We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue is the best waitress!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack Inn

Tamarack Inn
440 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1116
518 668 5400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 146 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sue is the best waitress!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We love Sue the waitress, she remembers us year after year!!! She even found chocolate chips for my pancakes that are not on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    16
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant is fine and hearty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

One of those big log cabin building with a decor somewhere between antique and bad taste, but there is nothing of bad taste in the food or service. The people there are lovely, the food is exceptional, hearty and fine without sacrificing the good old fat that makes many meals so much tasteful. Best surprise of the trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candor, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast. Wonderful food. Good service. Rustic atmosphere. Four of us shared 2 full breakfasts and all of us were overstuffed. The blueberry pancakes were great.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Square, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dirty and horrible service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Went here on for breakfast Wednesday, August 9th, 2012. Attempted to go to Mario's across the street but they were closed. We were seated fairly quickly only because a table opened just as the hostess was about to tell us we had to wait for a table to fit the four of us. As we sat down, the table was sticky even after they wiped it down with the grimy rag.

Five minutes goes by...no waitress....ten minutes goes by....no waitress.....fifteen minutes, table of four is sat down next to us, the waitress who seated them immediately takes their drink order and they have drinks on the table in two minutes. Twenty minutes goes by, a waitress walks past us to tell us she will be right with us as she serves another table....after that table was served....she walked away to grab the coffe pot and goes off to another table to provide them with coffe refills........

At this point, I told my wife to pack up the kids stuff and we walked right out!

I have heard this place had delicious breakfast...unfortunately I will never know. Perhaps they were short staffed that day......so I would have given another chance if I was ever served...but when the waitress starts giving coffee refills and never even gives me a place setting.....no thanks! After reading some reviews on here and hearing that this may be somewhat of a common occurence.....I WILL NEVER RETURN!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family - seven people in all - had a good breakfast there one morning, and two of us went back for lunch a few days later. A bad mistake. The hamburger was like leather, the french fries were uncooked on the inside and interesting on the outside. The onion soup was like no other onion soup I've ever had, and the salad was flabby. Don't waste your time. Or money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarack Inn also viewed

 

Been to Tamarack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.