We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9-1-2013 wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunham's Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dunham's Bay Resort to your Saves list
Dunham's Bay Resort
2999 State Route 9L, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Cranberry Lake, New York, United States
1 review
“9-1-2013 wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I chose Dunham's Bay Resort for our 9-1-2013 wedding. We were sold upon hearing about the firepit and relaxed timeline for our event. We also loved the location--it was quiet and slightly off the beaten path, while being near enough to everything else Lake George has to offer. Lynn and the staff were exceptionally accommodating and supportive throughout the entire planning process. Lynn offered just the right amount of direction to keep our plans on track, while perfectly executing our vision of our day. She was always easy to contact by phone or email.
We were blown away by the quality of service during our wedding weekend, as were our guests. Lynn and the staff set everything up beautifully for us. After planning every detail, I felt my plans were left in good hands once we were in Lake George, and I could relax! Throughout our wedding day, anytime I needed something, I barely had to look around and Lynn was right there to help out. It sometimes seemed she knew what I was going to need before I did, whether it was fixing my dress or taking something off my hands for me. At the end of the night, as I was hobbling out to the firepit carrying my shoes, she even showed up in a golf cart to surprise us with a lift!
We are still hearing rave reviews about the food Chef AJ prepared for us! Not your typical wedding food! The entire experience of planning our menu was so much fun! Everything was totally customizable, and with fresh, local ingredients wherever possible. They really are willing to work to make your ideas happen. We especially appreciated that they even packaged up some to-go boxes of our favorites and had them waiting for us in our cabin.
We chose to have a Sunday wedding of a long weekend, which, in my opinion was ideal. The day after our event, I looked around and couldn't fathom packing everything up right away. We ended up staying an extra night--no problem on the Monday following Labor Day. We were placed in a cabin for our wedding weekend, which was very spacious and nicer than what their online photos would suggest.
We highly recommend considering Dunham's Bay Resort as a wedding venue. Lynn and her staff are very professional, and worked so effectively with all of our other vendors. They made us feel important throughout the entire planning process, adding personal touches at every turn. They allowed us to feel confident in our wedding plans. Lynn and her staff are also very down-to-earth and were open and willing to work with us to stay within our budget. We found Dunham's Bay Resort to be a fantastic value when you figure in everything that is included! We cannot recommend them enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Jessica L,
Thanks so much for the kind words. As always our resort shines on wedding days. Lynn and Chef AJ are phenomenal at what they do. The best in the industry. Hope your able to visit us again soon.
Regards,
Matthew Taomrino HGM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    35
    9
    11
    9
See reviews for
65
30
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed at Dunhams Bay 11/2-11/4, The room had a feel of something that you would rent by the hour not $110/day. There was no heat control in the room and and old air conditioning unit in the window allowed a flood of cold air into the room. The tub wouldn't drain properly the hot water knob on the bathroom sink was hard to get to turn on.

The good, the staff was very friendly and we had the pool and hot tub all to ourselves. All in all would probably stay at a chain hotel the next trip to Lake George.

At best this was a $50 a night or less hotel especially in the off season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Garry R,
Sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expected. Glad you made use the indoor pool/hot tub. The issues you mentioned will be something my managers and I will meet about & correct as soon as possible. Thank's again for your visit and hope you return to visit Lake George soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsville, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My son and daughter-in-law were married at Dunham's Bay on 10/19/13. It all started with a wonderful stay with great service. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool and took many walks throughout the resort. It was an amazing wedding and great food. Everyone was served with a smile. Lynn was there for Michael and Genna from the time they first booked at Dunham's Bay right through their wedding. I highly recommend Dunham's Bay for any event or just a stay..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Lori D,
Thanks for the kind words about Michael and Genna's recent wedding. We are so glad you and your guest made use of all Dunham's Bay Resort had to offer in addition to the very special event you attended. We hope you get a chance to return soon.
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Dunham's Bay. The entire experience was perfect!! We couldn't have asked for a better wedding. Lynn and her staff make sure that not only are things perfect but your day is stress free. In Lynn you can trust that your wedding day will be everything you want it to be...and more. Chef AJ's food is A-MAZING. If you are thinking about having your wedding in Lake George there is no better place or staff than Dunham's Bay Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear LakeGeorgeEnthusiast,
First let me thank you for choosing Dunham's Bay resort to host you very special day. Hosting close to forty weddings each year we work very hard to make sure each one is delivered with a individual creative flair. I am so glad to hear you and your guest enjoyed Chef AJ's food. Lastly, thanks for sharing with all how special your time here at Dunham's Bay Resort during your stay and event.
Matthew Taormino HGM GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My son and his now wife were married here. The location is just spectacular. Lynn of Dunham's Bay was there lierally every step of the way. It came off beautifully. Great ceremony, great food, great atmosphere, great entertainment and great fun and joy. It was a wonderful day. I highly recommend this place for any special event or just dinner. They will take care of you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Roy U,
I can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your story with all. Lynn and her team are the best at what they do. I think sometimes we enjoy the weddings more than the guests. Thanks again for the kind words.
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The service really stood out here, and we felt very welcome. The man at the front desk showed us to our room and made sure we had everything we needed and knew how everything worked. We had to leave early the next morning to run a marathon up in Schroon Lake, and he even offered to make us coffee before the normal coffee service started. The room was clean and comfortable, good value, and the area is beautiful. We were a little concerned by the very thin walls, but luckily our neighbors were alright, and we didn't have any trouble getting to sleep. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear 603Tracy,
Thanks for taking a moment to share you thoughts about Dunham's Bay Resort. I am glad that even with your short stay you enjoyed your visit and the staff exceeded what you expected. Please join us again when you are in the area.
Matthew Taormino HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Dunham's Bay for an anniversary weekend Thurs- Sat and had an excellent time. The place is a 10 min drive from the village if you take beach street. We had a King room on the 2nd fl of the main house. It was clean and the bed was comfy, though there was no headboard, which we found a bit odd. The faucet did run if not tightened and the shower head could use replacing, but for the value we were happy with the room overall. Don't expect a hotel: expect a mix of cabin + hotel and your expectations will be met.

We also took advantage of the tennis courts and pool area, which were both great. There are bugs around the facility due to some kind of conservation law, but I must say that ALL the inside areas including pool, room, restaurant, etc., had no bugs in sight. I second all the reviews about the cleanliness of the place - they do a very good job maintaining what they can. Lynn was very gracious to us - recommended things go do in town, helped whenever we called; she even let us use the landline free of charge since cell phone service doesn't work. We used wi-fi for all our other needs, which worked great.

If you are looking for a quiet place to stay for a very reasonable price that includes more than just the four walls of your room, Dunham's Bay is a great find.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at Dunham's Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Roadtripping_3,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Dunham's Bay Resort. We are glad you took the time to make use of the many amenities around the resort. You covered so much about the resort and what we do here I can't thank you enough. Most of all like you headline reads, WE look forward to having you coming back.
Matthew Taormino GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
#22 of 89 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#7 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#17 of 89 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
3.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#27 of 89 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunham's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunham's Bay Resort

Address: 2999 State Route 9L, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family resort on the southeast side of Lake George. Formerly known as Dunham's Bay Lodge. Renovated in 2007 with new carpeting, flat screen TVs, new mattresses and the new View Restaurant. We are open year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunham's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunham`s Bay Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunham's Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.