We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favourite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage of Lake George Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heritage of Lake George Motel to your Saves list
Heritage of Lake George Motel
419 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Frankford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family visits Lake George every summer and have stayed in a few different motels and The Heritage has become our new favourite. It is located on Canada St and is within walking distance to the village. This motel has a variety of different accomodations from regular motel rooms to cottages and housekeeping units. We arrived in the late morning and eventhough check in wasn't until 3pm they said we were welcome to check in early since our room was ready. We reserved one of the cottages that was located at the back of the property, which was away from the busy street. As soon as we entered the cottage I knew we were going to have a great stay. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us. The walls were all done in wood which is exactly what we love. It had 2 double beds that were quite comfortable for sleeping with really nice quilts covering them. There was a good size fridge and a microwave that was a plus since eating out for a week can really add up. The pool was clean and always warm so we all used that quite a bit. The staff were all very friendly in fact they were the friendliest out of all the motels we have stayed in the past. They really do go out of there way to make you feel welcome. The housekeepers did a wonderful job and the rooms were cleaned very well each day. Every morning there was a light breakfast put out in the office. There was a variety of choices from lemon bread, bagels, toast, cereal bars, poptarts, doughnuts as well as fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Something for everyone. The grounds are very well kept and there is a nice grassy area with picnic tables and a lovely gazebo. There was also a fire pit where they have bonfires every night.The whole property has a very appealing look to it. You can tell the owners really take pride in their place. By the end of our week here I must say we were all sad to go and that was thanks to the way we were treated while we were here. We loved it so much we have already booked our stay for next year!! If you've never stayed at the Heritage before give it a try..you will be happy you did. Thanks again for making this our favourite summer getaway yet....can't wait until next year. The Rowan family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    44
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac Falls, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family has been staying here since it was called Coles motel many years ago. It has been a favorite place passed down to 3 generations of family. Very clean and very nice atmosphere. Unfortunately t he prices are just a little steep for our liking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is definitely an old school hotel....you enter your room with an actual key instead of a card. But it seems as though most hotels in the village of Lake George are like this. The staff was very friendly when we checked in. They even offered discount coupons to various activities in the area. Our room was very outdated however it was extremely neat and well kept. There is even a firepit out by the pool where you an sit in the evening. I recommend staying here as it's within walking distance to everything in the village.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

we have stayed at lot of places but this one of best it is close to the action but at night when you want the peace and quite this the place to be . the staff is very nice and helpful and the place is very neat looking as well also they have little pluses that you can get around the area to help out . you will not regret the stay we do not we will be back

Room Tip: we enjoy the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed at the Heritage for 3 nights with my husband, son, daughter in law and 2 grandchildren. I chose the motel by searching the internet. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Nice continental breakfast if your not a big breakfast person. Walking distance to restaurants, beaches, ice cream, souvenirs, groceries, etc., so therefore you really didn't have to drive. Trolley was right there. Fun was had by all.

Room Tip: Whatever fits you families needs. If you are two families travelling together, get a connecting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in two adjoining rooms. They were very clean and perfect for a little getaway in Lake George. It IS a motel in a tourist town, so the comforters and carpet were a little cheap/dated and there was a slight musty smell when I first entered the room, but not enough that I noticed after 5 minutes or so. The rooms looked fresh, though, with some newer paint, and the bathroom had a sparkling tub and was overall very clean. There is a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker in each room. The TVs are older tube TVs, but they had basic cable. The breakfast is all boxed doughnuts, coffee cake, toasts, etc - no yogurts or cereals that you might get at a bigger chain - but it was fine. The pool was nice and warm. There are grills you can use, picnic tables, a fire pit. The beds were not very comfortable, but not terrible. The sheets were cheap and kind of scratchy, but, again, it is a motel - not a fancy 5 star resort. The air conditioning worked very well - if a bit noisy. Overall it was very nice. And I'm a little high maintenance when it comes to places, but I was perfectly happy here and would recommend to others.

The only big issue we had was parking. The hotel says each room gets one space and they give you a pass to put in your car window. We had 2 rooms so really should have no issue with parking. Unfortunately, one night we came back later and there were no spots in the back near our room and many of the cars did not have the pass displayed.The front desk attendant offered us the owner's spot which we took. However, as we were heading that way (with windows open) we heard the attendant talking to other guests as she walked out to put notes on the 'offending' cars, "No you are fine. Someone is complaining about parking!" quite sarcastically. Then she looked up and we were right there - obviously heard her. She smiled, put her head down and quickly went on her way. Really? We weren't "complaining". We were asking what we should do since neither of the 2 spots we should have had available to us were available. It seems to me they could easily solve the problem by painting room numbers on spots.

Room Tip: I would think the further back off the road the better. We were at the very back of the property and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was the first time staying at the Heritage Motel in Lake George; we were able to stay in one of the cottages which were surprisingly clean. It was perfect, we were only able to stay one as the cottage was taken. We will diffidently be back. Nice pool and a continental breakfast. The entire motel looked like it was newly renovated. Not on the water which we like but this place is very nice and a great price. Desk staff was very accommodating.
Shirley & Larry

Room Tip: Cottage, quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heritage of Lake George Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage of Lake George Motel

Address: 419 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#9 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage of Lake George Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Of Lake George Hotel Lake George
Heritage Lake George Hotel
Heritage Lake George Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage of Lake George Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.