We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Getaway at the Inn at Erlowest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Erlowest

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Erlowest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Erlowest
3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Lake George B&B and Inns
Sparta, N.J.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fall Getaway at the Inn at Erlowest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

My husband, and I just returned from a weekend getaway at the Inn at Erlowest in Lake George, N.Y. It was quite a treat for us, since we had not seen the improvements that the new owners have made since 1999. The Inn has been exquisitely redone, and every corner is a visual wonder. The staff is very professional, yet unpretentious. They all do their best to try and make you feel comfortable. We especially enjoyed our dinner. The staff, whom are most efficiently run by Larry, were all great. The food was of the highest quality, and we both agreed that it was very upscale. My husband and I are both very careful about our diets, and we found the kitchen to be able to revise our dishes to our health concerns, without any loss of flavor. An after dinner drink, made by Terry, and enjoyed by the outside fireplace, was very romantic. The bedrooms are absolutely gorgeous, ( yes I was able to peek at a number of them), each of them have their own special touches. It was very apparent to my husband, and I, that the owners, Cheryl and Dave have really been working very diligently to create a very special place for couples to go and be able to rest and enjoy. Of course, having the backdrop of Lake George is a great help, but we are very pleased that it seems that someone finally has a vision of excellence for this area.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    27
    11
    13
    4
See reviews for
10
138
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2007

I shared a wonderful birthday dinner for my friend, Jeannie, with her family and mine. The food was impeccable! The service left nothing to be desired. We were met by our Maitre D, Marie, She introduced us to the bartender, Terry, who shared stories with us about the Inn. Our waitor Grey, and our wine expert, Larry met our every need. Larry sang "Happy Birthday" to Jeannie. He was one of the members in "Firefall".

I cannot disagree more with the comments that I've just read about this place.The town houses that were built on the grounds were beautifully done. They do not hide the lake. We had stayed here for 6 consecutive years in the small cabins. Cheryl , the new owner, has brought top notch improvements to the property. She has maintained the history, and the integrity of this beautiful mansion. I am an interior designer, and I was very impressed with the work that their designer did in the entire place.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys great food, and who loves great service. Everyone made us feel very welcomed. To enjoy fabulous food in a beautiful setting, served by friendly professionals is a treat that you should all experience!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Erlow West this past July. We stayed for 3 night’s total. We booked the luxury suite the Schuyler room, named after a famous General Phillip Schuyler. The room was magnificent.
It had a beautiful king sized bed off the sitting room. The bedroom (open to the room) had great light, windows, drapes, Bose radio system and great antique closet. The sitting room was as big as most living rooms and had a television and DVD player. Not to mention the bath room was about 30 sq ft with great counter space, standing shower, and a large jet tub.

We also enjoyed the full breakfast provided to us that was included with the room charge. Breakfast consisted of about 6 choices, and the dinning area was lite perfectly.

The hotel had a private balcony (for upstairs quest only) that was just steps from the room and overlooked the lake. The hotel also had an immense veranda (with tables and a large outdoor fireplace) that looked over the estate (some condos and the general grounds) and looked directly upon the lake. The veranda was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and chatting at night. My significant other and I also enjoyed the private waterfront area (most quests enjoyed the pool area), but we took advantage of the lake and privacy of the lake front point. The lake front point had comfortable lawn chairs, just steps away from the lake.

All in all, we were very impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for 4 star quality accommodations, but not the cookie cutter “look & feel” of a general hotel, this is your place. The service was great, the staff was attentive and courteous, and the overall setting was very romantic. Keep in mind; the suites are rather expensive, around $300 a night in the high season, but worth every penny.

  • Liked — The Room Comfort
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

Inn at Erlowest was our 2 night stay in July. The interior of the Inn is a delightfully restored old mansion. Views from the upper balconey, which is open to all, are wonderful. Lower patio has seating and an outdoor fireplace. Restaurant and bar on premises- both are open to those who are also not guests of the Inn. The pool is quite a ways down the hill towards the lake from the Inn. The Inn is up on the hill, so for those who want easy access to the pool, or the lake, keep in mind there is a 5 minute walk down hill.
While there are condo units rented by families down the hill in front of the Inn, it was still pretty.
However, with all those units using the same pool, because it is part of the property of the Inn, there was no room for my husband and I, because the families took up all the space. So we layed out right next to lake on provided lounge chairs...good enough for me.

  • Liked — The outdoor patio and ambience of the interor of Inn
  • Disliked — Pool is inconveniently located and price is too high for Inn
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the Inn. The bed was very comfortable and fresh. The room was nicely decorated. The day we arrived the tub had a few dirty spots in it. They quickly came up and cleaned the tub.(I know things like that happen.) The rest of the room was very clean. The breakfast was not good. The table cloth was dirty. We could not eat the pancakes.They were too heavy and cakey. The maple syrup tasted like sweet syrup not like pure maple syrup. We asked for well done bacon the second day. It was came the same as the first day, not crispy. One afternoon we had a glass of wine. We asked for crackers, cheese or bread to go with the wine... I even offered to pay for it. The owner checked with the kitchen and they could make us a "cheese platter" but it would take an hour to make it. No crakers or bread was available. We sat on the beautiful deck (construction around us) and drank our $10 /glass wine. I think the owners could change just a few things to make it a truley impressive inn. Now, it is JUST an expensive motel that includes breakfast. Not a unique INN.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

Went here with my husband for our honeymoon. When we pulled up we were disappointed to see construction going on all over the grounds. We would have like to have been told this was going on before booking a weeks stay.
The inside was gorgeous and our room was huge but other than that,nothing impressive. I do have to say,I enjoyed the jacuzzi tub though!
The food was awful. Well it's French cuisine so we did not enjoy it. The breakfast wasn't even good but we ate it every morning since it was included in the price of the room.
There really was not a great view because of the condos.
The pool is down a steep hill and was too cold to swim in.
My husband enjoyed fishing off the dock BUT for a few days there was an awful smell down there and it turns out their was a sewage leak of some sort,on the grounds.
Last buy not least,since it was so small,be prepared to talk to the person working ALL THE TIME!! Don't get me wrong we are friendly people,but we did not enjoy constantly answering to someone everytime we would walk in and out the front. (Where are you going? What are you doing?) Very annoying.
We did have a great honeymoon but it had little to do with The Inn at Erlowest!
We do not plan to return,we found a better place for us while we were there!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

Now owned by Sun Castle Resort, an amusement park / resort conglomerate,
this Inn was originally a spectacular stone mansion overlooking Lake George.

The glorious terrace HAD a 180 degree view of the lake, one of the finest you
can find. But no longer, the resort built a line of cheap condos in front of it
blocking about half the view. That was the most disappointing part of the visit;
that view will never be restored again.

The stone house itself is very beautifully kept, with antiques, fireplaces, new
wall paper. The bathrooms are cheaply done and leak; a new fake stone house
being built next to the original mansion will block most of the remaining views
of the lake but not affect the full view of the back parking lot. Go figure!

For the price there are far nicer resorts on Lake George that provide better
value, more activities and breathtaking views than this one.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Erlowest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Erlowest

Address: 3178 Lake Shore Drive, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Erlowest, a Queen Anne style stone castle, has recently been meticulously transformed from a private residence into a luxurious ten suite Four Diamond inn and gourmet Restaurant. Originally built in 1898 by Mr. Edward Morse Shepard, it was part of "Millionaires Row" in the Adirondack Park on Lake George in upstate New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Erlowest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Erlowest Hotel Lake George

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Erlowest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.