We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori Grill

Tandoori Grill
2108 State Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
(518) 685-5112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 147 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice surprise to find good ethnic food other than the ubiquitous Italian or Chinese choices in this area. Was visiting the (disappointing) Winter
Carnival and a meal here brightened my day. I know little about this menu but the helpful young waiter guided my choices well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just too delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our cabin owner recommended Tandoori and we ordered veggie biriyani and lamb biriyani with naan and chai and another tea (masala or something....) and it was so good and so plentiful that we just wished we had time to visit a 2nd time to try something else too! The owner himself cooked and served and took time to explain the dishes and allow our choices for level of "spiciness" also. I chose "1" for my veggie and partner chose "5"....both perfect! What a great Pakistani meal experience for "newbies" who had never even tasted anything but American versions of curried this or that. Great! The pictures of the various foods displayed really helped too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Was it an off day?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow, we saw all the good reviews and tried this restaurant with my family and friends this past weekend. I am not sure if there were having an off day or was this there usual fare? It was one of our worst food experiences ever. The chicken we ordered for Jalfrezi as well as the Biriyani was dry and rubbery, maybe frozen. The keema- minced chicken was no better. My wife found a huge piece of onion just roughly chopped on her food- very amateurish. The only good part was the Naan. We were very very disappointed but took a risk of trying the Sahara Gyro place- South Asian fare again in the evening which seems new and it turned out much better. They don't even have web presence but served fresh delicious Buffet fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family and I came to Lake George for Memorial Day wknd and dined at Tandoor Grill with hopes of some delicious, authentic Pakistani food and it exceeded our expectations. It's a family owned restaurant that puts a lot of love and pride in their food. The taste, the spices and the warmth their food gives is just devine. Needless to say we stopped in everyday to try all the different dishes they offer! This place is sure to please!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good meal, give it a try!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ate here our last evening of Americade Bike Week. The food was very good, wonderful flavor, not too spicy. Probably the best meal of all that we had that week!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tandoori Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.