We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Mountain Inn

French Mountain Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added French Mountain Inn to your Saves list
French Mountain Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1449 State Route 9, Lake George, NY NY 12845 (Formerly America's Best Inn Lake George)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“A great family experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Once a year we drive through Lake George with our kids. This year was the first at this hotel, and we will definitely be coming back.

Based on the other reviews, I'd say it had a new owner/manager, who was friendly and went out of her way to make a deal for us (it ended up being very *very* reasonable). I saw her out the next morning arranging things on the playground and working to make the place look great -- she seems committed and hands-on.

The hotel itself was just what we needed. After hours in the car, our two kids (ages 2 and 4) just wanted to move -- the full playground was perfect for this, and the glassed-in outdoor pool was still nice and warm for a swim in the chilly evening. The room was comfortable, spacious, and clean. While a coffee maker in the room would have been a good touch, there was free coffee in the office in the morning.

Anyways, all told, we loved our stay -- it's a good old-fashioned hotel with nice well-kept resources for kids, and we will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PLANTAGENET
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel did not provide everything advertised, and has subsequently changed names since we were there. from Americas Best Inn, should read worse. There was no conference center, no restaurant, no breakfast, no microwave, no fridge, no coffee maker or kettle.
As well, on two occasions the room was not made up when we returned from our day trip nor was there any soap or shampoo available when we arrived nor provided until the day before we left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed several times at this hotel when it was "Americas Best Inn." It changed to French Mountain Inn within the last year and we again stayed there 2 weeks ago. The management and housekeeping has changed for the worse. Our first two nights were spent in a room with intermittent toilet flushing problems, as well as an extremely slow-draining bathtub. When these issues couldn't be resolved (we were told by the manager that she couldn't get anyone to fix them) she switched us to another room - which apparently hadn't been 100% set up for guests. Although the beds were made up and the bathroom very clean, we had to ask for tissues, which the housekeeper handed to us. Later on, we discovered a left-behind sock and it became evident the floor wasn't vacuumed. We are disappointed that a formerly nice facility may be on its way down. We'll not be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This motel has been booked at the same time for years for the Lake George September car show. Typically as a group we book 8 rooms. There is no service to speak of. The owner cranks the cost of the room for the weekend event to 150/night and only accepts cash made out to his name. Unfortunately there's not much choice however I'm at a loss as to why he finds it acceptable to take advantage of returning guests. To add insult to demands 2 nights paid in full by January! The rooms are below average.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Unfortunately I have to say this was terrible. The room was not very clean when we arrived, and the furniture was seriously outdated and used. There were no real amenities included with your stay either. The room was not cleaned once while we stayed there, and when we asked the person at the hotel for towels, it took them a while to find the towels which ended up being in a creepy back shed. Then upon checking out, the manager got upset with US because we had not told them that the maids never showed up (we did in fact tell the man at the front the day before). What a terrible way to manage a place, you should never blame the customer, especially when it was their maid services that never showed up to clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLANTAGENET
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel has recently changed hands and has gone on a steep down slide. When we arrived to find that although advertised they had NO business center; NO hair dryer in the room; NO coffee maker in the room; NO continental breakfast, NO HBO - many of the reasons we chose this particular hotel - and barely (one bar) WIFI access and they changed the password while we were there.
There was no soap or shampoo in the room and the room was not even made up until our 2nd day and the trash not emptied, even though we brought it to their attention.
Soap did not show up until our last day, as well as the emptying of the trash baskets, and there was never any shampoo. We could have packed differently.

Room Tip: Good value but do not expect any amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a incredible host and Innkeeper . The suites and grounds were impeccably clean and well appointed with all the amenities. Superb hospitality above and beyond . The Owner/Manager was exceptional,safe, clean, and relaxing with excellent security and accommodation's. There was nothing left to chance, slept like a baby.
We have already booked for the National Hot Rod and Custom Show in September 2014

Room Tip: All the rooms are top notch,Great stop for Motorcycle riders safe with security cameras and an owner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to French Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Mountain Inn

Address: 1449 State Route 9, Lake George, NY NY 12845 (Formerly America's Best Inn Lake George)
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — French Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your French Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.