We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John Barleycorn's Pub - CLOSED

John Barleycorn's Pub
375 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1121
518-668-9348
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ordered the Meatloaf. Yum! The Guinness bread was outstanding. I asked for more to take with me. The sad thing is, they are in their final year.They are tearing the building down and building a Marriott. I hope they relocate!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    8
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I absolutely love this place. The atmosphere is so inviting. I would recommend turning up the lighting a little, because it is admittedly too dim. However, working next door to the pub, the staff, myself included, would order almost daily. We could always count on getting fresh, excellent meals, from their soups, to their sandwiches, fries, and of course beer! They would always bring our food over which was a plus. I wish I could remember the girls name who I became particularly friendly with. She was the absolute sweetest and John, the owner, is SO genuine. I would absolutely recommend Barleycorn to any person, from a family going for lunch, to a couple going to have some drinks and watch some sports. These people are SO sweet, the food is great, the drinks are perfect. I love Barleycorn! I also loved how you could sit inside at a table, at the bar or outside on the patio. The atmosphere was at your fingertips.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carle Place, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Once again, OUTSTANDING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We took a last minute weekend trip up to Lake George , NY and ate at several of the restaurants that were still operational. Once again, I have to say, John Barleycorn's Pub had OUTSTANDING FOOD. Staffing was a bit slow. As the "off season " settles in the help return to college, etc. I "understand " that , others don't . A slight wait of a few minutes isn't gonna affect me, and it actually gives us more time to chat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“service slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

one bar tender made good irish coffees the other one didn't
no shepards pie available. service was very slow even though there weren't very many customers there

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carle Place, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OUTSTANDING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In a word, OUTSTANDING !!!

We were up at lake George this past week. We ate at John Barleycorns 4 times. The food was excellent each and every time. They had a meatloaf dinner that was the very best I have ever had. The steaks, salad and stews where GREAT.

The bartender was friendly and because of his banter, we came back for dinner. And as mentioned above , we came back 4 times becasue the food was great. I thought the prices reasonable too.

If this place was close to home, I'd be eating there every week. I'll be back again next April / May making final arrangments for a lake george wedding, and I will surely be stopping here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Barleycorn's Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Barleycorn's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.