We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hate chain hotels? Stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
330 Glen Lake Rd., Lake George, NY 12845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hate chain hotels? Stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I didn't want to spend $200 a night for the Holiday Inn or other similar places. With 3 small children, we had a hard time finding a place to stay for a reasonable price. The owners were excellent, making sure that we had anything we needed. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Being only a few minute drive from Lake George made this a great find, but the best part was that being right on Glen Lake, you may not want to leave. They had a few row boats to use with a pier and comfortable porch over looking the lake.

I really liked that we didn't have to worry about security or our things. The entire place was wide open when we arrived. Dave and his wife were very personable and gave us suggestions on where to eat and things to do - and seemed to really care, as opposed to the chain places that really don't care.

Bottom line, help a family run business stay in business and stay here!

Room Tip: Family Room #1 was perfect for my wife and I with 3 children 5 and under.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malverne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A great place to come back to after all the commercialism of Lake George.The Glenmoorelodge is quiet and simple,granted its a little dated but clean,peaceful and comfortable.The lake is beautiful.There is a dock that you can swim off of or bring a lunch,glass of wine and enjoy.In the back of the lodge is a shaded deck with several tables right on the lake that you can sit at and enjoy.There are a few free rowboats and a conoe for your use.Aboutt 1/4 mile away is a good restaraunt,the Docksider,that has a coverred deck on Glen Lake with dinner specials every nite for 12.95 and you have to buy a drink,the food is good.You can row to the Docksder!For pet owners dogs are ok.Dave was a great host kept his distance but if ou need something he took care of it.The only negative is that the cottages are close but arranged in a way to give you privacy.We stayed in the Tamarack cottage which was nice,a little private for the close quarters and had a great screened porch.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall we had a good experience and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Lake George region. The reason for 4 stars vs. 5 is that the WiFi was in the lodge only, there wasn't enough comfortable seating in the cottage (1 sleeper sofa and 2 computer chairs), no outdoor firepits (charcoal grills at each cabin though) and the road was fairly close and busy (watch your kids when crossing to the parking area) The cottage and lodge were simple but clean, and the host was very friendly and helpful with area information. The swimming area was good for kids at 2-4ft deep, not perfectly sandy but the kids didn't care, stronger swimmers will find the waters off the end of the dock nicer. There is also a small play structure that the kids enjoyed. The use of canoes and rowboats is a plus (we used them often). The lodge has a deck overlooking the lake and a screened in porch which was nice for viewing the fireworks without the bugs and hassle of finding parking and dealing with traffic. Our cabin had a screened in porch that had a lake view and was nice for relaxing but not very private which was o.k. because everyone was so friendly. The location is not far from shopping, dining or the area attractions but seems a world away when you are at the cottage or lodge, soooo relaxing.

Room Tip: If looking for a cottage ask for one that is away from the road with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed during Americade. Called to confirm reservation before arriving, Dave the owner said go to the office if no one is there he will leave the key in the door of the room..; Wow, no worries about security...We stayed in Room 7 which is not a cottage but a room built off the main lodge with a great view of the lake. Got there soaking wet on motorcycle, as is always the case during Americade. Dave was there to great us and check in. Explained that there would be coffee and muffins in the morning. There is a very large back deck area with table and chairs where we sat out the next afternoon and had conversaiotns with other guests. Also at night you can clearly see the fireworks show from the Great Escape. That was really cool the way it reverberates off the lake. Speaking of Glen Lake...what a gem... Never knew it existed. Very clean water, went swimming, a little cool first week of June but nice. Property is extremely quiet. Dave is a wonderful host. Needed a little oil for my chain and he found some, no problem. Met some great people there too. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 7 has Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at The Glenmoore this past week. Dave was a friendly and warm host. We stayed in The Tamarack which was nestled under beautiful White Pines. The cottage was cozy, very clean and pet friendly.
It was so relaxing sipping our morning coffee sitting by the tranquil lake.
The property is spotless.
A short drive and you have access to all shopping and restaurants on Route 9.
We absolutely loved this place and plan to stay here again.
Thank you,Dave

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As its been mentioned plenty of times on other reviews for various places to stay, this ain't the Ritz or the Holiday Inn. Let me start off by saying the owners are very friendly and nice. The location of this property is prime if you like to stay away from all the crowds but like a quiet place to stay and still be very close to all the action and site attractions. We stayed in the Hemlock cottage. It was rustic and very clean but also outdated. The beds creaked something fierce every time we got into or out of the beds which kept waking the other person. The shower head was short for even an average person, I am 5'6" and just fit but my husband had to bend over. The grounds and the lake access seemed to be very nice as we didn't really experience them because we were always out and about. Also as its been mentioned before its very dog friendly and there is a trail to walk to your dog...just ask the owners.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Glenmoore in the Spruce Cottage for four nights in early September. The location is ideal...right on Glen Lake close to but also a world away from the Lake George crowds. Property is tidy and right on the lake. Well worn kids area and canoes and row boats for you to use! Proprietors friendly but give you your space. Cottages are clean but dated...which can be okay! Being some kitchen supplies since some things are missing such as cutting board and sharp knife. Relax and enjoy the quiet and beauty of this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge

Address: 330 Glen Lake Rd., Lake George, NY 12845
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 88 hotels in Lake George
Also Known As:
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages Hotel Lake George
Glenmoore Lakeside Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge to your Saves list