity to move to one of the townhouses. The town house that we stayed in this year was even better than the one last year. The extreme positive about Sun Castle is that just about every town house and, villa have a direct lake view. Vacationers need to appreciate this and, to keep the memories going when they return home. I have read some less than positive reviews of the villas. I think that what trip advisor readers do not know are about the families that return to this resort after 20+ years and, stay in the villas. We see the same groups of people every year since we started staying at Sun Castle in 2005. They can say nothing but great things.

The other new addition this year was a 2nd beach. No, the beaches are not large but, how many properties have 2 beaches? The new beach is great. Smooth sand and, no rocks. A good diversion from sitting by the pool. We usually sit at the pool. This year we were at the beach every day enjoying the lake.

Next, the housekeeping and, maintenance staff is outstanding. Mary and her crew will take care of anything that you need and go the extra mile and, this includes Shannon who is in a class by himself. Maybe he can be the next Iron Man!!!

Lastly, I cannot forget my soul mate Debbie who runs the office and, manages things throughout the resort. Debbie, I would be remiss if I did not tell you what an excellent job you do. You will never know how much I appreciate everything. This goes for anyone that is thinking of and/or going to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoopo, Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we certainly value your input. We look forward to your return, see you next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family just returned from a very enjoyable week at Suncastle. Debbie and her staff were courteous and very attentive to any if our needs. The location is perfect. Beaches are small, but not rocky. The Monday night BBQ was a nice addition. The villa was clean. Each room had a tv. Furniture was dated, but fine for a rustic getaway with young kids. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyguy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
0.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#27 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.3 mi away
Lodges at Cresthaven
Lodges at Cresthaven
#3 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Castle Resort

Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, P.O. Box 271, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
#10 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Adirondack Park, Sun Castle Resort offers over 1,000 feet of lake front property on beautiful Lake George, NY. Our townhouses and villas offer a variety of services with wonderful views of the lake and the Adirondack mountains. Our townhouses are two story buildings with full kitchen, family room, 2-bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. The kitchens include full size refrigerator, stove and oven with a dishwasher along with a eat at kitchen bar. A dining table separates the kitchen from the family room space where many units include a gas fireplace. Family rooms enjoy large screen televisions and a deck facing Lake George. The master bedrooms have king size beds and a private bathroom. Many have private decks facing the lake. The guest bed rooms offer either queen size or two-twin beds depending on the unit. A bedroom entrance to the hallway bath provides privacy to the guest bedroom. Our villas are one story units that bring back memories of visiting the lake as a child. More rustic than the townhouses, the villas offer two bedrooms, and one or two baths depending on the unit. A large family room space faces the lake with outstanding views of the lake and mountains. Apartment size kitchens are available. Townhouses and villas are air conditioned and have heat. The property includes two beaches and playgrounds with spacious yard areas. Docks are available for daily or weekly rental and can accommodate boats of unto 35' in length and 12+' beams. An outdoor, heated pool along with complementary kayaks complete the water play activities for Sun Castle Resort guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sun Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Castle Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing